Author Topic: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game  (Read 3681 times)

P3NIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« on: 2013-01-01 13:46:28 »
Hey guys,
first of all, awesome community. FFVII modding is great.
I installed bootleg 039 2 days ago and now I am at Fort Condor but whenever i wanna start the mini game i get a crash. "Oops, something bad happened..."
When i look inside the APP.log  I can see that the game can't open the fort condor files:
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AA.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AA.rsd
ERROR: could not open file AA.rsd
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AB.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AB.rsd
ERROR: could not open file AB.rsd
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AC.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AC.rsd
ERROR: could not open file AC.rsd
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AD.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AD.rsd
ERROR: could not open file AD.rsd
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AE.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AE.rsd
ERROR: could not open file AE.rsd
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AF.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AF.rsd
ERROR: could not open file AF.rsd
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AG.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AG.rsd
ERROR: could not open file AG.rsd
ERROR: failed to find file condor/AH.rsd (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: AH.rsd
etc etc etc

I have the German Version of the game

What have I done wrong?
2nd problem is, i can't customise my controlls in the game, cause I get a crash as well with same crash screen
Any advice? thanks in advance
« Last Edit: 2013-01-01 13:54:29 by P3NIN »

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #1 on: 2013-01-01 17:07:48 »
There are a few problems with the German to English conversion of the game.
Bootleg .040 may help with some of the issues.  It's untested with the German game.

P3NIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #2 on: 2013-01-02 19:04:32 »
I installed Bootleg 040 today, game still crashes everytime I start Condor mini game.
Besides, many letters and phrases, for instance shop menu or save menu are fu**** up now, which wasn't in 039. I thought you might want to know that.
I also had a freeze during installation everytime at the same spot when bootleg said "creating char.lgp" or something like that. But I could bypass this error by not installing the HQ Tifa and Yuffie models.


Any other idea how to fix the condor error?

Regards

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #3 on: 2013-01-02 19:46:43 »
Replace condor.lgp with the original vanilla version.

I don't have any way to test Bootleg on foreign language versions of FF7.
Thanks for the input.
You troubles will help me improve Bootleg!

P3NIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #4 on: 2013-01-02 22:55:55 »
Ok, now I am at the snowboard mini game and this crashes too. Apparently no mini game will work. I noticed that the vanilla files have slightly different names compared to the modded files in data/minigame:
gcondor.lgp
snowboard-ge.lgp
.
.
.
Probably because of the German version
I renamed the files in data/minigame so file names are like the ones on the CD, but the game won't even start. FF7.exe has stopped working....
After that I replaced them with the vanilla files--> game starts but crashes when minigame should start
Last option for me was to leave the vanilla files inside the data/minigame folder without German localised names but that didn't work either. So I have no clue what to do. Sadly, i can not continue my savegame.
Any help asap would be appreciated

Regards

edit: these are the last lines from APP.log:
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
GLITCH: missed palette write to external texture field/snow/snow_15
Field Quit
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
« Last Edit: 2013-01-02 23:13:02 by P3NIN »

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #5 on: 2013-01-02 23:33:58 »
When you installed Bootleg .040, did you start with a clean, fresh install of FF7?
You have to delete all of the game files and start with a new installation.
Otherwise the language conversion won't work.

The process of converting a foreign language version of FF7 to the US version is still experimental.
I have no way of testing anything myself.
Everything you can find out and tell me is extremely helpful for making this thing work!


P3NIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #6 on: 2013-01-02 23:46:54 »
I did a full reinstall this afternoon because of bootleg 040 so this actually can not be the reason  :'(

Strange thing is, i can not be the only person here playing the German version. Others play too and i can't find anything relating this problem. Thus others must have been able to play through the whole game
« Last Edit: 2013-01-02 23:48:58 by P3NIN »

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #7 on: 2013-01-03 05:17:17 »
Hi P3NIN

Bootleg is probably not compatible with FF7 German (1998 ).
I strongly suspect that bootleg installed the English FF7.exe to get compatibility with certain mod's.
Unfortunately not so easy...

I have already tried some mod's for the German version, see here.

Greeting Kompass63

P3NIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #8 on: 2013-01-03 08:00:08 »
Oh man, this is sad :'( :-D
I am already so used to the new modded game and don't want to cut out all the new stuff. dammit!
I was thinking about doing a vanilla install, get past the minigame and then load the savegame in "bootlegged" install, because of some minor bugs it was actually working well.
But even if I manage to get past the snowboard minigame, the game will probably crash again when it comes to the submarine and/or condor minigame

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2138
  • Karma: 129
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #9 on: 2013-01-03 08:35:39 »
Which mods are you actually using or interested in?
Bootleg is quiet handy, but not necessary for a better  FF7.

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #10 on: 2013-01-03 08:42:48 »
Hi P3NIN

DLPB has made a converter script, but I think that that does not help you with your problem.
The file names in your first post are not in the script, I'll have to revise it well.
Please be patient, I'll check that out.

P3NIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #11 on: 2013-01-03 09:05:25 »
Thank you for trying to help me.
I assume you have a copy of bootleg on your computer (i hope so^^). Here is a link to my presets file for bootleg where you can see which mods i want to use

http://www.share-online.biz/dl/CGQXN1GMCLW

edit:
I used a vanilla installation to get past the snowboard scene, but that doesn't really fix the problem
« Last Edit: 2013-01-03 09:23:42 by P3NIN »

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2138
  • Karma: 129
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #12 on: 2013-01-03 10:14:46 »
From what I can see, you will need defiantly need an English installation.
Maybe you shouldn't use the Menu Overhaul (it changes much, but it's for English only)
Srayoff's condor wouldn't work, but you could use the Background. (If you have a 'condor' folder in your mod folder, keep it)
If you want canon names, you could look at my mod. Here

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #13 on: 2013-01-03 18:43:09 »
Hi P3NIN

I'm not sure what exe  you used (eng or ger).
If you want to load a saved game, do you have two lines with 5 slots (eng) or 5 lines with 2 slots (ger)?

Second question: Have you installed UMI manually?
« Last Edit: 2013-01-03 18:56:04 by Kompass63 »

P3NIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #14 on: 2013-01-04 09:46:40 »
I'm not sure which exe i used. i just left the installation after bootleg was finished.
And no, i didn't install anything manually.

I just obtained the materia from Condor. Unfortunately, this was only possible by doing the minigame with a vanilla installation. Next step is underwater reactor and submarine minigame probably won't work either.

edit: yep, submarine game crashed too

edit2: and btw, Aeris Revival is not working, or did I miss something to do?
« Last Edit: 2013-01-04 12:49:12 by P3NIN »

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2138
  • Karma: 129
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #15 on: 2013-01-04 17:09:59 »
Yep, every fix or hack only work with an english installation.
That means you don't take any advantages if you using a bootleg changed exe.
Have you tried to replace the exe after installation of bootleg with the original german exe (patched to 1.02 of course)?

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #16 on: 2013-01-04 23:32:35 »
Have you tried to replace the exe after installation of bootleg with the original german exe (patched to 1.02 of course)?
But then some other mods would not work, for example DLPBs menu overhaul.
DLPB has crafted a game converter that changes the LGPs.
I'll ask him.

GC.zip
No warranty!
Use at own risk!

...but for me it worked ;D

Install game, insert the english patch 1.02, remove all the write protection, insert and start Game Converter and than bootleg ...
« Last Edit: 2013-01-05 22:07:18 by Kompass63 »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8820
  • Karma: 252
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #17 on: 2013-01-05 05:12:19 »
I don't think I missed anything (I hope)....  I did make that for use with Menu Overhaul installer when I was going to add full foreign support, but now it is used as a standalone converter for people who want to use Hext.dll to add Menu Overhaul support for their language.

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #18 on: 2013-01-06 01:18:56 »
I don't think I missed anything (I hope).... 

For the German version, I can say you forgot no file :-) :-) :-)

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #19 on: 2013-01-06 02:08:37 »
Oops, the language version conversion of Bootleg 040 is broken.
I believe I've fixed it.
But I'll have to come up with some way to test it without actually having a foreign language version of the game.


Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #20 on: 2013-01-06 04:14:19 »
Hi PitBrat

The re-release contains all the necessary files for all four languages​​, except the 1.02 patch.

Meshyou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Crash @ Fort Condor Mini Game
« Reply #21 on: 2017-08-09 13:19:07 »
hey guys !

i have the same problem.. if the game loads the fort condor mini game it crashs but i dont had installed any kind of mod i have the german version too
hmpf want to play ff7 so bad :/