Author Topic: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)  (Read 63775 times)

kenichi

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Karma: -13
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #250 on: 2016-05-09 10:28:26 »
anyone tell me is there any problem this (up message) log file says? Or how to solve?

Sundaybrawl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #251 on: 2017-06-11 09:44:11 »
I came across this and it's amazing! Although I have a small (Not so small) issue.

When I go to encode the files again, the log says "Couldn't encode exe: 6: Unknown sequence "
Not too sure what it really means, it's the only issue I've had so far.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!​

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8605
  • Karma: 235
  • This rose will never die This rose will never die
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #252 on: 2017-06-11 16:29:27 »
It means probably that line 6 of the corresponding text file 0_ff7.exe  has a bad character there that cannot be encoded.

Topaz Light

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • Who has lost his tail?
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #253 on: 2017-06-15 04:42:54 »
I'm having some issues getting touphScript to successfully dump the files.

Here's my .ini file:
Spoiler: show
# Strip unused text
text_strip = 1

# Strip unused scripts
script_strip = 1

# Insert missing windows.
# Reuses previous window id values if available,
# otherwise defaults are x = 80, y = 80, w = 150, h = 57
window_patch = 1

# Dump window parameters with text
# (where available)
dump_x = 0
dump_y = 0
dump_w = 0
dump_h = 1
dump_sp = 0
dump_question = 0

# Force character name widths to width of value
# (not recommended for redistribution)
# cloud = Cloud
# barret = Barret
# tifa = Tifa
# aerith = Aerith
# redxiii = Red XIII
# yuffie = Yuffie
# caitsith = Cait Sith
# vincent = Vincent
# cid = Cid

# Override paths
text = .\text\
flevel = "C:\Users\Cathy\Desktop\Gene's Personal File\Hacking\Final Fantasy VII Text Editing\flevel.lgp"
world = "C:\Users\Cathy\Desktop\Gene's Personal File\Hacking\Final Fantasy VII Text Editing\world_us.lgp"
scene = "C:\Users\Cathy\Desktop\Gene's Personal File\Hacking\Final Fantasy VII Text Editing\scene.bin"
kernel = "C:\Users\Cathy\Desktop\Gene's Personal File\Hacking\Final Fantasy VII Text Editing\kernel.bin"
kernel2 = "C:\Users\Cathy\Desktop\Gene's Personal File\Hacking\Final Fantasy VII Text Editing\kernel2.bin"
window = "C:\Users\Cathy\Desktop\Gene's Personal File\Hacking\Final Fantasy VII Text Editing\window.bin"
exe = "C:\Users\Cathy\Desktop\Gene's Personal File\Hacking\Final Fantasy VII Text Editing\ff7.exe"


And here's the .log file:
Spoiler: show
Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Steam App 39140
No FFVII installation found
Error creating spacing table
Cannot read / error reading flevel
Couldn't dump world_us: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump scene: converting to scene failed, basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump kernel: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump kernel2: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump exe: basic_ios::clear: iostream error


Nothing in the .ini file looks out of place to me, so I'm not sure what's causing the problem, other than perhaps something to do with "No FFVII installation found" in the .log file.

But then, I'm also not an expert on this program or on hacking/modding in general, much less for Final Fantasy VII specifically.

I am working with the 2012 Steam release. If it matters, I installed and then uninstalled version R05c of some of the Reunion patches—Beacause+Menu Enhancement and minigame fixes, I believe—before attempting this.

Does anybody have any idea what the issue might be, and how it could be fixed?

Thank you very much in advance for your time!
« Last Edit: 2017-06-15 06:13:20 by Topaz Light »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8605
  • Karma: 235
  • This rose will never die This rose will never die
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #254 on: 2017-06-15 11:29:44 »
Remove the " " around the paths.

Also, your game should not be installed to the desktop, Cathy.  Not a good idea.

Topaz Light

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • Who has lost his tail?
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #255 on: 2017-06-15 12:53:38 »
Oh.

Well, thank you! I feel a bit silly now.

Also, I'm not actually Cathy; this computer used to be my mother's, and that's something haven't really gotten around to changing yet.
Don't worry, the game isn't installed there! Those files are copies for editing, to mitigate the risk of messing anything up if something somehow goes wrong.

Thanks again!
« Last Edit: 2017-06-15 12:55:40 by Topaz Light »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8605
  • Karma: 235
  • This rose will never die This rose will never die
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #256 on: 2017-06-15 16:22:35 »
Ah, well in that case, Well done ;)

Vykthor13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #257 on: 2017-07-29 05:01:15 »
Hey there! I know this post is over a month without anyone posting, but I'm not sure if I should make a new topic for this.

So, I have an issue with the tool. After reading a few of the previous posts, I could solve most of my problems, except one, "No FFVII installation found". I use the Steam version, and all texts were dumped properly (I assume). I thinks I should also mention that I have Reunion installed.

So here's my ini file:
Spoiler: show

# Strip unused text
text_strip = 1

# Strip unused scripts
script_strip = 1

# Insert missing windows.
# Reuses previous window id values if available,
# otherwise defaults are x = 80, y = 80, w = 150, h = 57
window_patch = 1

# Dump window parameters with text
# (where available)
dump_x = 0
dump_y = 0
dump_w = 0
dump_h = 1
dump_sp = 0
dump_question = 0

# Force character name widths to width of value
# (not recommended for redistribution)
# cloud = Cloud
# barret = Barret
# tifa = Tifa
# aerith = Aerith
# redxiii = Red XIII
# yuffie = Yuffie
# caitsith = Cait Sith
# vincent = Vincent
# cid = Cid

# Override paths
text = .\text\
flevel = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\field\flevel.lgp
world = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\wm\world_us.lgp
scene = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\battle\scene.bin
kernel = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\kernel\kernel.bin
kernel2 = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\kernel\kernel2.bin
window = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\kernel\window.bin
exe = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\ff7_en.exe


And the only line in my log file is this:
"No FFVII installation found"

Anyhow, sorry if I shouldn't have "revived" this post, and any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

« Last Edit: 2017-07-29 05:03:07 by Vykthor13 »