Author Topic: Mods for PSX  (Read 5466 times)

TyDoMaster

Mods for PSX
« on: 2008-01-09 05:09:00 »
Hey I know that this has been asked before but I read all the topics and still found no answers.
So I'm gonna ask two questions

1: what mods are confirmed to work for the PSX version (replcing scene.bin or some such)
and 2: how do you get them to work? what do you have to do scene.bin? or is that even right?
I LOVE Final Fantasy VII but I'm not very good at modding so if one of you nice people could please give me some very simple instructions I would be most gratefull

thanks in advance!

halkun

• Global moderator
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
Re: Mods for PSX
« Reply #1 on: 2008-01-10 08:51:51 »
Short answer: None of them

A little longer answer: the PSX version is hard-coded where it's data is. You move the location of one byte and the whole system crashes. The PSX and PC are different.

Olie

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2008-01-15 10:57:50 »
wrong you dont need to directly edit the Image of the game.

if u get a plugin that extracts the Textures then you make them high res in photoshop. after that if you got a GFX plugin that can load the new high res textures over the old ones.

dont know if this is possible yet. but there is over 100,00 textures to do if u ever tried.

Otokoshi

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 2008-01-19 00:00:38 »
Wouldn't replacing the high res (read larger) textures with the originals offset the location of the data, resulting in a crash?

halkun

• Global moderator
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
« Reply #4 on: 2008-01-19 00:59:27 »
Yup, you can't edit the sizes of the files, if you move or alter any location of the data it will crash.

Olie

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 2008-01-19 11:26:48 »
yes true but you can inject textures.
PC dosent crash when using larger textures just is all fucked up :D

squeeble

• GOOGLE GODDAMIT!!
    • View Profile
« Reply #6 on: 2008-01-19 21:56:14 »