Author Topic: Speedhack  (Read 6606 times)

Fastrun14

• View Profile
Speedhack
« on: 2016-08-29 21:21:37 »
I enjoy TASING final fantasy vii psx and was wondering if a speedhack would be simple to do?

I only care about a speedhack of movement on the fields. Like 4x speed movement on the fields.

This will make it hard to move around as seen in the ps4 runs, but with tas, it will be perfected. Where frame advance and save states will be heavily used.

Maybe find a way to speedhack the dialog as well.

I have no experience in hacking ps1 games so I may not do it myself unless someone wants to teach me.

Shard

• View Profile
Re: Speedhack
« Reply #1 on: 2016-08-29 22:16:17 »
Doesn't hacking the game negate the point of TASing?
In any case, there is a value in memory that controls each characters movement speed. Unfortunately it's probably different for each field.

Fastrun14

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2016-08-29 22:51:07 »
Doesn't hacking the game negate the point of TASing?

Game hacks do not negate against tool assisted speedruns. There's a superfast zelda run on youtube and those "superfast" runs are not easy to make. It makes movement very hard to optimize, as you pretty much have to stay in frame advance or slowdown to avoiding hitting walls. So a tas would look pretty crazy as opposed to the "original" version.

Shard

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 2016-08-30 08:34:09 »
Can you provide a link of this? I have never seen anyone hack a game to do a speedrun. If you could, I could beat Ff7 in under 5 seconds.

Fastrun14

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 2016-08-30 11:31:47 »
https://youtu.be/TQiFDOdZul0

Under 5 seconds? That is way too fast. Zelda was done in 5:30 with speed hacks, and ff7 is a much longer game. Probably can be done in 30 minutes with speed hacks.

DLPB_

• Banned
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 2016-08-30 15:06:24 »
https://youtu.be/TQiFDOdZul0