Qhimm.com Forums

Miscellaneous Forums => Archive => Topic started by: Phun on 2009-07-24 16:52:11

Title: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-24 16:52:11
Download: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2 (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=M5SPA0BD)
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Aali on 2009-07-24 17:12:27
I just have to ask, whats the point of this? It doesn't do anything useful..
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-25 01:05:00
I just have to ask, whats the point of this? It doesn't do anything useful..

It's a base--the same as Azorbix's Direct3D "Starter Kit"--use it build your own project.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Aali on 2009-07-25 01:10:09
Build what, exactly? :-P

(It's a nice piece of work and I know what I could do with it, but what are your plans? And how does it relate to any of the FF games?)
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Timu Sumisu on 2009-07-25 01:18:20
sorry, i havnt downloaded it or anything, but can you describe what it does?
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-25 01:19:58
Build what, exactly? :-P

(It's a nice piece of work and I know what I could do with it, but what are your plans? And how does it relate to any of the FF games?)

I  hope to accomplish many things, but first and foremost I plan on forcing the game into Windowed mode.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Makubex (Mendelevium) on 2009-07-25 01:32:19
Can you elaborate... how would i use this to change the graphics in FF8?
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Timu Sumisu on 2009-07-25 01:38:47
along with a breif explanation of what direct draw is... i'm kind of busy modeling cait sith to do indepth research.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-25 01:49:04
Can you elaborate... how would i use this to change the graphics in FF8?

http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article960.asp
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-25 03:34:54
Sorry to double post, but I have updated the source to v2.0; now supports the DirectDrawSurface interface.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
Post by: halkun on 2009-07-25 20:09:55
You still didn't answer the question... What are you trying to accomplish with this?
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-26 00:28:39
You still didn't answer the question... What are you trying to accomplish with this?

I just have to ask, whats the point of this? It doesn't do anything useful..

It's a base--the same as Azorbix's Direct3D "Starter Kit"--use it build your own project.

Build what, exactly? :-P

(It's a nice piece of work and I know what I could do with it, but what are your plans? And how does it relate to any of the FF games?)

I  hope to accomplish many things, but first and foremost I plan on forcing the game into Windowed mode.

Right now I am working on adding all the DirectDraw interfaces--DirectX 1 - 7 (DirectDraw, 2, 4, and 7)--to allow support for various (old) games. I am providing this as a community resource, much like a texture/savegame editor, and I do not plan on doing much other than what I've previously stated; I simply do not wish to rely on third party programs like DXWnd. I only wish to provide tools for the Final Fantasy community to work with.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
Post by: halkun on 2009-07-26 02:09:37
Ohhhh, so you can post-process the 3D data.. Gotcha.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
Post by: titeguy3 on 2009-07-26 02:15:36
I see, that's cool.

Unfortunately as far as FFVII is concerned, with high resolution scaling and better looking 3d models, it's the 2d environments that could use some enhancing. (2xSai anyone?)

But i can see how this can be vital in FF8 enhancing...
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-26 03:04:38
I see, that's cool.

Unfortunately as far as FFVII is concerned, with high resolution scaling and better looking 3d models, it's the 2d environments that could use some enhancing. (2xSai anyone?)

But i can see how this can be vital in FF8 enhancing...

It can also be used with Final Fantasy VII, I believe.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-27 03:02:42
After the game executes my IDirectDraw4::CreateSurface hook it makes calls to IDirectDrawSurface4::GetAttachedSurface and IDirectDrawSurface4::GetSurfaceDesc and then closes. I'd very much appreciate it if anyone could provide me with some insight as to why.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Aali on 2009-07-27 03:15:06
It's not using the DirectDraw4 API?
FF7 uses mostly the DirectDraw (no number here) interface.
FF8 only uses the DirectDraw2 interface.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-27 05:57:33
It's not using the DirectDraw4 API?
FF7 uses mostly the DirectDraw (no number here) interface.
FF8 only uses the DirectDraw2 interface.

Are you sure? I've done checks for both 2, 4, and 7. The only one querried was 4, and the VTable wouldn't be redirected if it weren't.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Aali on 2009-07-27 06:02:08
I'm not 100% sure about FF8, but FF7 cannot use DirectDraw4.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-27 06:04:43
I'm not 100% sure about FF8, but FF7 cannot use DirectDraw4.

I haven't tested anything with FFVII. FFVIII does some things with DD and then querries for DD4, at which point it creates a surface and makes two calls (GetAttachedSurface and GetSurfaceDesc) and then closes.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Aali on 2009-07-27 06:14:01
Ooh, those sneaky bastards, it prints "DIRECT DRAW 2" just like FF7 but actually creates a DD4 interface.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-27 06:28:33
Ooh, those sneaky bastards, it prints "DIRECT DRAW 2" just like FF7 but actually creates a DD4 interface.

They probably did a copy/paste of the function used to initialize DirectDraw.
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Phun on 2009-07-28 03:10:13
I have determined the reason as to why FF8.exe closes, but I have yet to figure out why. Does anyone have any theories?

ERROR: 8876000A This surface can not be attached to the requested surface. in FILE C:\lib\src\graphics\directx.cpp LINE 1883
Code: [Select]
0040D58D  |.  FF52 0C       call dword ptr [edx+C]                   ;  IDirectDrawSurface4::AddAttachedSurface
Title: Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
Post by: Goku7 on 2009-07-28 06:07:59
This might be a dumb question, but is it possible to force it to use a different surface?  Considering how FF8 likes to have the screen all to itself, it might be trying to attach to a surface that the windows desktop itself is already using and won't release to FF8.....

....or I could be completely off-base.  I'm a sound guy, not a video guy. :cry: