Author Topic: Mod Errors  (Read 259 times)

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Mod Errors
« on: 2017-08-23 06:32:50 »
The game itself crashes when I click the green "Launch Game" button in the app. When I run ff7_bc.exe, the game runs, but the mod configuration isn't applied (the Always Run, Skip Cutscenes, etc) and the text in the menu is squished and the HUD in the battle screen if off.

I have the following mods, in this build order...
  • Gameplay - Tweaks and Cheats
  • Gameplay - Difficulty and Story
  • The Reunion - Beacause and Menu Overhaul
And the following settings
  • Library Location: C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\7th Heaven
  • FF7 Exe: C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\FF7_bc.exe
  • Aali Modpath: C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\mods\Textures
  • Movie Path: C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\movies\

Screenshots: http://imgur.com/a/b5v0d
« Last Edit: 2017-08-23 15:42:12 by RK9 »

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 632
  • Karma: 11
  • Check out my work - https://goo.gl/m4NFlm
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #1 on: 2017-08-23 10:18:20 »
You issue i think is the modpath.

Inside your FF7 root folder open a file named ff7_opengl and look for an option named
"modpath" near the top. It needs to say "textures" and nothing else.

I think yours says something different

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #2 on: 2017-08-23 13:41:39 »
Contents Below.

Spoiler: show
# ff7_opengl-0.8.1b config file



## USER OPTIONS ##
## If you just want to play the game, these are the only options you'll want to change.

# set the window size (or fullscreen resolution) of FF7
# 0 means use original resolution in window mode, your current desktop resolution will be used in fullscreen mode
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 0
window_size_y = 0
internal_size_x = 3840
internal_size_y = 2160
preserve_aspect = yes
fullscreen = yes

# mod directory
# subdirectroy of mods/ where textures will be loaded from
mod_path = Textures

# check your Nvidia/ATI/Intel control panel settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = yes

# allow FF7 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
# only affects low-res textures, high-res replacements will still be filtered where appropriate
linear_filter = off

# plugin used to play music, VGMstream requires a set of looping .ogg files in the music/vgmstream folder.
# If no music plugin is loaded the game will play MIDI as usual but FF7Music will NOT work.
music_plugin = plugins/vgmstream_music.fgp



## ENHANCEMENTS ##
## All the little extras that weren't part of the original game, default options include only trivial bug fixes.

# make all dialog boxes transparent, same effect as the transparent dialog boxes YAMP patch
transparent_dialogs = on

# include armor in magic defense calculation
mdef_fix = yes

# minigame fixes
snowboard_framerate=60
highway_framerate=30
coaster_framerate=60
battleswirl_framerate=60

# post-processing shader, used to apply fullscreen effects
post_source = shaders/SmartBloomAdvanced.post
enable_postprocessing = on



## ADVANCED OPTIONS ##
## Don't fiddle with these unless you know what you're doing.

# enable alpha blending for textures without an existing blending effect
fancy_transparency = yes

# display frames per second counter in upper right corner
show_fps = off

# display some real-time debug information
show_stats = off

# store external textures in a compressed cache for increased performance
# compression is not lossless, some artifacts may appear when this option is in use
# texture cache does NOT update automatically if the source image changes, however, deleting anything from the cache
# will cause that file to be recreated from the source
compress_textures = off

# max size of the texture cache to hold in RAM, in megabytes
# don't set it any higher than 1GB unless you want your game to crash
texture_cache_size = 768

# use pixel buffer objects to speed up texture loading
# might crash horribly on ATI cards but should work for NVIDIA users
use_pbo = off

# use mipmaps (anisotropic filtering) for high-res textures
use_mipmaps = yes

# replace FF7's default framelimiter timer source
use_new_timer = yes

# plugin used to play movies, FFMpeg is the only choice for now
movie_plugin = plugins/ffmpeg_movies.fgp



## MODDER OPTIONS ##
## These options are mostly useful to modders and should not be enabled during normal play.

# read files directly instead of using LGP archives
# for example; if FF7 is looking for aaab.rsd in char.lgp, this option will make it open direct/char/aaab.rsd first,
# if this file doesn't exist it will look for the original in the LGP archive
direct_mode = on

# show every failed attempt at loading a .png texture
show_missing_textures = off

# extern additional library
load_library = Multi.dll
« Last Edit: 2017-08-23 15:18:28 by RK9 »

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2655
  • Karma: 182
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #3 on: 2017-08-23 14:39:46 »
Is that everything in your ff7_opengl.cfg? There should be more listed below the music_plugin section.

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #4 on: 2017-08-23 15:15:19 »
I updated it to show the entire file.
« Last Edit: 2017-08-23 15:17:51 by RK9 »

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2655
  • Karma: 182
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #5 on: 2017-08-23 15:34:11 »
Check your Aali Modpath in Workshop -> Settings. Have it set to C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\mods\Textures

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #6 on: 2017-08-23 15:42:48 »
Confirming Path. I updated OP for all the paths.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2655
  • Karma: 182
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #7 on: 2017-08-23 15:59:33 »
I don't know what's wrong. Start over with a fresh install.

1. http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=16538.0
2. Scroll down to: ➣ For whatever reasons, I need to start over with a fresh install.
3. Follow the instructions.

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #8 on: 2017-08-23 16:09:50 »
I followed those instructions prior to posting for help. I uninstalled the game, completely deleted the game folder, ran the registry key cleaner, reinstalled from steam, and restarted the process.

EDIT:

I messed around with some settings, and the game launched. After the Square Soft logo screen, the game crashed saying...

Error
Opps! Something very bad happened
Wrote crash.dmp to FF7 install dir.
Please provide a copy of it along with APP.LOG when reporting this error.
Write emergency save to save/crash.ff7?

Here is APP.LOG
Spoiler: show
[00000000] INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.8.1b
[00000000] INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
[00000000] INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce GTX 960/PCIe/SSE2 4.5.0 NVIDIA 381.65
[00000000] INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
[00000000] INFO: Found swap_control extension
[00000000] INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
[00000000] INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1440x1080, internal resolution 3840x2160
[00000000] INFO: Shader limits: varying 124, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 4096
[00000000] INFO: postprocessing program link log:
Fragment info
-------------
0(133) : warning C7050: "refractedColor.w" might be used before being initialized

[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
[00000000] INFO: VGMStream music plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
[00000000] LOCK UNLOCK TEST
[00000001] MATRIX INITIALIZE
[00000001] INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
[00000001] initializing sound...
[00000001] creating dsound primary buffer
[00000001] reading audio file
[00000001] loading static sounds
[00000001] sound initialized
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] Entering MAIN
[00000001] Exiting MAIN
[00000001] START OF CREDITS!!!
[00000001] INFO: C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\movies\eidoslogo.avi; vp8/vorbis 1280x960, 30.000000 FPS, duration: 11.133000, frames: 334
[00000181] set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
[00000246] END OF CREDITS!!!
[00000246] Entering MAIN
[00000246] set music volume: 127
[00000246] Exiting MAIN
[00000246] START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
[00000246] ERROR: unhandled exception


I uploaded crash.dmo, but not sure how useful that is, since its not readable in a text editor.
http://www.fast-files.com/getfile.aspx?file=144268


It appears as though it crashes when initializing the menu system.
« Last Edit: 2017-08-23 19:14:54 by RK9 »

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #9 on: 2017-08-25 22:44:54 »
Any ideas on fixing the error log above?

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2119
  • Karma: 126
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #10 on: 2017-08-26 06:22:08 »
Can you start the game without 7H by using FF7.exe?

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #11 on: 2017-08-26 09:42:10 »
Yes, it can be. Did you mean ff7_bc.exe? When running that, the game is run, mods not working and the menu systems look like they do in the screenshots from the first post. When running it as ff7.exe, the game ran as though unmodded entirely, no menu changes. It looks normal, as though fresh installed without 7H.

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2119
  • Karma: 126
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #12 on: 2017-08-26 11:18:25 »
The crash may happen because of 7th Heaven. If it runs with no problems without 7H, then you should rerun the Gamesconverter.

RK9

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Errors
« Reply #13 on: 2017-08-26 12:53:20 »
Same results with the same app.log