Author Topic: Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven  (Read 18249 times)

chasesummers

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven
« on: 2018-03-14 13:25:45 »
Hey everyone,

I installed the 7th Heaven mod and followed all the steps. However every time I go on full screen the game is zoomed in, no matter what I do with the settings it won't change.

Here's the FF7OpenGL:

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<ConfigSpec xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
  <Setting xsi:type="TextEntry">
    <Group>Resolution</Group>
    <Name>Window Size X</Name>
    <Description>What resolution to run the game at (in windowed mode, the size of the window)</Description>
    <Option>window_size_x</Option> 
<Suggest>0</Suggest>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="TextEntry">
    <Group>Resolution</Group>
    <Name>Window Size Y</Name>
    <Description></Description>
    <Option>window_size_y</Option>
<Suggest>0</Suggest>
  </Setting>
   <Setting xsi:type="TextEntry">
    <Group>Resolution</Group>
    <Name>Internal Size X</Name>
    <Description>Should be 2X*320</Description>
    <Option>internal_size_x</Option>
<Suggest>0</Suggest>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="TextEntry">
    <Group>Resolution</Group>
    <Name>Internal Size Y</Name>
    <Description>Should be 4X*240</Description>
    <Option>internal_size_y</Option>
<Suggest>0</Suggest>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Resolution</Group>
    <Name>Full screen mode</Name>
    <Description>Whether to run the game in full-screen mode or in a window</Description>
    <TrueSetting>fullscreen=on</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>fullscreen=off</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
 
 
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Graphics</Group>   
    <Name>Preserve aspect ratio</Name>
    <Description>If you turn this off, graphics are stretched to fill. When on, black bars are added.</Description>
    <TrueSetting>preserve_aspect=on</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>preserve_aspect=off</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Graphics</Group>   
    <Name>Dialog Boxes</Name>
    <Description>Make all dialog boxes transparent.</Description>
    <TrueSetting>transparent_dialogs=on</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>transparent_dialogs=off</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Graphics</Group>   
    <Name>Linear Filter</Name>
    <Description>Allow FF7 to use linear filtering for its textures.</Description>
    <TrueSetting>linear_filter=on</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>linear_filter=off</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Graphics</Group>   
    <Name>Postprocessing</Name>
    <Description>Used to apply fullscreen effects.</Description>
    <TrueSetting>enable_postprocessing=yes</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>enable_postprocessing=no</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="TextEntry">
    <Group>Graphics</Group>
    <Name>Postprocess Shader</Name>
    <Description>Which postprocessing shader to use</Description>
    <Option>post_source</Option>
    <Suggest>shaders/bloom2.post</Suggest>
    <Suggest>shaders/someOtherFile.post</Suggest>
  </Setting>
 
 
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Rendering</Group>
    <Name>V-Sync</Name>
<Description>Check your Nvidia/ATI/Intel control panel settings if this option doesn't seem to work.</Description>
    <TrueSetting>enable_vsync=on</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>enable_vsync=off</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Rendering</Group>
    <Name>New Timer</Name>
<Description>Replace FF7's default framelimiter timer source.</Description>
    <TrueSetting>use_new_timer=yes</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>use_new_timer=no</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Rendering</Group>
    <Name>Textures Cache</Name>
<Description>Store external textures in a compressed cache for increased performance. Compression is not lossless. Texture cache does NOT update automatically. </Description>
    <TrueSetting>compress_textures=yes</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>compress_textures=no</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="DropDown">
    <Group>Rendering</Group>
    <Name>Texture Memory</Name>
    <Description>Prevent the game to crash due to it loading too many textures at once. Use only higher values if you get graphic problems!</Description>
    <Option>
      <Text>256</Text>
      <Settings>texture_cache_size=256</Settings>
    </Option>
    <Option>
      <Text>512</Text>
      <Settings>texture_cache_size=512</Settings>
    </Option>
    <Option>
      <Text>768</Text>
      <Settings>texture_cache_size=768</Settings>
    </Option>
<Option>
      <Text>1024 (untested)</Text>
      <Settings>texture_cache_size=1024</Settings>
    </Option>
  </Setting>
  <Setting xsi:type="Checkbox">
    <Group>Rendering</Group>
    <Name>Pixel Buffer</Name>
<Description>Use pixel buffer objects to speed up texture loading. Might crash horribly on ATI cards but should work for NVIDIA users.</Description>
    <TrueSetting>use_pbo=yes</TrueSetting>
    <FalseSetting>use_pbo=no</FalseSetting>
  </Setting>
 
 
  <Setting xsi:type="DropDown">
    <Group>Audio</Group>
    <Name>Music Plugin</Name>
    <Description>Choose a plugin to load for special music output</Description>
    <Option>
      <Text>None</Text>
      <Settings>music_plugin=</Settings>
    </Option>
    <Option>
      <Text>VGMStream</Text>
      <Settings>music_plugin=plugins/vgmstream_music.fgp</Settings>
    </Option>
    <Option>
      <Text>FF7Music</Text>
      <Settings>music_plugin=plugins/ff7music.fgp</Settings>
    </Option>
  </Setting>
</ConfigSpec>

Thanks!
« Last Edit: 2018-03-14 15:23:03 by Covarr »

xzeox

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven
« Reply #1 on: 2018-08-21 10:20:46 »
Maybe it is come to late but i find a solution for me i had the same Problem and changed the font size in Windows 10 to 100 % from standart 125 % (Right click Desktop -> Display Settings)

Topken

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven
« Reply #2 on: 2018-08-23 23:01:50 »
Yeah the issu is from the DPI scaling in Windows 10 setting it to 100% will fix the issue or you can right click on 7th heaven and go to properties and go to the compatability tab and click on the button that says Change high DPI settings and then change it to System Enhanced instead of application.

mitzmitra

  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • one winged artist
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven
« Reply #3 on: 2018-08-27 18:10:56 »
Yeah the issu is from the DPI scaling in Windows 10 setting it to 100% will fix the issue or you can right click on 7th heaven and go to properties and go to the compatability tab and click on the button that says Change high DPI settings and then change it to System Enhanced instead of application.

thanks for this, but mine is different, because when i set it to system enhanced, it doesnt do anything, but when i set it to application, it cancels the scaling.. though thanks for this because if i didnt saw this, i dont have a chance to try this option out..  :)

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 823
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven
« Reply #4 on: 2018-08-27 19:38:38 »
usually i would right click the exe, properties, comparability and override the DPI scaling. that always works for me

Kampy

  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven
« Reply #5 on: 2019-08-31 17:08:07 »
usually i would right click the exe, properties, comparability and override the DPI scaling. that always works for me

omg thank you so much!!! It worked <3 :D I was almost giving up!!

Notorious

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Screen Resolution Issues With 7th Heaven
« Reply #6 on: 2019-11-25 03:44:28 »
I sort of have the same zoomed in problem but in different situation.

My main monitor is 2560x1440 and my secondary display is a HDTV which is 1920x1080.

So I start 7th Heaven and FF7 in windowed mode from the main display and when I move the game window to my HDTV the game get zoomed in and when I move it back to the main display it remained zoomed in.

I've tried all the suggestions here for the DPI on ff7.exe, ff7_bc.exe, 7th heaven.exe to no avail. Also changing Windows 10 scaling option for secondary display to 100%.

I also checked settings in FF7Config.exe, I CAN set where the audio goes to for example either to my main speaker or to the TV but there's no option to set which display to use, there's only one Primary display and no secondary display to choose from, I wonder if I need to do something for it to see my HDTV?

The only way to get around this for me is to set my HDTV as the main display :> So when I start 7th Heaven and FF7 it will just show on HDTV with the correct scale.

Any other ideas on how to play it on a secondary 60" display :evil:?

p/s: My HDTV is connected to my Home theater system and then connected to my PC GPU.