Author Topic: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.2 (Downsampling/AA/PostProcessing/SweetFX)  (Read 61584 times)

Fendera

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • Your friendly neighbor :D
    • View Profile
it does only work if I place the folder in C:\GeDoSaTo, otherwise the supersample resolution wont show up in the FF8 launcher.

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 637
  • Karma: 109
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
it does only work if I place the folder in C:\GeDoSaTo, otherwise the supersample resolution wont show up in the FF8 launcher.

Could you clarify this a bit for me?  Do you mean that you have to put it in your \GeDoSaTo folder and merge the config folders?  If so, I have that in the 'directions' on the main post and in the .txt file in the download.  If you mean that you can't install GeDoSaTo anywhere other than the C: drive, then I wouldn't know a workaround for that. 

I do know that a lot of problems are resolved by copying the D3DCompiler_47.dll and placing it in the steamapps/common/FINAL FANTASY VIII parent folder, so that might be something to look into.

ALSO:

NEW RELEASE! - Check the main post!

- Fixed some bugs and got rid of some erroneous stuff that might produce errors.
- Added common resolution options to the 'FF8_Launcher' profile that aren't included in GeDoSaTo by default.  You must select them manually.

Current bugs:  Steam Overlay works but it un-clickable.  Some people have been able to use Big-Picture mode effectively in other games, but I'm not sure this is something we can fix with this version of GeDoSaTo.

Future release:  Working on finding the hashing information for the shaders, etc. to enable AO, DoF, and Bloom.  Also would like to prevent the UI from being affected by Post Processing.  We'll see how all that goes, because it's something I can rarely get to.


EDIT:
Oops.... i might have broken it.  I'll fix it tonight. - just kidding. was some testing I was doing with mouse settings :D
« Last Edit: 2017-08-17 18:54:50 by Mcindus »

Fendera

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • Your friendly neighbor :D
    • View Profile
Could you clarify this a bit for me?  Do you mean that you have to put it in your \GeDoSaTo folder and merge the config folders?  If so, I have that in the 'directions' on the main post and in the .txt file in the download.  If you mean that you can't install GeDoSaTo anywhere other than the C: drive, then I wouldn't know a workaround for that. 

I do know that a lot of problems are resolved by copying the D3DCompiler_47.dll and placing it in the steamapps/common/FINAL FANTASY VIII parent folder, so that might be something to look into.

I have to place the whole GeDoSaTo folder direct in the C: drive, ( like this C:\GeDoSaTo ) otherwise I can't change the resolution any higher then 1080p in the launcher if I place the folder else where... for example in the steam/FF8 folder on another drive.
« Last Edit: 2017-08-19 16:55:09 by Fendera »

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 637
  • Karma: 109
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
Another update!

So, I'm pretty sure this is as thorough as it comes.
Still haven't figured out how to click on the downsampled Steam Overlay UI, but Big Picture works!

I've managed to figure out how to enable DoF and AO using the pluginOverride command and the GenericDepthPlugin - so if you want to enable them, you must remove the # symbol from the command in the FF8_EN (or whatever your language is) GeDoSaTo profile.

I think i'll be tweaking my own Asmodean shader setup that I'll be sharing with the community at a later date... but.. until then...

Check the OP for version 2.2!

I have to place the whole GeDoSaTo folder direct in the C: drive, ( like this C:\GeDoSaTo ) otherwise I can't change the resolution any higher then 1080p in the launcher if I place the folder else where... for example in the steam/FF8 folder on another drive.

Does this still happen if you place D3DCompiler_47.dll in your FINAL FANTASY VIII parent folder?
« Last Edit: 2017-08-18 21:19:03 by Mcindus »

Fendera

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • Your friendly neighbor :D
    • View Profile
Does this still happen if you place D3DCompiler_47.dll in your FINAL FANTASY VIII parent folder?

I've tried to place the D3DCompiler_47.dll in to the Final Fantasy VIII Steam folder but still no luck, even if I run everything (Including FF8_EN.exe and FF8_Launcher.exe) in administrator mode.. I still have to place the GeDoSaTo folder on the C: drive. It's not a big deal, I'll just leave the GeDoSaTo folder on the C: Drive, everything else works just fine!

Thanks alot!
« Last Edit: 2017-08-19 17:08:54 by Fendera »

Nedus

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Leaving my little feedback.
I couldn't see any new higher resolution in the launcher menu. Then i copied 'D3DCompiler_47.dll' in to the Final Fantasy VIII Steam folder. I could see the new resolutions in the menu, but the game wouldn't load (regardless of my choice, including the basic 1920x1080). Then i moved the GeDoSaTo folder in C like Fendera did and that fixed it.

I've tested 3840x2160. Looks gorgeous. Then i've tried 5760x3240 (triple the native size of my monitor). The game launches but in a very tiny window that can't be made bigger. Am i missing something? My PC can't handle a downsampling like this? Not that it matters really. I'm totally fine with how it looks already.

Little side note: on 3840x2160 i've noticed a couple of veeery little 'scratches' in the status menu (Seed reborn italian version). But don't worry Mcindus, they are litterally a couple, barely noticeable and only in that part of the menu (everything else looks normal just as in 1920x1080), so we don't need to worry about that ;)

And great job on this GeDoSaTo tutorial! Loving it, especially for the antialiasing.
Thank you once again for making this awesome game even prettier :)



« Last Edit: 2017-08-19 22:03:09 by Nedus »

Fendera

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • Your friendly neighbor :D
    • View Profile
Then i moved the GeDoSaTo folder in C like Fendera did and that fixed it.

Glad this works for you too!

Little side note: on 3840x2160 i've noticed a couple of veeery little 'scratches' in the status menu (Seed reborn italian version). But don't worry Mcindus, they are litterally a couple, barely noticeable and only in that part of the menu (everything else looks normal just as in 1920x1080), so we don't need to worry about that

I noticed the lines too. I used the PS1 fonts first, I changed it back to the Seed Reborn fonts and now that fixed it for me. English Version
« Last Edit: 2017-08-19 23:54:13 by Fendera »

Nedus

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Little update on this: after some tests i've realized that GeDoSaTo is causing the game to crash sometimes (in various and different moments, like at the beginning of a cutscene, after saving, when a battle event triggers etc).

The message showing when crashing is 'An unknown exeption has occurred'. I've googled that a bit and it seems this could be linked to other stuff and not GeDoSaTo, but then again, i don't have this problem when playing without GeDoSaTo so i'm pretty positive this is the source of the problem, at least in my case.

Anyway, i tried some "fixes" suggested in steam forum (play offline to prevent cloud syncro, set the FF8 launcher to CPU1 afinity and 'High Priority' from the task manager). It still crashes with GeDoSaTo.

Anyone knows a fix to this? Otherways i'll have to play without GeDoSaTo. That would be a pity, but FF8 with all the mods still looks amazing :)
« Last Edit: 2017-09-12 11:18:21 by Nedus »

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 637
  • Karma: 109
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
Little update on this: after some tests i've realized that GeDoSaTo is causing the game to crash sometimes (in various and different moments, like at the beginning of a cutscene, after saving, when a battle event triggers etc).

The message showing when crashing is 'An unknown exeption has occurred'. I've googled that a bit and it seems this could be linked to other stuff and not GeDoSaTo, but then again, i don't have this problem when playing without GeDoSaTo so i'm pretty positive this is the source of the problem, at least in my case.

Anyway, i tried some "fixes" suggested in steam forum (play offline to prevent cloud syncro, set the FF8 launcher to CPU1 afinity and 'High Priority' from the task manager). It still crashes with GeDoSaTo.

Anyone knows a fix to this? Otherways i'll have to play without GeDoSaTo. That would be a pity, but FF8 with all the mods still looks amazing :)


Try tweaking some of the settings in gedosato... things like 'loadd3dearly' etc.  Then save before a cutscene and see what happens with the different settings.   I've spent HOURS turning things off/on in sequence to get this far... so that's kind of the process.  The one that might actually fix things could be what works for ffxiii, which is the 'force downsampled resolution always' or something to that effect.  Anyway... good luck!

Nedus

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
To be 100% sure the problem is fixed i would need to play for a good ammount of time after each change in the settings (i can't be so lucky to fix it on the first attempt). That could take a lot of time, and spoil the gaming experience in the process. So i think i'll do a couple of tests then i'll just play without gedosato in this run. Thank you anyway :)

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hi, is there any risk for my computer if i disable my UEFI secure boot? I'm interesting with this mod but i don't wnat to take any risk for my computer...