Author Topic: FF9 Trouble for editing ennemie's AI  (Read 6673 times)

Nesouk

• View Profile
FF9 Trouble for editing ennemie's AI
« on: 2017-01-09 18:29:46 »
So this is my first post here, so I'm truly sorry if this might be out of the place and also I'm french so I'm sorry if my english isn't very good.

So I'm currently attempting at creating a mod for the PSX version of FFIX (as I don't have access to the steam version for now). I'm using Tirlititi's Hades Workshop general editor, the tool is awesome and for the most part easy to use, I pretty much found everything I've need for and manage to do some interesting things. However I'm kind of struggling with editing ennemies AI, I'm really new to this, thing is I can't figure out how to start, I've looked on internet but can't found something good for starting, I attempted to make some modification but failed for now. 

So I'm asking if someone could provide some help for a good start to understand and edit AI's script ?

Tirlititi

• View Profile
Re: FF9 Trouble for editing ennemie's AI
« Reply #1 on: 2017-01-09 21:08:34 »
Great to see you want to do some mod on your own :)

1st thing : there's a file "LocalVariableSettings_v1.hws" along with the program. Import it so the names of the variables make a bit more sense.
It'll easier to help if you have a specific request. I would then be able to connect it with the general AI system.

Also, looking at those few AI that I commented may help. Lani's might be the closest to the usual AI systems, minus the targeting system which tends to focus only one target. Kraken's AI is highly related to how the tentacles are connected with the main body, Necron's AI is very simple (he loops the pattern Blue Shockwave x3 + Grand Cross + Neutron Ring) but he has 3 assistants to cast spells for him, and Ozma's AI has a few interesting features.
Kraken's AI
Necron's AI
Ozma's AI
Lani's AI

Nesouk

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2017-01-10 10:40:17 »
Thanks I think this will help indeed.