Author Topic: Has a FFVII Voice-Over Project ever been attempted?  (Read 35909 times)

ff7heart

I can guess that it would be a mammoth project if anyone ever thought about doing it! But yeah, just wondering if you've ever heard of anyone even mention such a project before? I know we all have the possibility of a remake to look forward to, but in any case, that seems a long way off!
Would such a project be possible? I mean, technically? I'm new to the entire mod/patch etc scene, but would it be possible to include voice overs? Hmmm... I wonder!
If I wasn't a 16 year old kid with exam-overdrive to contend with, I might have actually thought about starting this up.
It would have collapsed within hours, of course, but hey, I'm the eternal optimist :]

*:.Griever.:*

• Formerly Tidus_Lionheart
    • View Profile
Re: Has a FFVII Voice-Over Project ever been attempted?
« Reply #1 on: 2008-05-24 13:40:11 »
Wouldn't that be imposiblle?
What with FFVII havign all it's files already, wouldn't it require creating new files/archives, and packing them into the games directory?
I just ask because I would think that would make the game incapable of running.
Something no one would surely EVER want. :-)

Sefurosu

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 2008-05-24 13:56:27 »
If you could could make it run like ff7 music, outside the actual game, where it just intercepts, say, the level data and uses that to select what file to use, it should be semi-possible. Not realistic, but possible.

obesebear

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 2008-05-24 15:23:29 »
It theoretically could work I'm sure.  But there would most likely be some terrible loading times.

Izban

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 2008-05-24 23:24:23 »
well its quite possible all you really have to do is get the map files and get them to trigger a noise and you make that noise the speech.