Author Topic: FF7 Workshop-ish Site  (Read 20382 times)

saftle

• View Profile
FF7 Workshop-ish Site
« on: 2013-07-01 22:43:01 »
I hope that I don't get any hate for this. It is a genuine question, and am wondering how the mod developers and the owners/moderators of this site would feel about this.

I'm a pretty good developer and have pretty extensive knowledge in automating installer builds, and given what Pitbrat has done with his Bootleg setup, I think it would be definitely doable to create a Workshop like website featuring all the mods here, that will automate the install process using a web front end.

Imagine a gridlike website similar to Steam's Workshop that showcases all the mods that are available. Mod information, screenshots, author information, donate button for the authors of that given mod, automatic notification of a mod update etc.

Once a user chooses the mods he wants, it will auto create an installer based on those mods chosen that will possibly download the mods automatically, create the Bootleg profile automatically, and then launch the Bootleg installer in the background. Of course I'm only using Pitbrat's Bootleg as an example.

It will give more credit to the author's, and in all honesty make the whole process a bit more streamlined. It will inevitably also bring more mod developers to the scene as well. Of course the development scene would remain at Qhimm in order to filter out the non-developers and non-contributors.

Something like this will definitely boost awareness of these awesome mods, and potentially show Square-Enix the demand for such a setup.

This has just been one of those projects that I've been dying to do since I ran across these forums, and would love to contribute in this way. Feedback is more than welcome! :)

Edit: Here is my quick thrown together concept: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=14383.msg201183#msg201183
« Last Edit: 2013-07-02 19:54:01 by saftle »

Rundas

• What do you even do?
    • View Profile