Author Topic: Linux is the way to go!  (Read 6912 times)

Anonymous

Linux is the way to go!
« on: 2001-03-23 02:58:00 »
I am new at this message board, and I read about Microsoft's program registration system.  Well, the subject that I am trying to make is that there is nothing much Microsoft can do to improve windows.  I have Windows ME, and believe me, that OS sucks big time.  I thought it would be better than Windows 98, but it has more bugs and is much slower.  I also have Linux on the same system, and it is way much more reliable than Windows.  There are more tools and programs offered free.   Would you be willing to pay Microsoft Word for about $60 (more or less, I don't really know the price) or get a complete StarOffice Suite for free.  Also, I have read about the Windows emulators like VMware, Bochs, and Plex86.  The rise of these emulators may make way to the growth of Linux users, and therefore force software companies to create programs for Linux (What it would be like to run FF8 on Linux?).  Free is the way to go!

ficedula

• View Profile
    • http://www.ficedula.co.uk
Linux is the way to go!
« Reply #1 on: 2001-03-23 03:25:00 »
You could have posted this in the topic we'd discussed all this on already  :)

Linux is still too hard to set up and use for the average non-PC-literate user to get it. Case in point: I consider myself a pretty competant PC user (plus I use Unix a lot at uni) but Linux still runs far, far worse than Win98 does on my computer. Partly because it refuses to use a swap file. 10/10 for ideas, 5/10 for usability.

Caddberry

• View Profile
    • http://animenfo.com/
Linux is the way to go!
« Reply #2 on: 2001-03-23 11:39:00 »
i am personally happy to see linux not be so freakin user friendly.. i hate windows for that.. but linux ... well hell man what version;.. cuz linux will run smooth on like pentium 75z although i think it matters the version.. or just run minux..

The Skillster

• Loving every Final Fantasy
    • View Profile