Author Topic: Need help with the textures UV mapping (of a 100% fan made 3d model)  (Read 3628 times)

Nero

• View Profile
Hello everyone. Though I am relatively new in the world of 3d model convention I’m working really hard and I believe I am doing the best I can so far. However my knowledge is limited on the instructions of the tutorials posted on this forum and I have recently stumbled upon a problem. Until now when I was converting a model that had more than one texture (Usually 2 the most) I wasn’t messing with the textures, instead I was exporting as separate the parts that were combining more than one texture and then I was combining them as one on Pcreator adding them as group. Now this method worked for me well so far, but now I started working on a model that has 14 different texture files. So it’s quite obviously that the previous method I used won’t really help me here and my only option is to combine some of these textures on a bigger one. Now I see that there is a method of how to do this on Squeebles tutorial where you combining the textures in one on photoshop and then you fix the UVs manually on 3dsmax by converting your model to editable poly selecting every piece of it separately go to the Unwrap UVW's and move and resize the polygons (?) over the texture until you recreate this way the entirely UV map. I did tried that method but since I have to reposition the UVs manually by myself the finishing result is way inferior to the original UV mappings and the textures doesn’t look so good on the model wile their details are in many cases messed up. So I kind of lost hope here and I was wondering if anyone knows of some other way that could possibly give better results and maybe won’t include to repositioning the UVs by moving them with the mouse which gives so bad results. The program I use is 3dsmax but I have also installed blender and milkshape though I don’t really know how to use them yet but if your method includes some other program that I ha