Author Topic: (PSX/PC) FF8 - Adding towns in 4th disc  (Read 6746 times)

Goth

(PSX/PC) FF8 - Adding towns in 4th disc
« on: 2013-08-01 18:23:06 »
How hard would it be to modify the fourth disc deleting the big ending FMV and putting all the towns back in the disc and let them be accessed in the game?
I guess that disabling that blue shield in the world map which doesn't let you go into the cities is pretty easy to do. But inserting the actual content in the 4th disc may be not so easy. I'm just curious about it, I've no knowledge to do that but I would love it, because unless I'm wrong they don't let you enter the cities just because there was no space on disc, so a "patch" to change that would be awesome and it will break the need to do most of the stuff in the 3rd disc as players usually do because they know they will not have the beautiful towns in the 4th one.
Maybe this is easier to do on the PC since the content is all on the hard disk (isn't it? - it's long time I do not play the PC version).
Thanks for any insight.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-01 18:24:58 by Goth »

xLostWingx

• No Comment
    • View Profile
    • FFVII Lost Wing Mod/Hacks
Re: (PSX/PC) FF8 - Adding towns in 4th disc
« Reply #1 on: 2013-08-02 02:08:34 »
Your logic seems sound.  Hopefully there is enough talent involved with FF8 that this will become a reality.

Vgr

• Global moderator
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2013-08-08 18:45:08 »
I didn't answer earlier because I thought someone more knowledgeable would. Guess not.

There is more than enough space on the disk to put all the towns. The reason the towns are locked is because you're not supposed to be able to access them when you're in the temporal compression. From what I understand, it was easier to do that than to create a whole new map stripped of towns and roads. Putting it back might be as simple as disabling/enabling a flag, but it might also be hard (I have no clue on this).

DLPB_