Author Topic: FF8 World Map Texture Update  (Read 10681 times)

Crestian

• View Profile
FF8 World Map Texture Update
« on: 2014-07-20 20:51:59 »
Hello, Ive been following this Site for a while now. I'm a 3D artist by trade and naturally Final Fantasy VIII is my favorite game, so I want to extend my services in improving the game's appearance. My strengths are Modeling and Texturing environments or characters.

I would like to know if anyone has made progress on extracting the World Map textures from FF8, and more importantly would like to know if the textures would be able to be used with Tonberry once they have been updated/upressed/upscaled.

I've had no luck getting the PuPu extractor to work on my PC, (literally have read on all info on being able to extract textures from the ff8 folders but to no avail) so I have retired the idea of extracting them myself.

My perfect scenario would be if someone could find them contact me and allow me to help work on a visual update for the World Map textures.

Thanks, and forgive me if my posting etiquette is awful or just wrong I have never posted before.

EQ2Alyza

• 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: FF8 World Map Texture Update
« Reply #1 on: 2014-07-20 21:05:18 »
I'll see if I can extract them for you. Need a day or two to find some time.

Crestian

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2014-07-20 21:18:21 »
Awesome thanks! I check here a few times a day and work the rest haha.

Also if anyone would need help in modeling/texturing hit me up for either FF7 or FF8.

Kaldarasha

• Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 2014-07-20 21:24:11 »
I'm not sure if only new textures would be enough. Something has gone wrong when they converted the mesh for PC:

Even if this was present in the PSX version, which I doubt it is, we need to fix it somehow. I can imagine that the walkmesh has some bad interactions.