Author Topic: FF7Music as a Template for Other Ideas?  (Read 4340 times)

Tsetra

• View Profile
FF7Music as a Template for Other Ideas?
« on: 2008-05-11 21:07:12 »
Couldn't think of a clear topic title to convey my thoughts here so I apologize. Basically I'm intrigued with how FF7Music apparently works outside the engine to deliver PSF and MP3 music. I'm no coder, so I'm talking as a casual observer here, but can the engine tolerate other things being manipulated by "3rd party" programs as well?
For example, here's something I'm envisioning, possible or not:

All movies are set to where they're so short you never see them really. If you've ever played FF7 with the movies ripped out, you know what I'm talking about here. When FF7 calls for a movie to play, such a hypothetical program - we'll call it FF7Movie - brings up it's own version that's not limited to low resolutions and 16bit color. Obviously "FF7Movie" would come with instructions for encoding your own movies, as distributing them would be unfeasible. Also, I'm seeing problems here with movie overlays where the characters are still visible and move around even.

From a technical standpoint, is this possible? Or is FF7.exe going to just freak out and crash?

Also, I apologize if this is better suited to another section, I wasn't quite sure if this would fit here or tweaking.
« Last Edit: 2008-05-11 21:09:11 by Tsetra »

blargiefarg

Re: FF7Music as a Template for Other Ideas?
« Reply #1 on: 2009-09-17 03:15:02 »
In the registry look for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII and edit moviepath to where ever you want in your hard drive. (i.e. C:\ff7movies) so if you were to find higher resolution copies of the files or edit the resolution, then yes, that would be possible. great idea, i myself was thinking the same thing when i found that registry section :-)

Harruzame

• Mondai Nai....
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2009-09-17 04:03:40 »