Author Topic: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions  (Read 580786 times)

Rundas

  • *
  • Posts: 704
  • What do you even do?
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #825 on: 2013-05-12 15:02:41 »
There is no setting for anti aliasing. IIRC it helps with rasterizing of 3D graphics so it wouldn't do much anyway.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3941
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #826 on: 2013-05-12 18:49:03 »
IIRC it helps with rasterizing of 3D graphics so it wouldn't do much anyway.
Well, fairly large chunks of the game are 3D. Characters in fields, pretty much everything in battles or the world map, chocobo races, etc. I can see wanting to do this.

There is no setting for anti aliasing.
Not as such, but you can add the following settings to your config file:

Code: [Select]
internal_size_x = (some number)
internal_size_y = (some number)

Though doing so may cause other rendering issues. If I'm not mistaken, direct multiples of 320x240 are recommended to minimize problems. Aali himself does not usually recommend adding these settings, but it's pretty much the only way to add AA.

Rundas

  • *
  • Posts: 704
  • What do you even do?
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #827 on: 2013-05-12 20:18:26 »
So basically clamping the internal resolution higher than the output resolution. I know that it improves the quality of textures but I didn't know it had the same effect as anti aliasing.

KaidenJames

  • *
  • Posts: 361
  • It's cuz of the !@#$ 'pizza'
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #828 on: 2013-05-12 22:24:34 »
Does the internal size setting need to be a multiple of whatever resolution you're using? For example, I run my game at 1280x720. What should I set my internal size at?

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3941
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #829 on: 2013-05-12 22:36:05 »
Does the internal size setting need to be a multiple of whatever resolution you're using? For example, I run my game at 1280x720. What should I set my internal size at?
Based on your screen resolution:
  • If you want 4xAA with preserve_aspect turned on, I would recommend 3840x2880 (4:3 for your height is 960x720, multiply both numbers by four).
  • If you want 4xAA with preserve_aspect turned off, I would recommend 5120x3840 (4:3 for your width is 1280x960, multiply both numbers by four).
In both cases, the recommended resolution is also a multiple of 320x240. This is important to prevent rounding errors. It does not really need to be a multiple of your screen resolution, but that does make the math a bit easier if you're trying to mimic the AA settings in other modern PC games; the only really important thing is that it's a multiple of 320x240 (the prevent_rounding_errors option normally does this if you don't set internal sizes; it just picks the biggest multiple of 320x240 that's bigger than your window_size).

I should warn you that this is essentially SSAA, the most computationally expensive form of anti-aliasing. It tends to look the best, but it also tends to utterly fail or go too slow on weak enough video cards.
« Last Edit: 2013-05-12 22:37:54 by Covarrfetch'd »

devil996

  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #830 on: 2013-05-12 23:20:12 »
Many thanks, i try...



Mmmm. No, works bad. I didn't see any quality improvement, aliasing still present, and i have little grafic glitch on start screen and menu.



And it seems, to disable some good effect.... for example the splash screen "squaresoft" lose a lot of resolution with these command lines.
« Last Edit: 2013-05-12 23:46:35 by devil996 »

KaidenJames

  • *
  • Posts: 361
  • It's cuz of the !@#$ 'pizza'
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #831 on: 2013-05-12 23:52:34 »
Thanks for the quick reply. I will try this out later and you guys know how it runs   :)

devil996

  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #832 on: 2013-05-13 07:53:42 »
Another question,  my characters on ff8, have almost always, their eyes closed...

Why? It's not normal...

devil996

  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #833 on: 2013-05-15 11:57:26 »

falconbug

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #834 on: 2013-05-16 23:43:10 »
FF8 is crashing for me right after everyone falls asleep on the train (early in game). Screen fades to black, and then I get the "oops something very bad happened" error. Any ideas? Thanks!

The .dmp is here: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-zIjbCDNV3MTUxya0RweXNwam8/edit?usp=sharing

My AppLog reads:


INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF8 1.2 US English
ERROR: failed to set fullscreen mode
INFO: Intel Mobile Intel(R) HD Graphics 3.0.0 - Build 8.15.10.2342
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 4096x4096
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 640x480, output resolution 640x480, internal resolution 640x480
INFO: Shader limits: varying 41, vert uniform 512, frag uniform 1024
INFO: vertex shader compile log:
No errors.
INFO: fragment shader compile log:
No errors.
INFO: main program link log:
No errors.
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZING SOUND...
  initializing direct sound
  EAXDirectSoundCreate
  creating primary buffer
  initializing audio data
  OK
  initializing streaming
SOUND INITIALIZED
DIRECT MUSIC - Enumerating Ports...
PORT 0: Microsoft MIDI Mapper [Emulated]
GUID={0x87a15818,0xc9f9,0x4f27,0x9f,0x66,0x80,0xce,0x1c,0x41,0x4c,0x37}
PORT 1: Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth [Emulated]
GUID={0x2eb332c7,0x24a8,0x4597,0xa4,0xcf,0xf8,0x34,0xc0,0xfe,0x3a,0xf6}
PORT 2: Microsoft Synthesizer
GUID={0x58c2b4d0,0x46e7,0x11d1,0x89,0xac,0x0,0xa0,0xc9,0x5,0x41,0x29}
Creating Port1...
    Microsoft Synthesizer
  Port1 supports XG data
BinkClose
SdMusicPlay ()
sd_music_play (number=0, song_id=79, volume=0)
midi_play...
Stopping Performance
Loading DLS...
Playing Segment
midi_play successful
MIDI stop
SdMusicPlay ()
sd_music_play (number=0, song_id=74, volume=100)
Can't open file: \ff8\data\eng\field\mapdata\te\testbl6\testbl6.sfx
SdMusicPlay ()
sd_music_play (number=0, song_id=4, volume=127)
midi_play...
Stopping Performance
Playing Segment
midi_play successful
ERROR: unhandled exception
« Last Edit: 2013-05-17 02:08:58 by falconbug »

Rundas

  • *
  • Posts: 704
  • What do you even do?
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #835 on: 2013-05-17 00:30:17 »
It looks like theres a bad file in ff8\data\eng\field\mapdata\te\testbl6\

falconbug

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #836 on: 2013-05-18 00:04:35 »
Hrm... that's kinda what I was thinking. Not sure what to do about it, though. I'm actually having a hard time locating the file itself... I've tried reinstalling, checking the patch, etc. Thoughts?

Thanks!

EDIT Well, I kept on digging around and finally found someone who had "sort of" encountered the same problem. I renamed the eax.dll file, and now it seems to be working fine. I'll post back later as to whether or not it holds out -- maybe this can help someone else?
« Last Edit: 2013-05-18 01:12:33 by falconbug »

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #837 on: 2013-05-18 10:11:36 »
If you have an AMD graphics card please read this: Error in AMD Catalyst 13.4

devil996

  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #838 on: 2013-05-18 10:58:42 »
Thanks, but i never had this issue... only sporadic crashes on ff7/8... FF7 works better than 8.

Now i try 13.5 and check the situation.

dkma841

  • *
  • Posts: 1225
  • delete
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #839 on: 2013-05-29 18:49:27 »
Hi Aali,

Is the driver dead?

nomad805

  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #840 on: 2013-05-30 09:50:22 »
i follow all the directions multiple times over and over again and each time i keep getting...failed to load custom driver...it has the new patch and everything i do notice once i take out the eax.dll the game will launch normally but it doesnt load the driver still

dupinguez

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #841 on: 2013-06-12 18:06:39 »
Hi everyone,

I'm new here and new to FF8 modding as well, so sorry if I state something obviously wrong or any other mistake like that.
Since I'm an absolute lover of Nobuo Uematsu's music (I've seen the Distant Worlds show this year in Paris : absolutely amazing ), I've obviously found myself here in no-time while searching for a way to improve the sound quality of my PC-version FF8, since it seemed quite poor compared to the original PSX version.

That's why I've tried the Roses and Wine mod. Before complaining about what's not working (yes, that's why I'm here ^^), I would like first of all to thank warmly everyone who has been working on this project, since it is a great idea, especially DLPB who seems to have spend a lot of time and work on it.

So, here's the problem : I haven't managed to make it work.
A few things first : I have a GeForce 650 twin-frozr and a Windows 7 64 bit.
EDIT : i have the french version installed

In order to install it, I have followed these steps :

1 - installing the game with the original CD

2 - patched it with the 1.2 non geforce version (since I've read here that the geforce version was not necessary)
I've just copied the files in the archive in my installed game folder, replacing the original exe and dll, is that correct?

3 - installed the aali's driver that i've downloaded here : http://backup.ninjaloot.se/share/ff7_opengl-0.7.11b.zip
I've extracted all the files directly into my installed game folder, replacing again what needed to be replaced, if any (don't remember).
I've followed the step described on the last post of this thread : http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=8306.25
EAX unified was already installed by the game on its original installation
I touched nothing on the ff8_opengl.cfg since it didn't seem necessary after reading it.

When I start the game, it crashes immediatly after the Eidos screen title.

Here is the app.log

INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF8 1.2 US English
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce GTX 660/PCIe/SSE2 4.3.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 4
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 640x480, output resolution 640x480, internal resolution 640x480
INFO: Shader limits: varying 124, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 2048
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZING SOUND...
  initializing direct sound
  EAXDirectSoundCreate
  creating primary buffer
  initializing audio data
  OK
  initializing streaming
SOUND INITIALIZED
DIRECT MUSIC - Enumerating Ports...
PORT 0: Microsoft MIDI Mapper [Émulé]
GUID={0xd70853ae,0x7ca9,0x4425,0x9f,0xd4,0xf8,0x3f,0x8f,0x0,0x6d,0x6a}
PORT 1: Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth [Émulé]
GUID={0x29813ec9,0x1787,0x4bbf,0xbd,0x98,0xa3,0x1f,0xe3,0x32,0x40,0x20}
PORT 2: Track16 [Émulé]
GUID={0xa082f2f8,0x72f,0x498d,0x92,0x8b,0x85,0x2,0x8f,0xcc,0x9,0x6b}
PORT 3: Track16 [Émulé]
GUID={0x9a1eb34f,0x6bbd,0x4b80,0xad,0xd9,0xc7,0x86,0x8f,0xf7,0xf6,0x95}
PORT 4: Microsoft Synthesizer
GUID={0x58c2b4d0,0x46e7,0x11d1,0x89,0xac,0x0,0xa0,0xc9,0x5,0x41,0x29}
Creating Port1...
    Microsoft Synthesizer
  Port1 supports XG data
BinkClose
ERROR: COULD NOT OPEN FILE c:\ff8\data\eng\menu\sysfnt.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE c:\ff8\data\eng\menu\sysfnt.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE c:\ff8\data\eng\menu\sysfnt.tim
ERROR: unhandled exception


What am I doing wrong? Thank you in advance!

dupinguez

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #842 on: 2013-06-13 15:53:43 »
Well after correcting a few errors on my end (such as : getting the french 1.2 patch instead of the english one), I now have this "everything is made of light" bug. I would like to download the fix, but link is broken on this thread : http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=12909.0
Does someone have it please?

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #843 on: 2013-06-13 15:58:17 »
As Kranmer said, disable the use shaders option in ff8_opengl.cfg

dupinguez

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #844 on: 2013-06-13 17:08:33 »
Yes! Finally working with the musics! Thank you very much, to you and Kranmer who has been of great help!

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #845 on: 2013-06-14 00:54:20 »
You maybe can use my shader-fix instead disable it...
« Last Edit: 2013-06-14 01:00:10 by Kompass63 »

dupinguez

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #846 on: 2013-06-14 14:28:22 »
Thanks! I'll try it as soon as I get home.
I also noticed a few graphical bugs while playing with Aali's driver on. Not really shocking, but still there.
Does it help if I post them here with screens, app.log and conf file? Or will I just spam for nothing?
« Last Edit: 2013-06-14 14:30:52 by dupinguez »

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #847 on: 2013-06-14 17:25:35 »
If you mean something like that here, you can spare you that.
Otherwise, bring it on ;D

Alkor

  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #848 on: 2013-06-16 18:04:29 »
Hi ppl, not for double posting just past link here: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13715.msg200457#msg200457 any chance to get it work?

dupinguez

  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #849 on: 2013-06-18 08:41:25 »
If you mean something like that here, you can spare you that.
Otherwise, bring it on ;D

Yeah, it's something like that ^^
I also had graphical bugs during fights, is that known as well?