Author Topic: FF7 Movies - Can't get it to work right  (Read 4483 times)

ModemT

FF7 Movies - Can't get it to work right
« on: 2012-05-14 23:58:57 »
Hi there.  I've been coming here on and off for a couple years, but this is my first time posting.  /wave

Anyway, to my problem...

First, I have the Platinum Edition of FF7 (http://www.amazon.com/Final-Fantasy-VII-Platinum-Edition/dp/B0009IC3VW/ref=sr_1_17?ie=UTF8&qid=1337037800&sr=8-17)  and I'm trying to play through Windows 7 Professional 64 bit.  It's the US NTSC version of FF7 in which everything seems to be in proper order.  No CD's are scratched, installations go just fine and the game itself works just fine.

Basically, the opening movie ('nor any movie) doesn't work, but I'll press enter on the numpad and it skips to the New Game/Continue screen.  I have some old saves from near the beginning of the game which I used to test the game itself, which works just fine.  Since the opening Squaresoft logo screen with the chocobos is the only movie that it allows you to skip, it's the only one I can actually get through.  If any movie starts at any other point, I cannot proceed due to the game not allowing you to actually skip them.  Waiting for the movies to finish doesn't work either.

If I run the movies outside the game on the actual CD (or if I copy any to my desktop), I get sound, but no video (I get neither in-game).  I can skip through the video to later audio points, but at no point does the video work.

I've been working with/building computers etc. for 15 years now, so I'm fairly tech-savvy, and have tried a number of things suggested by various threads through this forum.