Author Topic: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)  (Read 69165 times)

bidaum

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #325 on: 2017-10-03 16:50:03 »
I've found after trying to fumble my way through this today on the steam install that the readme could really do with an actual install guide as.. there no info on where it should actually be installed or how to update ini for non standard directories etc etc.

Hell could make it even easier by just allowing this way
Under a default setup you would be able to do the following:
1. Extract content to {ff7-install-directory}/touphscript/ (and put in readme to do so)
2. Run touphscript.exe
3. Select between steam version and 1998
4. auto-updates touphscipt.ini
5. d to decode
6. go to touphscipt/text/ to modify the text
7.  rerun touphscipt.exe
8. e to encode
9. takes a copy of bins/lgps into touphscript/backups
10. encodes

Also.. I'm not actually getting anywhere trying to run the extract..

« Last Edit: 2017-10-03 16:56:26 by bidaum »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #326 on: 2017-10-03 16:55:16 »
There is no installation. It doesn't get any simpler than just editing an ini or running program, using "d" then editing files and running with "e".   

bidaum

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #327 on: 2017-10-03 16:59:28 »
Well I've got an issue then.

touphscript is extracted to e:\touphscript

ff7 is installed in E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII

my ini is as so:
text = ".\text\"
flevel = "E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\field\flevel.lgp"
world = "E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\wm\world_us.lgp"
scene = "E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\battle\scene.bin"
kernel = "E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\kernel\kernel.bin"
kernel2 = "E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\kernel\kernel2.bin"
window = "E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\lang-en\kernel\window.bin"
exe = "E:\Games\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\ff7.exe"

tried both with and without speech marks

When I run the decode I get nothing in ./text/ and a 0kb log.txt file

I tried the software a long time ago and kinda gave up cause ended up with the same issue then of... nothing happening :(

I also just want to apologise if I seem a bit curt. been racking my brains for the past hour trying to work out whats not working.

« Last Edit: 2017-10-03 17:08:08 by bidaum »

bidaum

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #328 on: 2017-10-03 17:24:10 »
I also just tried moving the files themselves from the steam directory to the default C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII and running from there. But still getting the same results

aha... when i run it in the command line.

I get Fatal error: Cannot open registry
« Last Edit: 2017-10-03 17:27:29 by bidaum »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #329 on: 2017-10-03 20:03:13 »
Usually this means that you don't have the game installed and may be using pirated version.  Is your copy genuine?

bidaum

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #330 on: 2017-10-03 20:25:06 »
Yep, just uninstalled and reinstalled via steam just to be sure.

TouphScript does work with the steam version right? I've gone through the thread and as far as I can tell it's supported.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #331 on: 2017-10-04 01:34:25 »
It is, yeah.  And if it doesn't work normally., setting paths directly without ""  should work.  verify all paths lead to actual files.

bidaum

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #332 on: 2017-10-04 02:07:08 »
double checked

Also moved the files into the touphscript directory and tested it that way.

But still getting fatal error cannot open registry.

exact cmd line copy below

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>e:

E:\>cd e:\TouphScript

e:\TouphScript>touphScript.exe

touphScript v1.2.9 --- a FFVII text editor

(d)ump or (e)ncode?
d
Fatal error: Cannot open registry

My ini is below with all file paths verified
Code: [Select]
# Override paths
 text = e:\touphscript\text\
 flevel = e:\touphscript\data\field\flevel.lgp
 world = e:\touphscript\data\wm\world_us.lgp
 scene = e:\touphscript\data\battle\scene.bin
 kernel = e:\touphscript\data\kernel\kernel.bin
 kernel2 = e:\touphscript\data\kernel\kernel2.bin
 window = e:\touphscript\data\kernel\window.bin
 exe = e:\touphscript\data\ff7_en.exe
:(
« Last Edit: 2017-10-04 02:09:23 by bidaum »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #333 on: 2017-10-04 10:12:42 »
Double click the exe, makes no difference?

also, make sure you are using

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B43luAxFZKC-dWFMZUJkS01PdzQ/view

kenichi

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: -15
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #334 on: 2017-10-05 12:55:03 »
@bidaum; rename ff7_en.exe to ff7.exe and when you play game rename again ff7.exe to ff7_en.exe and of course rename in ini file.
« Last Edit: 2017-10-05 23:49:39 by kenichi »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #335 on: 2017-10-05 13:17:31 »
That's wrong.  If he's using Steam, then it HAS to be ff7_en.exe  unless he has some sort of mod that's not using that name. 

kenichi

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: -15
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #336 on: 2017-10-05 23:48:23 »
ı have ff7 steam and ı dont use mod because of ts; ı tried encode ts for ff7_en.exe but ı got error then ı renamed ff7_en.exe to ff7.exe and ı tried encode again and it works.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #337 on: 2017-10-06 00:57:31 »
If you've set the paths, like he has above, then doing that is wrong. It won't work.  It shouldn't really work at all if you are installing to Steam.

kenichi

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: -15
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #338 on: 2017-10-06 06:32:47 »
my path and works.
# Override paths
# text = .\text\
# flevel = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\field\flevel.lgp"
# world = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\wm\world_us.lgp"
# scene = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\battle\scene.bin"
# kernel = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\kernel\KERNEL.BIN"
# kernel2 = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\kernel\kernel2.bin"
# window = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\kernel\WINDOW.BIN"
# exe = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\ff7.exe"

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #339 on: 2017-10-06 12:15:32 »
Quote
my path and works.
# Override paths
# text = .\text\
# flevel = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\field\flevel.lgp"
# world = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\wm\world_us.lgp"
# scene = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\battle\scene.bin"
# kernel = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\kernel\KERNEL.BIN"
# kernel2 = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\kernel\kernel2.bin"
# window = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\kernel\WINDOW.BIN"
# exe = "E:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\ff7.exe"

That's because all your paths above are wrong.  You have started them with #, so they will be ignored.  And you have used " ".    ::) In other words, ts is just finding your game based on the registry.

kenichi

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: -15
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #340 on: 2017-10-07 09:51:12 »
hmm ı got this ı finally understand why my friends got registry error ı edited and working ı want to try my friends this settings. Just tell me; how to solve like line 620 5415874565846 char(s) too long errors?That line just 2 letters.
« Last Edit: 2017-10-07 09:53:43 by kenichi »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8789
  • Karma: 251
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #341 on: 2017-10-07 12:03:58 »
That's a bug in ts.  It is still too long, though.  Your entry is too long.

kenichi

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: -15
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #342 on: 2017-10-07 17:13:32 »
ı encode ts and ı click play ff7 then ff7_en.exe not responding then ı got an unknown exception has occurred error

edit; ı solved; ı changed ff_en.exe to ff7.exe then encode then ı renamed ff7.exe to ff7_en.exe and game working.
« Last Edit: 2017-10-07 17:50:15 by kenichi »