Author Topic: FF7Music + Xpadder incompatible together?  (Read 5862 times)

Moozhe

FF7Music + Xpadder incompatible together?
« on: 2012-06-25 20:46:27 »
I'm using an Xbox 360 Wirless Controller and the game does natively detect it as a Joystick, however it doesn't respond to the POV-hat directional pad and it treats the left analog joystick as the d-pad.

Therefore I used xpadder to map my POV-hat to keyboard keys and it was working fine.  Then I started using the FF7music mod (which launches the game for me and keeps a console log window open in the background) and xpadder stopped working.  The weird thing is that if I alt+tab out of the game and have it running in the background, it responds to the xpadder commands.  Only when I activate the game window does it stop responding to xpadder.

I tried Joy2Key as well and had the same problem.

As a programmer, I assume that this FF7music launcher is filtering the Windows message queue for the game executable whenever it has focus (it makes a note of WM_ACTIVATEAPP in the console).  Programs like xpadder and Joy2Key both use the Windows message queue to post fake keystrokes to an application window.  For some reason FF7music is blocking these messages.

My questions are:

- Is there a known quick fix to this issue?

- Is the source code for FF7music public so I can try to fix it myself?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

EDIT: FF7Music seems not to be the issue.
« Last Edit: 2012-06-28 02:07:43 by Moozhe »

Kranmer

• View Profile
Re: FF7Music + Xpadder incompatible together?
« Reply #1 on: 2012-06-25 22:11:39 »