Author Topic: [WIP] Squall CGI model  (Read 3555 times)

Halfer

• View Profile
[WIP] Squall CGI model
« on: 2015-04-03 13:35:21 »
Hello!

First I want to state that I'm not a graphic artist in any way and I like to do 3d stuff in my free time as a hobby mind. I use Blender with cycles rendering engine to make this right now.

I've been working on this model for a long time, I've got the head model for pretty good state and base models for clothes made in the same time. The reason why it has taken so much time to just make these is that since I'm a beginner I did a lot of mistakes in topologies and such and I had to correct the errors in the same time as i pushed going for next parts. Briefly, I rushed in to work before planning properly (something you don't want to do in 3d modelling, learned it through hard way :D).

So some may ask why I even started doing work of this caliber since I'm a beginner. Well I'm really fascinated of Squall's character (and overally all the FF8 characters and sets) and I wanted to see more CGI stuff like FMV's in FF8. However it has only turned out that the visually stunning models used in FF8 FMV's aren't really used in any other Square games as they were in the game. Yes, there is Dissidia but I don't really like the way they turned Squall visually. So that is why I started to work on this replica model. Also, while right now the purpose is to make Squall's CGI replica, I don't plan to just leave it as that but to hopefully use it for making animations with FF8 setting.

So here are some images of the model I've created so far:

So as you can see there's still a LOT to do and I hope that you can give feedback of this and the most important, point out the errors that I have done and if you have experience maybe help me out with the methods that I should know when making this "huge" project.

I try to keep up with the textures to make a better showcases but right now textures are placeholders.