Author Topic: Battle script (SCENE.BIN) + more  (Read 21214 times)

Cyberman

• View Profile
Battle script (SCENE.BIN) + more
« on: 2007-01-17 18:38:09 »
Right so I was wandering through the wiki (examining the data on SCENE.BIN) and wondered about the battle scripting and discovered a nice add link for it.  Is this the same code format as the regular field script or is it an entirely different beast? I suspect the later however I could be wrong.  I am pretty sure that the script has things such as dialog etc.  (well duh anyhow).
SCENE.BIN is very interesting so I'm studying.  I my as well start work on the battle part of the engine (it's what I'm most familiar with in any case).
So .. summary
scripting for battles? Is it the same as the rest of the engine or different? What about dialog in battles? Opcodes?

Also it's been batted around a lot, the scripting system in general is the next quesiton (Querry?)

There appear to be 2 ways to really go with it.
The first is psuedo functional language with proper clauses etc for instituting neatness. This would make it look more like PASCAL or C in terms of appearance (TCL perhaps). 

The second is go with the code. IE just use the current opcode names and make it more of an ASSEMBLER level scripting support than anything.  I suggest the very least is to bracket an entire script with BEGINP and ENDP if this is the route.  This helps to organize things visually at the very least.  I'm speaking from a script dump point of view.  This is obviously easiest to do.

One issue is that the scripts operate in paraellel, so do we understand how this works.  I remember talking about it is all.  Nothing is in the wiki so I must assume we never concluded much.