Qhimm.com Forums

Final Fantasy 7 => Audio => Support => Topic started by: Tsuna on 2016-12-08 08:05:23

Title: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: Tsuna on 2016-12-08 08:05:23
I'm attempting to use Ultrasound to replace sound effects such as battle attacks so i can voice them.

I have this working with multiple options being chosen at random to give the game a little more variety, the only issue i have is thatthe very 1st time the sound is called it is silent.

If i have 5 different sounds to be chosen it will play them all individually except after the last one is played it goes back to silent. It goes like this.

Silent
2nd - Play SFX 1
3rd - Play SFX 2
4th - Play SFX 3
5th - Play SFX 4
6th - Play SFX 5
7th - Silent

It's always 1 behind like it can't see the very 1st issue of that sound
//Repeats order

I'll add the script i use too just incase

Quote
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<Ultrasound xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">

  <Replacement ID="018" Kind="Sequential">
    <Sound>Audio\ultrasound\Cloud Attack.wav</Sound>
    <Sound>Audio\ultrasound\Cloud Attack 1.wav</Sound>
    <Sound>Audio\ultrasound\Cloud Attack 2.wav</Sound>
    <Sound>Audio\ultrasound\Cloud Attack 3.wav</Sound>
    <Sound>Audio\ultrasound\Cloud Attack 4.wav</Sound>
  </Replacement>

</Ultrasound>
Title: Re: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: Kaldarasha on 2016-12-08 12:11:43
Another problem you will encounter is that Ultrasound can only replace around 40 files, if you use more than it's very likely that the program crashes. I don't know if Ficedula has fixed it. I actually planed to outsource the entire sound files and give them as good as I can proper names.
Title: Re: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: Tsuna on 2016-12-08 15:50:15
Well I only intend to do battle attacks. The rest are okay. You have any clue about the above?
Title: Re: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: Tsuna on 2016-12-09 07:41:56
Fixed the "Silent 1st sound" problem. Well i managed to redirect it to be more efficient.

Is there a simple way i can make Barrets basic attack use a different sound effect?
Other people/enemies also use it and it causes issues lol.
If there is any pointless sound effects in game i would like to code him to use that instead
Title: Re: Change Barret basic attack sound ID
Post by: Tsuna on 2016-12-09 15:12:35
Changed name of topic to save a new thread to address the newer issue

New issue is the post above this one
Title: Re: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: ficedula on 2016-12-10 13:51:36
Another problem you will encounter is that Ultrasound can only replace around 40 files, if you use more than it's very likely that the program crashes. I don't know if Ficedula has fixed it. I actually planed to outsource the entire sound files and give them as good as I can proper names.

Didn't actually know that - if you have a set of files that causes crash, that would be good to look at...
Title: Re: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: Kaldarasha on 2016-12-10 15:56:04
Didn't know that anymore...
http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15342.msg229262#msg229262
Title: Re: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: Tsuna on 2016-12-10 17:46:22
You guys know how I can avoid the issue above? I'd o can set a sound to only play when Barret attacks that will work too
Title: Re: Sound effects with Ultrasound
Post by: Tsuna on 2016-12-18 02:27:26
Anyone got any idea of what ID Tifa's attack/Crit and Beat rush are?

Attack:
When i use wallmarket it tells me it uses 36 (24 in Hex)
When i download other peoples mods it uses 289
When i use dbgview it uses 124

I have tried all 3 of these and cannot replace it ......Any idea why?
It's the only thing holding my release back right now

The rest i haven't got too because of this