Author Topic: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)  (Read 69404 times)

Dark_Ansem

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 270
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.2] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #50 on: 2011-10-22 13:00:42 »
this is a great tool.

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: 41
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #51 on: 2011-10-22 23:51:50 »
Another bugfix, won't crash anymore when encoding text files with more entries than the respective field file.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #52 on: 2011-10-30 00:32:51 »
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/36889302/FF7/Japanese%20Table.zip

This is the complete Japanese font at 4X size, found from Window.bin.

There are 1071 Kanji in the game, which is correct as there are also 1071 corresponding entries in the character spacing table also found in window.bin.

The gana and kana are also here.  I am not sure how feasible it is to add japanese support but anyway, this is for anyone who needs it.
« Last Edit: 2011-10-30 00:34:28 by DLPB »

sithlord48

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1426
  • Karma: 33
  • Dark Lord of the Savegame
    • View Profile
    • Blackchocobo
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #53 on: 2011-10-30 14:16:59 »
since i just added japanese support myself. maybe he can do so in a similar way. please see
globals.cpp starting at line 564. its pretty ez if your using utf8 chars.

MJarcos

  • Guest
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #54 on: 2011-10-30 14:38:21 »
Hello Luksy and DLPB

Do you have any idea where this may be part of the texts?



Attack
Magic
Item

First, I thought it would be in the EXE. but was not there, I doubt that is in the files of the dialogues, not looked at the Kernel's and do not think it's graphic...

Sorry if this question has been answered, but found nothing related to them...

Before coming to ask me, I looked in Qhimm wiki, but found nothing...

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #55 on: 2011-10-30 16:04:24 »
It is in 0_kernel2.bin.txt, see the dumped text files.  They are all in kernel2. 

@sith He has already added japanese and PSX dumping support, I think :P  I believe he used Makou reactor's documentation.

Also, luksy seems to have uploaded 0.9.9.3.7 which fixes the world map dialogue bug.
« Last Edit: 2011-10-30 16:18:21 by DLPB »

MJarcos

  • Guest
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #56 on: 2011-10-30 16:19:35 »
Thanks man! Sorry for the inconvenience, but taking advantage of:

Do you plan to move in Window.bin?

Thanks! :D

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #57 on: 2011-10-30 16:24:07 »
I am not the author, but I do believe window.bin character spacing values are being added... or at least, reading it is being added.

Milo Leonhart

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 1
  • French...
    • View Profile
    • EKOI
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #58 on: 2011-10-30 18:12:16 »
I'm french and i try to translate in french and apparently the character like à,é,è etc. does not appear in the game ?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #59 on: 2011-10-30 18:42:13 »
The font I made with menu reconstruction does not support those letters, you are free to make your own font.

Luksy's program DOES support those letters so your query is not a TS issue.

Milo Leonhart

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 1
  • French...
    • View Profile
    • EKOI
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #60 on: 2011-10-30 18:54:12 »
The font I made with menu reconstruction does not support those letters, you are free to make your own font.

Luksy's program DOES support those letters so your query is not a TS issue.

Okay, thanks! Can you give me the name of the font you've used ?
« Last Edit: 2011-10-30 19:00:05 by Milo Leonhart »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #61 on: 2011-10-30 19:28:48 »
I used helvetica world.  If you wait until tomorrow I will upload my adobe files for you.

Milo Leonhart

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 1
  • French...
    • View Profile
    • EKOI
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #62 on: 2011-10-30 19:31:33 »
Oh cool it's great, i'm waiting then... thanks!

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #63 on: 2011-10-30 19:47:53 »
Just promise to do a decent job...  the only bad thing is that felix has already completed my font in new colours, so you would have to go plain or make your own gradient version.

Milo Leonhart

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 1
  • French...
    • View Profile
    • EKOI
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #64 on: 2011-10-30 20:54:56 »
Ok it's not a problem, but can you tell me how or giveme a link to a tutorial to make my own font ?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #65 on: 2011-10-30 20:58:19 »
I can't, it really is as simple as knowing how to add letters in adobe...  its very simple if you do it right.

If you can't do it, someone else will have to :)
« Last Edit: 2011-10-30 21:02:36 by DLPB »

Milo Leonhart

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 1
  • French...
    • View Profile
    • EKOI
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #66 on: 2011-10-30 21:04:21 »
Oh ok, so i'll try :) thanks again!

Caledor

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #67 on: 2011-10-31 00:01:45 »
Thanks a lot for the adobes DLPB, until now I had problems like milo to edit the fonts, since I was adding all the "à" "è" "ò" ecc through copy-paste in paint.net, you know...
But even like that it seems it's pointless 'cause the added character overlap like if there is no value for spacing set for them (is that stored in window.bin?) or whatever. Do you have any data about this thing that you used in your menu mod, like the ones you gave us about the exe? Or is it already planned to be fixed in near future?

Anyway, I'm taking this chance to thank you for all the work you shared with us, the menu overhaul mod, all the info about the exe and the advice to use Cheat Engine. They helped a lot even to someone that had to start learning from zero like me.  ;D

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #68 on: 2011-10-31 00:49:51 »
0099ddaf is roughly where the table starts in memory, it is pulled from window.bin that I had to manually edit.  You have to manually edit the character widths.  If luksy makes it editable in a notepad, it would be easier for you but that's what you need to do.  The font needs to be properly done, so whoever uses my adobe font needs to be competent.  I will not be doing a running commentary.  Got way too many things to do and I do not care for any languages other than English :)

Caledor

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #69 on: 2011-10-31 23:24:56 »
0099ddaf is roughly where the table starts in memory, it is pulled from window.bin that I had to manually edit.  You have to manually edit the character widths.

I found everything in memory and i managed to edit window.bin3 but when it comes to recompress it back, every program i found on this forum can't seem to do it the right way. I tried ff7dec.exe gzip.exe gunzip.exe gzip96.exe but nothing happened.
I'm truly sorry to bother you again but can you please tell me what you used for compress/decompress window.bin?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #70 on: 2011-10-31 23:35:28 »
I used ff7dec to decode and a hex editor.  You have to use ff7dec to zip the 3rd file then place that file into window.bin with a hex editor.

Window.bin is just a container for 3 gzips.  It is NOT a single gzip file.

This is not the correct thread for this, We should get back to ontopic discussion here now.
« Last Edit: 2011-11-15 01:43:42 by DLPB »

MJarcos

  • Guest
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #71 on: 2011-11-20 15:14:45 »
Hey guys! I have a riddle for you: P

0_scene.bin.txt

This file holds all the files where the names of the attacks: Machine Gun, Beat Rush, etc.. I discovered that the translation of FF7 PSX, the names were not translated because they edit it anyway error gave the game AI and some attacks did not happen

According to the guys who translated:

http://www.romhacking.trd.br/index.php?topic=3193.msg74095#msg74095

Every time (and even many were) trying to edit it cause some kind of error, the last (even after identifying the whole file) could lead to an error of AI enemies (not used a few hits).

I've Identified all, are several blocks with these pointers and seemingly all right back even after review. I could not solve the problem, it may be some code in the AI file that needs to be linked / updated.


http://www.romhacking.trd.br/index.php?topic=3193.msg74109#msg74109

Is there any chance you find a solution to this problem?

Thank you very much!

Obs: My English was very bad now!

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #72 on: 2011-11-20 15:17:09 »
If this is an error with touphScript then yes, if it isn't, then no.  Does touphScript make an error?  If it doesn't, your query has no place here.  There have been a lot of people sending in broken exe and broken scenes that have nothing whatsoever to do with touphScript.

MJarcos

  • Guest
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #73 on: 2011-11-20 17:18:51 »
Where I said that the program was a mistake? I said nothing

If you use anything related to translation, will cause this error.

My question is intended to warn about this problem and further improve the progam because this is something that really disrupts the lives of anyone who is moving deep into the game...

The program is very good and meets my needs, the idea was to TRY to fix this error

Do not get me wrong...

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8792
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #74 on: 2011-11-20 18:54:30 »
I do not understand what the problem is? Maybe it is because you are not a native English speaker.  I can't understand where your problem lies...  or if it even is a problem with tS.

Someone who speaks Spanish and English fluently can maybe elaborate?>