Author Topic: FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade  (Read 2094 times)

mikevincent

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade
« on: 2017-04-07 22:46:34 »





« Last Edit: 2017-04-08 10:01:18 by mikevincent »

hian

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
Re: FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade
« Reply #1 on: 2017-05-05 01:03:50 »
Looks fantastic. How do I do this?

mikevincent

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade
« Reply #2 on: 2017-05-06 22:00:31 »
Thanx. Here's my second set up, I adjusted it a bit and got it a bit nicer looking.





How you do this.. well, first you must use ps1 emu with Retroarch. And then add  super-4xbr-3d-4p as a shader. However I have adjusted that preset a bit on my own. If you want to  I could upload presets. It is important that you run this in 2x internal and 4k external. That is, chose full screen in the config file and 3840 × 2160 as resolution.
It is then filtered by my own ReShade preset wich contains ALOOT of debanding and some sharpening and vibrance. I could also give you my preset.

KyubiNemesis

Re: FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade
« Reply #3 on: 2017-05-07 07:27:58 »
I would love an upload of the shader and the reshade preset. These look great. Far better results than I've ever gotten.

mikevincent

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade
« Reply #4 on: 2017-05-07 11:55:54 »
Here are some more examples. And I dont know why, but it looks a bit better in game. I don't know why some of the quality is lost.




Here you can see that small text is still readable










Here is my custom preset for the Retroarch shader.

https://ufile.io/08loe

Something is wierd with my ReShade and I can not share any config. But I will tell you what to set.
First is effect ordering, this is important.

High Pass Sharpening -> Vibrance -> Deband

High Pass Sharpening values -

1.0
2
0.80
1
1.69

1.0
1.0
0.00
0.00
0

Vibrance values -

0.30

1.00
1.00
1.00

Deband values -

18.0
0.100
8
3
3

0
1.0
0.0

Remember that after this, you also have to make Retroarch run in fullscreen 4k resolution. And the internal resolution should be 2x to get the best out of the pre-rendered backgrounds.


« Last Edit: 2017-05-07 22:01:22 by mikevincent »

mikevincent

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade
« Reply #5 on: 2017-05-12 17:10:29 »
I have made some changes to my settings. A different Deband configuration and 4x internal instead of 2, resulting in more detailed backgrounds and higher res characters and other 3d elements :)









« Last Edit: 2017-05-12 23:18:15 by mikevincent »

mikevincent

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FFVII in Retroarch + ReShade
« Reply #6 on: 2017-07-29 14:16:17 »
Further modifications on my xbr preset







« Last Edit: 2017-07-29 18:01:03 by mikevincent »