Author Topic: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions  (Read 585291 times)

Aali

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #150 on: 2011-09-07 21:01:23 »
Much better.

The game tried to use palette #16 from usfont_a_l which only has 16 palettes (0-15).
I will add some code to prevent things like that from crashing the game but there's obviously something wrong with your .exe.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #151 on: 2011-09-07 22:18:17 »
Thankyou... can you tell me where in memory this occurred?

Aali

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #152 on: 2011-09-07 22:42:56 »
Nope, by the time it reaches the driver its just a list of palettes, no realistic way to tell where it came from.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #153 on: 2011-09-07 23:10:54 »
Ah well, thanks again :)!

crackinglazer

  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • his name is reno and he dances on... thats not it
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #154 on: 2011-09-08 10:59:00 »
kay...

my mini games are running way to fast, and the frame limiters in aali's driver dont appear to be working, when I start the bike game it flashes up something like vsync appears to be forced on... and it disappears to fast to read the rest, I neglected to read the entire thread, so just point me in the right direction if I've missed the answer

cheers

edit

oops, just saw the giant sign on the first post, where do I find my config and app log files?
« Last Edit: 2011-09-08 11:01:18 by crackinglazer »

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #155 on: 2011-09-08 11:36:24 »
Hi crackinglazer,

the config file "ff7_opengl.cfg" and the "APP.LOG" file can be found in your FF7 main directory.

Standard installation directory:

   Windows 32 bit: C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII
   Windows 64 bit: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII

When you use an older version of FF7Music or you are not using the FF7Music-Launcher
"launchff7.exe" you find the "APP.LOG" file here:

   [FF7 main directory]\FF7Music

If you are posting this files, please use the # button and put the text between the ][.
Hit the Preview button to see the result.

crackinglazer

  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • his name is reno and he dances on... thats not it
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #156 on: 2011-09-08 11:50:58 »
alright

config:
Code: [Select]
# ff7_opengl-0.7.10b config file



## USER OPTIONS ##
## If you just want to play the game, these are the only options you'll want to change.

# set the window size (or fullscreen resolution) of FF7
# 0 means use original resolution (whatever ff7.exe provides)
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 1024
window_size_y = 768
preserve_aspect = no
fullscreen = yes

# mod directory
# subdirectroy of mods/ where textures will be loaded from
# does not affect the old external textures feature, those should still go in textures/
mod_path = none

# check your driver settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = yes

# limit snowboard, coaster and highway minigames to refresh rate / 2, i.e. 30fps for a 60hz display mode
# vsync must be enabled and working for this to have any effect
minigame_framelimiter = on

# same thing, but for the battle swirl
battleswirl_framelimiter = on

# allow FF7 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
linear_filter = off

# plugin used to play music, the FF7Music plugin MUST be enabled for FF7Music to work.
# If no music plugin is loaded the game will play MIDI as usual but FF7Music will NOT work.
music_plugin = plugins/ff7music.fgp



## ENHANCEMENTS ##
## All the little extras that weren't part of the original game, default options include only trivial bug fixes.

# make all dialog boxes transparent, same effect as the transparent dialog boxes YAMP patch
transparent_dialogs = off

# allow max hp/mp to go over 9999, same effect as the YAMP patch by dziugo
break_9999limit = yes

# include armor in magic defense calculation
mdef_fix = yes

# expand battle viewport to cover entire screen and make the battle menu transparent
new_battle_interface = off

# post-processing shader, used to apply fullscreen effects
post_source = shaders/bloom2.post
enable_postprocessing = no



## ADVANCED OPTIONS ##
## Don't fiddle with these unless you know what you're doing.

# use shaders, if available and supported
# turn shaders off to use the OpenGL 1.1 backend
use_shaders = yes

# prevent glitches due to rounding errors by rendering in the nearest (larger, if supported)
# multiple of the original resolution and up/down-scaling
prevent_rounding_errors = yes

# enable alpha blending for textures without an existing blending effect
fancy_transparency = on

# display frames per second counter in upper right corner
show_fps = no

# display some real-time debug information
show_stats = no

# store external textures in a compressed cache for increased performance
# compression is not lossless, some artifacts may appear when this option is in use
# texture cache does NOT update automatically if the source image changes, however, deleting anything from the cache
# will cause that file to be recreated from the source
compress_textures = yes

# use pixel buffer objects to speed up texture loading
# will probably crash horribly on ATI cards but should work for NVIDIA users
use_pbo = no

# replace FF7's default framelimiter timer source
use_new_timer = yes

# use a more stable (but less accurate) timer to control FF7's framelimiter
# this option has no effect unless the use_new_timer option is on
use_stable_timer = no

# plugin used to play movies, FFMpeg is the only choice for now
movie_plugin = plugins/ffmpeg_movies.fgp



## MODDER OPTIONS ##
## These options are mostly useful to modders and should not be enabled during normal play.

# read files directly instead of using LGP archives
# for example; if FF7 is looking for aaab.rsd in char.lgp, this option will make it open direct/char/aaab.rsd first,
# if this file doesn't exist it will look for the original in the LGP archive
direct_mode = off

# show every failed attempt at loading a .png texture
show_missing_textures = no


and app log:

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: Intel Intel 945G 1.4.0 - Build 7.14.10.1409
INFO: No OpenGL 2.0 support detected, shaders won't be available
INFO: VBO not supported
INFO: PBO not supported
INFO: Subtractive blending not supported
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: NPOT textures not supported
INFO: Max texture size: 2048x2048
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 640x480, output resolution 640x480, internal resolution 640x480
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: No shaders, codecs with YUV output will be slow.
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
ERROR: could not open file C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\ff7input.cfg
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
INITIALIZING MIDI...
selecting device 0:Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth, mid=1, pid=27,
midi data type: GENERAL MIDI
using midi data file: C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\Data\midi\midi.lgp
midiOutGetVolume returned: ffffffff
MIDI INITIALIZED
set music volume: 127
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
set music volume: 127
MIDI set master volume: 100
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: D:\ff7\movies\eidoslogo.avi; truemotion2/pcm_u8 320x240, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.133333, frames: 152
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
MIDI set volume trans: 127->0; step=60
MIDI stop - OK
MIDI stop - OK
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
MIDI play: 6
reading midi file: MAKORO.mid
current volume: 127
MIDI is playing SUCCESSFULLY!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
WM_CLOSE
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Field Quit
MIDI stop - OK
resetting MIDI driver volume - OK
UNINITIALIZE DD
« Last Edit: 2011-09-09 07:58:05 by crackinglazer »

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2163
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #157 on: 2011-09-08 12:04:12 »
Disable your shaders.

crackinglazer

  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • his name is reno and he dances on... thats not it
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #158 on: 2011-09-08 12:18:24 »
you do meen type no where it says "use_shaders =" in the config?
if so that didn't work

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #159 on: 2011-09-08 20:39:34 »
@crackinglazer: Need more information for analysis.
                          I hope you installed the english version of FF7 with Maximum.
                          Which mods did you install and in which order ?
                          Are you using the Bootleg installer ?

Please be so kind and change your long posting as i had written to you.

   Hit the Modify button of your posting

   Hit the # button
   Now you see this [ code ][/code ]   (i have added some spaces)
   Put the data of your "ff7_opengl.cfg" file between ][

   Hit the # button again
   Now you see this [ code ][/code ]   (i have added some spaces)
   Put the data of your "APP.LOG" file between ][

   Hit the Preview button
   Voila, looks better


Edit: I looked at your postings, i would suggest you use the Bootleg installer
        without the  "Team Avalanche HR" option. Because your system could
        be overloaded with this HighRes mod (especially your graphics card).

   >Click me<  Bootleg installer
   >Click me<  Important informations
« Last Edit: 2012-04-05 08:18:22 by UGerstl »

crackinglazer

  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • his name is reno and he dances on... thats not it
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #160 on: 2011-09-09 08:00:50 »
alright I've neatened up the previous post and I'll try the bootleg installer

edit

so i should download all of those mods?

edit

which mod is suppose to fix the framelimiter?
« Last Edit: 2011-09-09 10:09:04 by crackinglazer »

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #161 on: 2011-09-13 01:23:27 »
Hi crackinglazer,

thanks for clean up.

Please create a new topic in "Troubleshooting" with the following subject:
  "Please help me installing FF7+Bootleg"

As soon as i see this thread, i will answer your questions and
help you installing step by step.
« Last Edit: 2011-09-13 02:47:54 by UGerstl »

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #162 on: 2011-09-14 04:07:29 »
Hi Aali,

i have a question for "ff7_opengl.cfg".

Normally this parameter is correct:  minigame_framelimiter = on  / off
Is this value also correct:                 minigame_framelimiter = yes / no

Greetings from Germany

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #163 on: 2011-09-16 13:08:03 »
Because of some edits I made the driver keeps giving me stuff like "glitch, broken flevel.lgp, do not use lgptools"
thing is, it works fine, I played through the entire game with this flvl.lgp twice and the message is just really annoying and useless but I can't seem to find a way to turn it off.
There are a couple other of these messages and I want them all turned off. after seeing them the 5000th time, it really gets on your nerves.

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #164 on: 2011-09-16 14:15:21 »
Hi KuugenTheFox,

please read my PM i send to you.

Q: There are a couple other of these messages and I want them all turned off.

A: Edit the config file "ff7_opengl.cfg" (which can be found in your FF7 main directory) with
    any text editor (notepad, ...) scroll down to the bottom and add these lines:

      # Disable Error Notifications
      disable_popup = on


   Standard FF7 main directory:

      Windows 32 bit: C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII
      Windows 64 bit: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII


Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #165 on: 2011-09-16 14:38:35 »
thanks, did the trick. I already read the pm. didn't know you wanted some kind of answer to it.
now I'm getting instant crashes if I attach cheatengine ( because its the most comfortable speedhack. if I'm just gonna run circles to grind, I might as well run them faster ) for some reason though

Testing it, it's the disable_popup thing that causes the crash. very weird.
« Last Edit: 2011-09-16 14:43:07 by KuugenTheFox »

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #166 on: 2011-09-16 14:53:34 »
@KuugenTheFox: Yes the PM was important for me.
                             You know, double uploading is forbidden (read the RULES).  ;D

                             Don't know that "cheatengine" thing.
                             Can you send me a link towards it ?

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #167 on: 2011-09-16 19:10:12 »
you don't know cheatengine? are you serious?
http://cheatengine.org/
it's a memory reader / editor that can also inject a ddl to effectively use a speedhack
I usually play ff7 at 5x normal speed when im just walking and 1.25 speed in battle

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #168 on: 2011-09-16 19:25:28 »
@KuugenTheFox: I am not a Cheater.  *cough* *cough*
                            Thanks for the link.
                            I will check it.

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #169 on: 2011-09-16 20:23:45 »
i dont really see using a speedhack as *cheat* per se
Then again, I'm the kind of person who would rob a bank and not even feel a single ounce of guilt

fangzhou

  • Guest
FF8 shader
« Reply #170 on: 2011-09-17 13:20:56 »
hey guys i just want to know how i can fix the "i can't use shaders 2.0" thing..my app log says it detects shaders 2.0 but i can't use it cos its all black when i start the game. i am using nvidia btw if it helps

it is fine when turning shaders off but it's not what i want to see.. so help?

PitBrat

  • *
  • Posts: 1376
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #171 on: 2011-09-17 14:15:18 »
There is a fix that allows the use of shaders on NVIDIA cards.
This alters the way shaders work under certain conditions.

    Xion999's 'everything is made of light' fix for NVIDIA cards:
    Copy and replace the files .\shaders\main.frag and .\shaders\main.vert into .\shaders\nolight\

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #172 on: 2011-09-17 14:59:26 »
@fangzhou:

Edit the config file "ff8_opengl.cfg" (which can be found in your FF8 main directory)
with any text editor (notepad, ...) and check these lines:

            use_shaders       = no
          ( compress_textures = no )


Standard FF8 main directory:

   Windows 32 bit: C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VIII
   Windows 64 bit: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VIII


@PitBrat: I think he is using FF8 (read another post from fangzhou).


Edit: Sorry didn't read that :
           it is fine when turning shaders off but it's not what i want to see.. so help?
« Last Edit: 2011-09-17 15:01:39 by UGerstl »

fangzhou

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #173 on: 2011-09-17 15:19:15 »
thanks PitBrat that did it..i read that fix before but I didn't know it applies to me..so now how do i fine tune the config file to make it look smoother? it is still blocky the background.. i saw the ps3's downloadable FF8 at youtube, the background seems smoother and its on HD....?? and do I need to fill in the "texture" and "mods" folder with some files somehow to make FF8 prettier?

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #174 on: 2011-09-18 06:41:17 »
Hi fangzhou,

i found some topics for you:

>Click me<   FF8 Enhancing {Changeling}
>Click me<   FF8 - Modder's Awakening {Makubex (Mendelevium)}
>Click me<   Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul) {sl1982}

Please make your request in one of them.
« Last Edit: 2012-04-05 08:18:44 by UGerstl »