Author Topic: [FF7] Custom Boss Battle Scripting Questions  (Read 1966 times)

Jef

• View Profile
[FF7] Custom Boss Battle Scripting Questions
« on: 2018-02-03 22:35:19 »
Hi, I've started making my own FF7 spinoff game (hopefully one day I can share it with you all), but I've run into a few issues when scripting one of the bosses. I'm pretty new to this, so perhaps I'm missing some obvious stuff. Basically what I want to do is create a boss fight that is along similar lines to the Beatrix battles in FF9. In that, when the "Battle end" condition is met, the boss does one last big attack to wipe out your party, then there's a few lines of dialogue from the boss, then the battle ends.

I've actually made a fair amount of progress here, but there's a couple of hurdles I can't seem to overcome. I'll include a snippet of the script below, but first I'll quickly summarise what I've done so far. So I have the boss call the final attack (to which I've assigned the attack ID 02DD), this is set to reduce each party member's HP to 1. I chose this over death because I couldn't work out how to override the game over sequence (if you even can). Anyway, then I have a few lines of dialogue, and then set the end battle flag (the one that's also used for the Weapon and Sephiroth battles). This is how it looks.

Code: [Select]
12 2070
02 00A0
60 20
61 02DD
93 “Placeholder text 1
60 24
60 00
93 Placeholder text 2”
60 24
60 00
12 2110
02 2110
60 08