Author Topic: Question about FF8 Modding  (Read 247 times)

Fel_Noctus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Question about FF8 Modding
« on: 2017-03-01 21:02:01 »
So I have the 2000 release of FFVIII and was wondering if the Steam version mods would work with it, particularly the Horizons pack mod. If not is there a previous version I can use or something similar? Currently using FF8 Launcher with the OpenGL Drivers. Thanks for the help.

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 564
  • Karma: 95
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
Re: Question about FF8 Modding
« Reply #1 on: 2017-03-02 14:17:43 »
So I have the 2000 release of FFVIII and was wondering if the Steam version mods would work with it, particularly the Horizons pack mod. If not is there a previous version I can use or something similar? Currently using FF8 Launcher with the OpenGL Drivers. Thanks for the help.

Unfortunately, Tonberry is only compatible with the DX version of FF8, and not OpenGL.  The only mod you'll be able to use is SeeDReborn (old version - you'll have to dig for it).

Ansem

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 102
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Question about FF8 Modding
« Reply #2 on: 2017-03-02 17:19:35 »
Unfortunately, Tonberry is only compatible with the DX version of FF8, and not OpenGL.  The only mod you'll be able to use is SeeDReborn (old version - you'll have to dig for it).

While that is true for the most part, you can still use any texture mods with Aali's modpath if you rename the textures to match. I know because I've done this with some of the textures myself. If you can figure out what the textures should be named for the modpath, you could quite easily port them for the 2000 version. I don't know if this method is applicable to textures that are slapped on 3D models, though. I only ever did it for the font and some other menu stuff, I think.

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2023
  • Karma: 118
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Question about FF8 Modding
« Reply #3 on: 2017-03-02 20:15:34 »
Because the menu is supported by the modpath. The rest is not.