Author Topic: Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]  (Read 759701 times)

Harruzame

  • *
  • Posts: 473
  • Mondai Nai....
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1300 on: 2009-09-04 01:09:33 »
I got the same prob as Eslava..Like when TIFA does her limit break the SFX leaves a somewhat shadow of the EFX making it look like an aftermath of..idk!..?


Also when I use other MODELS some textures don't work its (in the app.log) Can this be fixed?....

Costa07

  • *
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1301 on: 2009-09-05 00:31:43 »
Hey can some one explain to me how to use this divers texture injections to use instead of the original texture

Costa07

  • *
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1302 on: 2009-09-05 07:56:44 »
Sry to double post but i think i almost got this figured out but now when i start up instead of it being white where the texture should be its black and app log says this

[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Scene# 300
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE
GLITCH: unsupported texture format

instead of when it used to say it couldn't find it but now y is it saying unsupported texture format

Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1303 on: 2009-09-06 20:01:57 »
Alright. I have spent all day trying to get your drivers to work on my computer without internet. It is in my front room... lol, not that it matters.
Here is the thing, i get the drivers working just fine. Configured and everything.
But the FMVs and the Game itself runs at a far, emphasis on FAR slower rate than it usual does. Take the opening FMV for example, it takes about two minutes, right? Try about twenty for me. However it works perfectly with saint's hi resolution patch. Normally I would be content with what i had, but with all these new mods coming out, that need these drivers as a base, I kind of need these drivers. lol.

Okay time for system specs:




And just to top it all off, here is my how my configuration file looks:

# ff7_opengl config file

# use shaders, if available and supported
# turn shaders off to use the OpenGL 1.1 backend
use_shaders = yes

# plugins
# a movie plugin is required, the music plugin is optional, but required to make FF7Music work
movie_plugin = plugins/ffmpeg_movies.fgp
#music_plugin = plugins/ff7music.fgp

# vertex and fragment shaders
vert_source = shaders/main.vert
frag_source = shaders/main.frag

# post-processing shader, used to apply fullscreen effects
post_source = shaders/bloom2.post
enable_postprocessing = no

# display frames per second counter in upper right corner
show_fps = no

# display some real-time debug information
show_stats = no

# set the window size (and fullscreen resolution) of FF7
# 0 means use original resolution (whatever ff7.exe provides)
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 640
window_size_y = 480
preserve_aspect = yes
fullscreen = no

# prevent glitches due to rounding errors by rendering in the nearest (larger, if supported)
# multiple of the original resolution and up/down-scaling
prevent_rounding_errors = yes

# check your driver settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = yes

# limit snowboard, coaster and highway minigames to refresh rate / 2, i.e. 30fps for a 60hz display mode
# vsync must be enabled and working for this to have any effect
minigame_framelimiter = on

# same thing, but for the battle swirl
battleswirl_framelimiter = off

# replace FF7's default framelimiter timer source
use_new_timer = yes

# use a more stable (but less accurate) timer to control FF7's framelimiter
# this option has no effect unless the use_new_timer option is on
use_stable_timer = no

# allow FF7 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
linear_filter = off

# read files directly instead of using LGP archives
# this option requires you to have all your LGP archives unpacked in direct/, with one folder for each archive
# for example; if FF7 is looking for aaab.rsd in char.lgp, this option will make it open direct/char/aaab.rsd instead
# this option should be used for testing only, performance will take a hit
direct_mode = off


Maybe the setting are too high for the computer. I don't know. There is no crash log or anything. So I can't post that for further analysis. Lol.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Soul_Torn

AlbusJC

  • *
  • Posts: 120
  • If you really love something let it go
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1304 on: 2009-09-06 21:36:50 »
I had the same problem that you. Put use_shaders in not and try again. good luck  :wink:

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3941
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1305 on: 2009-09-07 01:09:06 »
The GeForce FX 5500 does not support OpenGL 2.0, so setting "use_shaders = no" should fix your problem.

Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1306 on: 2009-09-07 03:25:50 »
It did not. it still likes like crazy. -.-

alright. well i messed with it a bit more.

here is my app log:

INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r19334, Copyright (c) 2000-2009 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce FX 5500/PCI/SSE2 2.1.2
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 980x720, output resolution 980x720, internal resolution 1280x960
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
ERROR: COULD NOT OPEN FILE C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\ff7input.cfg
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
INITIALIZING MIDI...
selecting device 0:Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth, mid=1, pid=102,
midi data type: YAMAHA XG MIDI
using midi data file: C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\Data\midi\xg.lgp
midiOutGetVolume returned: ffffffff
MIDI INITIALIZED
set music volume: 127
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
set music volume: 127
MIDI set master volume: 100
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: H:\FF7\Movies\eidoslogo.avi; truemotion2/pcm_u8 320x240, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.133333, frames: 152
WM_CLOSE
END OF CREDITS!!!
Field Quit
MIDI stop - OK
resetting MIDI driver volume - OK
UNINITIALIZE DD
END UNINITIALIZE DD


here are my parameters:

# ff7_opengl config file

# use shaders, if available and supported
# turn shaders off to use the OpenGL 1.1 backend
use_shaders = no

# plugins
# a movie plugin is required, the music plugin is optional, but required to make FF7Music work
movie_plugin = plugins/ffmpeg_movies.fgp
#music_plugin = plugins/ff7music.fgp

# vertex and fragment shaders
vert_source = shaders/main.vert
frag_source = shaders/main.frag

# post-processing shader, used to apply fullscreen effects
post_source = shaders/bloom2.post
enable_postprocessing = no

# display frames per second counter in upper right corner
show_fps = no

# display some real-time debug information
show_stats = no

# set the window size (and fullscreen resolution) of FF7
# 0 means use original resolution (whatever ff7.exe provides)
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 980
window_size_y = 720
preserve_aspect = no
fullscreen = no

# prevent glitches due to rounding errors by rendering in the nearest (larger, if supported)
# multiple of the original resolution and up/down-scaling
prevent_rounding_errors = yes

# check your driver settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = yes

# limit snowboard, coaster and highway minigames to refresh rate / 2, i.e. 30fps for a 60hz display mode
# vsync must be enabled and working for this to have any effect
minigame_framelimiter = on

# same thing, but for the battle swirl
battleswirl_framelimiter = on

# replace FF7's default framelimiter timer source
use_new_timer = no

# use a more stable (but less accurate) timer to control FF7's framelimiter
# this option has no effect unless the use_new_timer option is on
use_stable_timer = no

# allow FF7 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
linear_filter = off

# read files directly instead of using LGP archives
# this option requires you to have all your LGP archives unpacked in direct/, with one folder for each archive
# for example; if FF7 is looking for aaab.rsd in char.lgp, this option will make it open direct/char/aaab.rsd instead
# this option should be used for testing only, performance will take a hit
direct_mode = off


and the game lags just the same... i have the shaders turned off. and it still lags.
-.-

the funny thing is.. it says in the app log that i finished the eidos logo movie.... when i never do.
And i never have a chance to quit from field... i always end up having to hit alt-F4, before the logo fmv is even over....
« Last Edit: 2009-09-07 03:29:06 by Soul_Torn »

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3941
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1307 on: 2009-09-07 04:00:08 »
The only other thing I can think of is to make sure your video card drivers are up to date.

I can't help but wonder why you'd put an outdated video card in the same machine as a 3GHz dual core processor, though.

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1308 on: 2009-09-07 04:03:24 »
Need help finding out out why a model crashes in game...

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6E0VGRIH

Crash.dmp for anyone who can open/read it. Cause i can't

Thanks in advance.

Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1309 on: 2009-09-07 04:04:48 »
its my moms PC... we are poor.. and that is the left overs from out last computer... the funny thing is its way better than the graphics card i have on my vista... but the shaders work on vista...

it all works on vista...


[newb question alert!]


and how do i upgrade the drivers to a computer without internet?
« Last Edit: 2009-09-07 04:42:06 by Soul_Torn »

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3764
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1310 on: 2009-09-07 05:04:19 »
its my moms PC... we are poor.. and that is the left overs from out last computer... the funny thing is its way better than the graphics card i have on my vista... but the shaders work on vista...

it all works on vista...


[newb question alert!]


and how do i upgrade the drivers to a computer without internet?

download the drivers on a computer with internet and put them on a flash drive

Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1311 on: 2009-09-07 05:12:40 »
wow...  i feel stupid. I should have been able to guess that. its probably due to my 2 hours of sleep last night...
thanks i will report whether it works or not tomorrow. If it does.. YAY.
if not.... my computer is screwy. :(.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1312 on: 2009-09-07 07:20:28 »
Soul_Torn:
You have two options, either turn off prevent_rounding_errors or set your resolution to an even multiple of 640x480. That will give you a big boost.

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1313 on: 2009-09-07 07:35:01 »
how do u put epsxe custom shaders in? can someone plz help me with my problem?  :-(

titeguy3

  • *
  • Posts: 1283
  • A jack of all trades
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1314 on: 2009-09-07 07:57:19 »
how do u put epsxe custom shaders in? can someone plz help me with my problem?  :-(

ddmosho, I looked into this, and the official way to do it would be to take the .slf file, rename it to .frag, take the .slv file, rename it to .vert, put them in the \shaders folder, and set them as the frag_source and the vert_source in Aali's ff7_opengl.cfg file, but this causes all kinds of things to screw up. The only way I've managed to get any kind of non f-ed up results is when I take the .slf file, rename it to .post, put it in the \shaders folder, and set it as the post_source, then turn postprocessing on, but this doesn't make it look the way it's supposed to. I'm not sure if doing it the right way isn't working because the shaders are incompatible somehow, or if Aali's driver doesn't support them, or if I'm just going about it wrong. At any rate, the best person to ask would be Aali, so if you aren't getting a response, try PMing him your question and provide a link to a specific shader that you'd like to get working (you can find em online pretty easily), and if he can't help you, it's a futile effort.
« Last Edit: 2009-09-07 07:59:23 by titeguy3 »

KaOSoFt

  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1315 on: 2009-09-07 13:33:56 »
Could someone please send me their ff7input.cfg file...? I accidentally deleted it while trying to make FF7 work on Windows 7...

Thanks in advance...

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1316 on: 2009-09-07 14:33:11 »
ddmosho, I looked into this, and the official way to do it would be to take the .slf file, rename it to .frag, take the .slv file, rename it to .vert, put them in the \shaders folder, and set them as the frag_source and the vert_source in Aali's ff7_opengl.cfg file, but this causes all kinds of things to screw up. The only way I've managed to get any kind of non f-ed up results is when I take the .slf file, rename it to .post, put it in the \shaders folder, and set it as the post_source, then turn postprocessing on, but this doesn't make it look the way it's supposed to. I'm not sure if doing it the right way isn't working because the shaders are incompatible somehow, or if Aali's driver doesn't support them, or if I'm just going about it wrong. At any rate, the best person to ask would be Aali, so if you aren't getting a response, try PMing him your question and provide a link to a specific shader that you'd like to get working (you can find em online pretty easily), and if he can't help you, it's a futile effort.

Or, perhaps it's because doing it "the right way" is actually horribly and awfully wrong.
The driver does not support shaders for pete's GL plugins out of the box, and it never will.
If you don't know anything about GLSL you shouldn't be messing with the shaders.

titeguy3

  • *
  • Posts: 1283
  • A jack of all trades
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1317 on: 2009-09-07 16:00:41 »
Or, perhaps it's because doing it "the right way" is actually horribly and awfully wrong.
The driver does not support shaders for pete's GL plugins out of the box, and it never will.
If you don't know anything about GLSL you shouldn't be messing with the shaders.

I knew you'd flame me for fuxing with the shaders at random, but hell. Least I got a definitive answer outta ya.

Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1318 on: 2009-09-07 19:15:58 »
Soul_Torn:
You have two options, either turn off prevent_rounding_errors or set your resolution to an even multiple of 640x480. That will give you a big boost.

This worked wonders. The drivers are working perfectly. But now, my FF7 music  isn't working... no music is being played even when its running?
I think it has something to do with that plug in of yours. -.-

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1319 on: 2009-09-07 19:52:30 »
are there any other shaders that you know of that would work on your driver Aali?

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3764
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1320 on: 2009-09-07 20:12:42 »
Soul_Torn:
You have two options, either turn off prevent_rounding_errors or set your resolution to an even multiple of 640x480. That will give you a big boost.

This worked wonders. The drivers are working perfectly. But now, my FF7 music  isn't working... no music is being played even when its running?
I think it has something to do with that plug in of yours. -.-
open up the config file and remove the # that is in front of the music_plugin

pyrozen

  • *
  • Posts: 791
  • Team Avalanche Member
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1321 on: 2009-09-07 21:10:01 »




I am also getting this error sometimes.  I had it happen while in the Ancient Forest, fighting those skinny sticks things.  Whenver they would cast Autumn Leaves, it would cause all of the shadows to begin acting strangly.  It goes away after the battle though.

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1322 on: 2009-09-07 21:38:04 »
hey Aali so what custom shaders do happen to work on your driver?

Harruzame

  • *
  • Posts: 473
  • Mondai Nai....
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1323 on: 2009-09-08 06:13:29 »
hey Aali so what custom shaders do happen to work on your driver?


Yeah that's what those folders are there for right?

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #1324 on: 2009-09-08 14:35:13 »
The ones that were written for it.