Author Topic: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.50b)  (Read 844684 times)

resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #800 on: 2017-05-17 15:52:33 »
EDIT: learned everything i needed to know
« Last Edit: 2017-05-18 08:20:20 by resinate »

dclem

  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #801 on: 2017-05-18 01:13:05 »
@Tirlititi got this imported and see it changes some variables to words more readable. but still a little.

vivigix

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #802 on: 2017-05-18 09:07:41 »
Fraggoso, thanks for your HD background mod, you done great work.

Tirlititi, there appear a question about compatibility of HW with HD background mod, I tried explore Fields on Environment, but textures of field do not display as they should.
I understand it is because of files replacement. Would you add Fraggoso's HD mod support in future revisions of HW?

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 874
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #803 on: 2017-05-18 10:03:23 »
Yes, I need to implement the compatibility for upscaled textures. I'll do that probably for the next version.
Other than the displaying/exporting of the backgrounds, there should be no problem.

Also, if you want to make a mod compatible with Fraggoso's HD mod, it is quite easy: go to the panel "CIL Code -> Macros -> Custom Backgrounds", then write 64 as a parameter and then click on the "Apply Macro" button. The downside is that your mod will then be compatible only with Fraggoso's mod (or potentially the others that would double the resolution of the backgrounds) and not with the normal backgrounds.

resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #804 on: 2017-05-19 08:30:48 »
Tirlititi found a bug with the editor for psx version. u have no limits on scripts so when u add too many lines in ff9 it breaks other scripts. like i made some mobs unkillable cuz of this.

elberuss

  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #805 on: 2017-05-20 14:02:14 »
Hi Tirlititi! i am a new menber!

In first place, , congratulations for you great GREAT work with tool, i love ffix and i love the possibilities that can be made with your tool  :-D

I've spent the last few days playing with the possibilities of the modding tool and  now, i have a query of type "bugs" that i hope we can resolve ease :

when i edit stats enemy in stem version, how to HP,Def, items drop or steal and Scripts. And i save a new mod steam, this values dont save, only save the battle scene but rest of all dont will be save

note : i try edit stat of party por example And saved correctly (When I play the changes they are reflected)





« Last Edit: 2017-05-20 14:06:40 by elberuss »

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 874
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #806 on: 2017-05-20 15:22:36 »
Hi elberuss,

You're not the first one to tell me that, but that's very strange... I have no problem at all changing enemy stats.
Are you sure you replace the files p0data2.bin and p0data7.bin after saving Steam Mod? And you replace the game's files by them?

Which enemies do you try to modify?

dclem

  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #807 on: 2017-05-20 22:58:04 »
Will there be an ETA on an update with HW?

resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #808 on: 2017-05-21 04:02:21 »
its not changing stats its changing the scripts adding few lines for hp system. and its on the psx version not on steam one

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 874
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #809 on: 2017-05-21 11:35:53 »
I'll look into your problem resinate, but there should be a script limit for PSX. There was an efficient one at some point at least, but maybe I fuzzed with it somehow.

elberuss

  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #810 on: 2017-05-21 12:10:29 »
Hi elberuss,

You're not the first one to tell me that, but that's very strange... I have no problem at all changing enemy stats.
Are you sure you replace the files p0data2.bin and p0data7.bin after saving Steam Mod? And you replace the game's files by them?

Which enemies do you try to modify?

Thank you for taking a moment for this problem :)

Yeah, i replace the steam game files p0data2.bin and p0data7.bin for me mod steam save files. In fact, If I modify anything else sections (as : party, items, inventory) the changes they are reflected in game play. At the moment i try edit stats of:  masked man (baku), mu, fang ... (the first enemys of the game)  and only save the battle scene,but the rest of all changes not reflected in the game play.

PS. i am modder and a software programmer (javascript, phyton, c++  :roll:),  if I can be useful you with anything only tell me ;)


resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #811 on: 2017-05-21 17:43:10 »
heres a video of a nasty script bug i found in your editor causing my bosses to have infinite HP

https://www.twitch.tv/videos/146000744

quick sum up:
when i put this in:
    if ( #( SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] <=$ 10000 ) && ( VAR_LocUInt8_60 <= 5 ) ) {
        set VAR_LocUInt8_60++
        set SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] =$ FirstOf(SV_FunctionEnemy[MAX_HP])
    }

it reverts to this bugged version:
    if ( #( ( SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] <=$ 10000 ) && ( VAR_LocUInt8_60 <= 5 ) ) ) {
        set VAR_LocUInt8_60++
        set SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] =$ FirstOf(SV_FunctionEnemy[MAX_HP])
    }
« Last Edit: 2017-05-21 19:50:32 by resinate »

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 874
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #812 on: 2017-05-21 23:17:23 »
Use this instead:
Code: [Select]
    if ( (#( SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] <=$ 10000 )) && ( VAR_LocUInt8_60 <= 5 ) ) {
        set VAR_LocUInt8_60++
        set SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] =$ FirstOf(SV_FunctionEnemy[MAX_HP])
    }
Sorry, the operator's parser is totally dumb (it has no concern for the operation's priorities). It will be fixed eventually but until then, you'll need to write a lot of parentheses.

resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #813 on: 2017-05-21 23:51:53 »
ok i found out dont use var int8_60 its being used for frog counts use int8_80 its not used at all in game
« Last Edit: 2017-05-22 02:15:08 by resinate »

dclem

  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #814 on: 2017-05-24 05:37:31 »
Tirlititi, three questions.
1. You know Freya's broken Jump Spear-Trance? How she doesn't even jump in the air and remain in the air and rain spears until her trance is over. Is there a way to fix this?

2. Is there a way to change default names in steam version?

3. Is it possible to add enemy health bars?
« Last Edit: 2017-05-24 12:54:09 by dclem »

resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #815 on: 2017-05-25 06:38:44 »
i used a timer to tell how many counters i used per 50k hp

heres an example of what i did:

under INIT where all variables are assgined i added these at the end
    set VAR_LocUInt8_80 = 5
    ChangeTimerTime(VAR_LocUInt8_60 * 60) 1 counter per 1 min since we can use upto 99 counters
    ShowTimer( 1 )

under loop or counter i did this

    if ( #( SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] <=$ 10000 ) ) {
        if ( VAR_LocUInt8_80 > 0 ) {
            set VAR_LocUInt8_80--
            ChangeTimerTime(VAR_LocUInt8_60 * 60) 1 counter per 1 min since we can use upto 99 counters
            set SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] =$ FirstOf(SV_FunctionEnemy[MAX_HP])
        } else {
             if ( #( SV_FunctionEnemy[HP] ==$ 0 ) ) {
                  ShowTimer( 0 ) 1=true:0=false
             }
        }
    }



i use a substract system so u know when timer is at 0:00 u know hes on his last life
with it ending every battle at 0 u dont have to reset it back to 0 every battle u can simply re-use it. dont use VAR_LocUInt8_60 cuz this controls number of frogs in game

only thing i wanna learn is how to ID attacks so i can add special attacks when a life is consumed


« Last Edit: 2017-05-25 06:46:13 by resinate »

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 874
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #816 on: 2017-05-25 18:07:03 »
@resinate: frog catching can be accessed through "GetFrogAmount" but not through a local variables.
Reminder (this is in the help):
- Local variables area of effect is an entry. Outside that entry, a local variable can't be accessed and trying to do so will access to another local variables instead. The number of local variables (or moreover the allocation size for them) is specified by "allocate N" in the local variable panel.
- Global variables area of effect is a script. Be it a field script, a battle script (AI) or a world map script, it's a kind of variables that are shared by all the entries but not usable for long-term systems.
- General variables are shared along the whole game and also saved in Memory card / Steam saves.

I finally understood parts of your last post, but it's hard... "how to ID attacks" doesn't mean anything. I guess you mean you want to have scripted attacks like, let's say, Beatrix's ending moves, right?
You need to check how it's done in those battles (I can't check it myself right now). It mainly consists of:
1) Pausing the battle and hide the UI (some "RunBattleCode"),
2) A call to "AttackSpecial",
3) Ending the battle, optionnally flagging the enemy as defeated ("set SV_FunctionEnemy[DEFEATED_ON] =$ 1").
Another important thing for you to look at is the special attack's animation sequencing. It's inside it that you find the pieces of dialogs, which spell animation is performed, etc...

@dclem
1. That's not a bug. Freya's trance works like this.
2. You can't change them using Hades Workshop yet, but you can do it with Memoria (it's in the function "CharacterDefaultName" of the file "FF9TextTool.cs").
3. Not with HW neither. That's changing the engine quite a bit and can be done with Memoria as well, but chances are that I'll never include such a feature in HW.

dclem

  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #817 on: 2017-05-25 20:07:54 »
Wow! Memoria can do many extraordinary things.
No bigge about the health bars. But hopefully the default name change will come to HW soon.  :)

And Freya's trance's supposed to work like this?
But on psx, she jumps in the air and stays there raining spears until her trance is over.
Is that what was intended to be done in steam version? Her not jumping in the air and remaining there?

I'm quite baffled it was meant to be this way in steam.  :-\

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 874
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #818 on: 2017-05-25 21:21:59 »
Oh? I didn't spot that bug... It should do the same as in the PSX version.

dclem

  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #819 on: 2017-05-25 21:30:11 »
Yeah! Another bug Silicon Studios created!

resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #820 on: 2017-05-25 23:13:26 »
Tirlititi u need to fix the psx limition u set it too low for item helps, if u dump clean items table and reimport it its flagged for not enough room to apply item texts

so now i went thru and deleted ALL item/key item text from patch and it loads up empty but in game all the key items still have random bits of text.

i think the editor might be bugged out really bad.... wish there was an ezer way to talk to you
« Last Edit: 2017-05-26 09:44:20 by resinate »

dclem

  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #821 on: 2017-05-26 11:33:27 »
No, no. You don't force him to make a change with anything. When he gets the time on his terms and deems it necessary, he will make the change.
But he is not a slave to anyone's command.
That's with anyone and their mod, too. (Me three)

Instead of "need", how about: "will there be" a fix for the psx limitation.

resinate

  • *
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #822 on: 2017-05-27 04:08:44 »
EDIT
« Last Edit: 2017-05-28 06:31:52 by resinate »

gorildo

  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #823 on: 2017-05-30 16:39:06 »
I was thinking of playing ff9 again but I lost my last mod. It had very few changes, but most importantly the script mods for the chars joining at lvl1. I noticed the script editor has been updated, some variables have different names now.

I was checking out the Lindblum Conference Room (it's the only lvl 1 script I dont have, the older ones from vivigix I have saved), and I noticed this SetCharacterData function, and now there's this Update Level flag. Does it have anything to do with that?

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 874
    • View Profile
Re: [FF9] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.37c)
« Reply #824 on: 2017-05-30 17:16:50 »
If the "update level" flag is checked, the character's lvl is updated to the average level of the current party members (the ones added through "SetPartyReserve"). Else, the level doesn't change (I guess it's initialized to 1 but not sure).

@Resinate: Thank you for reporting this bug. The PSX version is not my priority, but I'll check that eventually.