Author Topic: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg  (Read 1391089 times)

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #50 on: 2012-08-13 15:09:10 »
Most of the mods now have Google docs links.
Check out The Big List of FF7 Mods.

Many of the Rapidshare links expired due to lack of downloads.
I'm slowly mirroring everything on Fileden.
Pejeeshare has a high rate of failure.  It's frustrating to have to upload files again and again.

Scope

  • Guest
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #51 on: 2012-08-13 16:33:23 »
Thanks for the info PitBrat!

I have got all of the mod files I need, and installed through bootlegger, but now I have a whole different problem.

No sound in menu's, Battle SFX or in FMV's...

I read in a thread about this problem that a reinstall might work - although I am inclined to believe it could be a mod causing the problem :(

Just to clarify - I don't have to install any patches after a fresh install of FFVII do i? Just a clean out of the box installation, then the bootlegger mods by following this tutorial?
« Last Edit: 2012-08-13 16:37:31 by Scope »

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #52 on: 2012-08-13 17:00:42 »
Configure the sound driver in ff7config.exe.

Run FF7Config.exe as administrator.
Go to the SOUND tab.
Select the correct sound card.
Click OK to save and exit.

Q:Why is there no sound in the game?  Why is the music playing from a different sound device than the game sounds?
A:You need to configure the sound and/or MIDI device.
  Run .\FF7Config.exe as Administrator
  In the SOUND tab, select the 'Sound Driver'
  In the MIDI tab, select the 'MIDI Driver' and the 'MIDI Data'
  Click OK to save the settings
  Open the Volume Mixer
  Adjust the volume for the playback device, applications and FF7 executable

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Karma: 186
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #53 on: 2012-08-13 17:13:04 »
Thanks :)

I had no idea there was this many mods - the torrent is HUGE!

I have been downloading a lot of these mods overnight individually, I just had to brave mediafire's ridiculous throttling.

3-4 more files to go and I am good to go  8-)

We've all been there and done that  :P Once it's over with, you never have to do it again.

Scope

  • Guest
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #54 on: 2012-08-13 17:31:30 »
Configure the sound driver in ff7config.exe.

Run FF7Config.exe as administrator.
Go to the SOUND tab.
Select the correct sound card.
Click OK to save and exit.

Q:Why is there no sound in the game?  Why is the music playing from a different sound device than the game sounds?
A:You need to configure the sound and/or MIDI device.
  Run .\FF7Config.exe as Administrator
  In the SOUND tab, select the 'Sound Driver'
  In the MIDI tab, select the 'MIDI Driver' and the 'MIDI Data'
  Click OK to save the settings
  Open the Volume Mixer
  Adjust the volume for the playback device, applications and FF7 executable

Thanks again Pit, I will try this out asap as I already started a fresh install before I saw your post!

I did set up the Sound Driver but didn't even look at MIDI as it was not in the Tutorial in the first post :)

Hopefully I will actually get to play FF7 some time today!


Sebuzzie

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #55 on: 2012-08-15 02:43:05 »
Hi everyone,

First of all I'd like to say how amazed I am by how beautiful you guys have made the now outdated (though still brilliant) FFVII look! Thank you for putting so much effort in to this.

I myself own the original FFVII for psx and I just downloaded the "new" version on the Square Enix Store.

On the first page of this topic EQ2Alyza mentions that it isn't clear yet if the bootleg/mods work on this "new" version. Seeing how that post is 2 months old I was wondering if someone can tell me if it's now known whether the bootleg/mods work on the "new" version,

Forgive me if this has already been answered, but I couldn't find it plus I'm new to this forum.

Thanks in advance :)

omega res novae

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 549
  • Karma: 2
  • previously known as squall8cloud7
    • View Profile
    • omegas mods google docs
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #56 on: 2012-08-15 02:52:35 »
they edited their post. when you edit a post the date doesnt change

start at about page 14 herehttp://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13220.375
starting list here http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13424.0

assume that no mods work with new version until stated that they do work. if you wanna try out mods on the new version go ahead. back up your files and try. notify us with results

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Karma: 186
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #57 on: 2012-08-15 03:34:30 »
@Sebuzzie

Bootleg is currently not going to work for the re-release version. You will have to manage installing what you want individually and manually. Check for updates in this post: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13424.0

It will take some time to catch up, but don't stress over it. Learn and enjoy what you read. It is actually pretty fun to see how it's all done  :)

Sebuzzie

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #58 on: 2012-08-15 03:57:46 »
Thanks for the quick reply!

So, correct me if I'm wrong, I can install the mods I find here, I just can't use the bootleg?

That would be awesome! I'll do the research on this forum and keep you updated! :D

omega res novae

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 549
  • Karma: 2
  • previously known as squall8cloud7
    • View Profile
    • omegas mods google docs
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #59 on: 2012-08-15 04:10:43 »
some mods will work. Unified model installer is confirmed working.
some need work arounds and tweaks.
others just wont ever work

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13424.0;topicseen working out kinks look here for list of some working, not working and to be determined

Sebuzzie

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #60 on: 2012-08-15 13:20:54 »
Yeah I now see that this question has been popping up everywhere on this forum. Thanks for helping me though!

I just created backups and I'm now going to try to install the Unified Model Installer and Anxious Hearts mods. Hope that it's not a problem that I installed it on E:\.

I'll keep you updated and hope one day I can return the favor!

Edit: UMI gave an "error" message that the game isn't installed correctly. So I'm now just reinstalling it on C:\
« Last Edit: 2012-08-15 13:34:25 by Sebuzzie »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8836
  • Karma: 253
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #61 on: 2012-08-16 01:51:01 »
A few mistakes here:

Quote
Autosize Action Box
                                               I have yet to recognize what this does. 

It resizes the box at the top of the screen in battle to fit the text.  Thus the box is smaller for Cure than it is for Steel Bladed Sword. 
Quote
Invincible
                                               Main character cannot be hurt.       

Should read "characters"
Quote
Lucky Cait
                                               Takes out Death Joker from the Slots (I think?).   

No.  This is a mod by Dziugo. It allows you to take complete control of the slots.  I forget which keys do what, but you can advance to each reel after selecting manually with the use of Left and Right.  In other words, you can have ANY combination you want with Cait's reels.

Quote
Canon Names
                                               Uses original names. Example: Marlene = Marin     

Other way around...  Marin= Marlene.  Marlene is so-called canon.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Karma: 186
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #62 on: 2012-08-16 05:50:13 »
Thanks DLPB, I'll fix them tomorrow. Too tired tonight and heading to bed.

Kuraudo-Sutoraifu

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Not interested..
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #63 on: 2012-08-17 08:00:40 »
Hello. Um.. I need some help on Bootleg. The timer/ratings/countdown doesn't really shows up completely. It's just shows the top of the clock. But whenever I install it with the Retranslation, there's no problem with it. Just when I only unckeck the Retranslation.

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #64 on: 2012-08-17 14:25:57 »
What  language are you using?
Are you installing a North American English version of FF7?
Are you using the translation option in Bootleg?

Dbloiterer

  • Guest
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #65 on: 2012-08-17 16:59:17 »
First of all, I would just like to thank everyone involved in this modding community for all their hard work. Replaying FFVII with these added bonuses has been a much needed distraction as I am in the middle of transitioning between jobs. You all are probably doing more for other people than you know, even if it is "just a game".

I am having one issue though and I have waited a bit before asking so I could browse the forums for answers; this turned out to be wise, because that one issue used to be more than one. I am using the Timu Barret+Kleyon field which looks great for the most part... except for his face in battle...




Not sure what is going on there... haha.

Anyway, I was wondering, if I decide I want to change an individual mod, is that safe to do after having applied bootleg? Like for instance, if I decided I didn't want to play with the Cloud model I originally chose in bootleg and wanted to use a different one (just an example). I don't have to run bootleg all over again for a small change like that, do I?

Forgive my ignorance here. A lot of stuff I read on here is really beyond me, though I try my best to soak it in. Thank you for your time though!

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #66 on: 2012-08-17 21:12:31 »
Dbloiterer,
The Timu Sumisu+Kleyon Barret face texture problem is a bug in Bootleg 0039.
I fixed it for 040.  Thanks for the heads up . . .

You can re-run Bootleg as long as you don't try to alter Menu Overhaul or any of the modes like Hardcore, Aeris Revival or Lost Wing.
If you're just changing models, you can also use the UMI model installer:

UMI.exe                                         DLPB & More     Unified Model Installer U003            Qhimm FILE


Remember that, in Bootleg 0039, Grimmy's AC Yuffie and Tifa models are broken.

Thanks again for helping me improve the Bootleg project.

Kuraudo-Sutoraifu

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
  • Not interested..
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #67 on: 2012-08-18 03:27:45 »
What  language are you using?
Are you installing a North American English version of FF7?
Are you using the translation option in Bootleg?

I'm using English version of FF7. Translation option, you mean the translate text? I left it "No change" for the Translate Text. Did I made a mistake there?

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Karma: 186
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #68 on: 2012-08-24 23:42:17 »
I'm gonna update this over the weekend to include a tutorial for converting FF7 2012 to FF7 1998 for use with Bootleg.


@PitBrat Any ETA on Bootleg 0040?

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #69 on: 2012-08-25 01:23:04 »
I'm still waiting on the ULGP tool.  The current version doesn't update archives consistently.
If I go back to the old way of building the entire archive from a folder, it adds about 10 minutes to the Bootleg running time.
Meanwhile, I'm adding all the mods that just came out: New APZ Cloud, FMV Cloud and coin skill textures.

Mendelevium

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #70 on: 2012-08-25 03:04:32 »
Plus Chibis I hope! :3.

Antonia

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #71 on: 2012-08-25 04:25:59 »
I'm still waiting on the ULGP tool.  The current version doesn't update archives consistently.
If I go back to the old way of building the entire archive from a folder, it adds about 10 minutes to the Bootleg running time.
Meanwhile, I'm adding all the mods that just came out: New APZ Cloud, FMV Cloud and coin skill textures.
Is there a possibility for this to be an option once things get ironed out?  Something for people to attempt if they seem to keep getting weird errors with the faster method?

Just a thought.  Looking forward to the new release either way.  =)

Datapack

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
  • Still waiting...
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #72 on: 2012-08-25 08:14:21 »
Thank you for sharing all the models

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Karma: 186
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #73 on: 2012-08-25 15:47:34 »
I'm still waiting on the ULGP tool.  The current version doesn't update archives consistently.
If I go back to the old way of building the entire archive from a folder, it adds about 10 minutes to the Bootleg running time.
Meanwhile, I'm adding all the mods that just came out: New APZ Cloud, FMV Cloud and coin skill textures.

Thank you for the response, kind sir.

When you say FMV Cloud, do you mean this one? http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13489.0

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2673
  • Karma: 186
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #74 on: 2012-08-26 23:38:36 »
I have updated the tutorial to include steps for converting the 2012 Version. I will edit it again once 0040 is released with the automatic conversion.