Author Topic: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons  (Read 5569 times)

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
I know quadra doesn't work with KOTR. is that hardcoded into the .exe or some kind of flag set on the actual attack?

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #1 on: 2012-08-29 16:48:19 »
Hardcoded. The the quadra magic flag is checked, it also checks to make sure it's not KotR.

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #2 on: 2012-08-29 16:49:59 »
Is there a way to increase that check to include others? Or is that the same old "You need to do ten crazy things with the code and then another insane five" level of possible but not feasible

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #3 on: 2012-08-29 16:51:57 »
Sounds like it is doable with small code change this time...  these things are usually easy to fix.

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #4 on: 2012-08-29 17:09:25 »
Basically, I want the attack IDs
2E
33
34
43
46
( 47 is KOTR )
to not work with quadra

do enemy skills work with quadra?
if yes, add
53
54
55
56
57
5E
5F
to the list of those I dont want to work with quadra

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #5 on: 2012-08-29 17:11:45 »
Enemy skill don't work with quadra. It is command materia.  Only Summon and Magic work with it.

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #6 on: 2012-08-29 17:12:53 »
that removes quite a few IDs from the list
christ im so tired i can barely type what im thinking

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #7 on: 2012-08-29 23:04:16 »
Sounds like it is doable with small code change this time...  these things are usually easy to fix.

Sound like adding several new conditions to a single condition if statement. That means code injection which is one of those "x number of insane things" to get it to work. I'm not looking at it, though. Might be easier than that.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3200
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #8 on: 2012-08-30 00:43:40 »
If you're thinking about this for your difficult mod, then I like the idea of Spells like Comet2 being unable to cast 4 times.

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #9 on: 2012-08-30 01:05:40 »
that was the goal but it seems impossible
well, by the point you get Loop, you'll actually need to be able to cast Celestial 4 times

nfitc1

  • *
  • Posts: 3011
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #10 on: 2012-08-30 03:37:01 »
Well, I partially lied, but my statement of it being insane to fix still stands.

Obligatory yet unnecessary explanation follows:

At some point after materia is equipped (remember what I said earlier about it compulsively unequipping and reequipping materia whenever equipment changes?) it calls some procedure that adds effects to the magics that have been enabled, builds their battle menu according to their configuration (which is why you see healing spells before black magic if there is any) and, you guessed it, checks the quadra magic status.

Starting at 0x5DDB22 a loop begins through all the enabled Magics and Summons a character has checking for Escape and KotR. The comparison for Escape is 0x5DDB72 and KotR at 0x5DDB7B. If it finds these, the code at 0x5DDB92 gets executed blanking out the quadra magic count for said action. There are 18 bytes that don't really need to be there and it takes 9 to check for a value and make the jump to the quad-blanking code. That does allow for two more conditions, three if you got rid of Escape, but that means changing up to 50 or so bytes in a small section. That's the best I can do. It wouldn't be as hard as rewriting those field codes you wanted, but it's just a little more complex than stopping master materia reproduction.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #11 on: 2012-08-30 03:42:24 »
There's plenty of unused space in the exe if that would help?

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Disable quadra magic for specific spells / summons
« Reply #12 on: 2012-08-30 13:47:44 »
well escape nulling quadra is meaningless to begin with, no?
the effect of the spell instantly ends the battle, so any 'additional' casts would simply be lost, right?
so, freeing up escape, I could make Ultima and Bahamut Neo and Bahamut Zero ( those are the most important ) null quadra.
Thats a lot better than nothing.
So how would I go about that?



also, the reply message box is broken. it goes indefinitely to the right lol

Jenova's Witness

  • Right Wing Safety Squads
  • *
  • Posts: 471
  • I ♥ SCIENCE
    • View Profile
.
« Reply #13 on: 2012-08-30 20:05:51 »
.
« Last Edit: 2015-11-16 09:56:17 by Jenova's Witness »