Author Topic: [WIP] Cait Sith Model  (Read 8029 times)

tokomonster

• View Profile
[WIP] Cait Sith Model
« on: 2010-06-16 12:06:31 »
Update:

I've gotten really busy with school and work, and I haven't had a chance to even think about finishing this model. I'm just going to put it out there as is. It would be awesome if someone could texture it, or even improve the model as needed. It was my first 3D model, and I didn't even know how to use Blender when I started, so I'm sure it could use some improvements.

I've included the .blend file, and a .3ds export.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=U34LTDJD

Original:

I originally posted this in the Game Tweaking forum, but someone directed me this way. I'm working on a new Cait Sith. I have it in mind as a battle model.

This is my very first time doing any kind of 3D modeling. I know how to get it from where it is now into the game, but there are still quite a few unknowns.

1. Is there a polygon limit for a model?
2. If so, how do I find the polygon count in Blender?
3. How do I create a decent texture from scratch? I know how to import a picture file, and UV map, but actually creating a texture that looks good escapes me.

Here is the model I have so far.

« Last Edit: 2011-02-18 15:37:24 by tokomonster »

Tidus_654

• View Profile
Re: [WIP] Cait Sith Model
« Reply #1 on: 2010-06-16 13:53:13 »
Looks quite good, but the wings aren't a little bigger than the original one?

tokomonster

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2010-06-16 14:18:41 »
Yes, they are normally smaller. As I said, I did it from scratch. I got them done and realized they were a lot bigger than they should be, but it seemed like a happy accident. I like the way it looks.

I'm no expert, and I haven't actually put it into the game yet, but I can't imagine it will affect anything. On the battle skeleton, the wings are attached the torso. They don't have a joint, so they don't move independently.