Author Topic: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2  (Read 16147 times)

Phun

  • Guest
DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« on: 2009-07-24 16:52:11 »
« Last Edit: 2009-07-29 07:13:57 by Phun »

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #1 on: 2009-07-24 17:12:27 »
I just have to ask, whats the point of this? It doesn't do anything useful..

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #2 on: 2009-07-25 01:05:00 »
I just have to ask, whats the point of this? It doesn't do anything useful..

It's a base--the same as Azorbix's Direct3D "Starter Kit"--use it build your own project.
« Last Edit: 2009-07-25 03:28:46 by Phun »

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #3 on: 2009-07-25 01:10:09 »
Build what, exactly? :-P

(It's a nice piece of work and I know what I could do with it, but what are your plans? And how does it relate to any of the FF games?)

Timu Sumisu

  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #4 on: 2009-07-25 01:18:20 »
sorry, i havnt downloaded it or anything, but can you describe what it does?

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #5 on: 2009-07-25 01:19:58 »
Build what, exactly? :-P

(It's a nice piece of work and I know what I could do with it, but what are your plans? And how does it relate to any of the FF games?)

I  hope to accomplish many things, but first and foremost I plan on forcing the game into Windowed mode.
« Last Edit: 2009-07-25 03:29:57 by Phun »

Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #6 on: 2009-07-25 01:32:19 »
Can you elaborate... how would i use this to change the graphics in FF8?

Timu Sumisu

  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #7 on: 2009-07-25 01:38:47 »
along with a breif explanation of what direct draw is... i'm kind of busy modeling cait sith to do indepth research.

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #8 on: 2009-07-25 01:49:04 »
Can you elaborate... how would i use this to change the graphics in FF8?

http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article960.asp
« Last Edit: 2009-07-25 09:44:04 by Phun »

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper
« Reply #9 on: 2009-07-25 03:34:54 »
Sorry to double post, but I have updated the source to v2.0; now supports the DirectDrawSurface interface.
« Last Edit: 2009-07-25 08:05:56 by Phun »

halkun

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2097
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
« Reply #10 on: 2009-07-25 20:09:55 »
You still didn't answer the question... What are you trying to accomplish with this?

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
« Reply #11 on: 2009-07-26 00:28:39 »
You still didn't answer the question... What are you trying to accomplish with this?

I just have to ask, whats the point of this? It doesn't do anything useful..

It's a base--the same as Azorbix's Direct3D "Starter Kit"--use it build your own project.

Build what, exactly? :-P

(It's a nice piece of work and I know what I could do with it, but what are your plans? And how does it relate to any of the FF games?)

I  hope to accomplish many things, but first and foremost I plan on forcing the game into Windowed mode.

Right now I am working on adding all the DirectDraw interfaces--DirectX 1 - 7 (DirectDraw, 2, 4, and 7)--to allow support for various (old) games. I am providing this as a community resource, much like a texture/savegame editor, and I do not plan on doing much other than what I've previously stated; I simply do not wish to rely on third party programs like DXWnd. I only wish to provide tools for the Final Fantasy community to work with.

halkun

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2097
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
« Reply #12 on: 2009-07-26 02:09:37 »
Ohhhh, so you can post-process the 3D data.. Gotcha.

titeguy3

  • *
  • Posts: 1283
  • A jack of all trades
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
« Reply #13 on: 2009-07-26 02:15:36 »
I see, that's cool.

Unfortunately as far as FFVII is concerned, with high resolution scaling and better looking 3d models, it's the 2d environments that could use some enhancing. (2xSai anyone?)

But i can see how this can be vital in FF8 enhancing...

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper v2.0
« Reply #14 on: 2009-07-26 03:04:38 »
I see, that's cool.

Unfortunately as far as FFVII is concerned, with high resolution scaling and better looking 3d models, it's the 2d environments that could use some enhancing. (2xSai anyone?)

But i can see how this can be vital in FF8 enhancing...

It can also be used with Final Fantasy VII, I believe.
« Last Edit: 2009-07-26 05:47:34 by Phun »

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #15 on: 2009-07-27 03:02:42 »
After the game executes my IDirectDraw4::CreateSurface hook it makes calls to IDirectDrawSurface4::GetAttachedSurface and IDirectDrawSurface4::GetSurfaceDesc and then closes. I'd very much appreciate it if anyone could provide me with some insight as to why.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #16 on: 2009-07-27 03:15:06 »
It's not using the DirectDraw4 API?
FF7 uses mostly the DirectDraw (no number here) interface.
FF8 only uses the DirectDraw2 interface.

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #17 on: 2009-07-27 05:57:33 »
It's not using the DirectDraw4 API?
FF7 uses mostly the DirectDraw (no number here) interface.
FF8 only uses the DirectDraw2 interface.

Are you sure? I've done checks for both 2, 4, and 7. The only one querried was 4, and the VTable wouldn't be redirected if it weren't.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #18 on: 2009-07-27 06:02:08 »
I'm not 100% sure about FF8, but FF7 cannot use DirectDraw4.

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #19 on: 2009-07-27 06:04:43 »
I'm not 100% sure about FF8, but FF7 cannot use DirectDraw4.

I haven't tested anything with FFVII. FFVIII does some things with DD and then querries for DD4, at which point it creates a surface and makes two calls (GetAttachedSurface and GetSurfaceDesc) and then closes.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #20 on: 2009-07-27 06:14:01 »
Ooh, those sneaky bastards, it prints "DIRECT DRAW 2" just like FF7 but actually creates a DD4 interface.

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #21 on: 2009-07-27 06:28:33 »
Ooh, those sneaky bastards, it prints "DIRECT DRAW 2" just like FF7 but actually creates a DD4 interface.

They probably did a copy/paste of the function used to initialize DirectDraw.

Phun

  • Guest
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #22 on: 2009-07-28 03:10:13 »
I have determined the reason as to why FF8.exe closes, but I have yet to figure out why. Does anyone have any theories?

ERROR: 8876000A This surface can not be attached to the requested surface. in FILE C:\lib\src\graphics\directx.cpp LINE 1883
Code: [Select]
0040D58D  |.  FF52 0C       call dword ptr [edx+C]                   ;  IDirectDrawSurface4::AddAttachedSurface
« Last Edit: 2009-07-28 03:59:38 by Phun »

Goku7

  • *
  • Posts: 1301
    • View Profile
Re: DirectDraw Wrapper 1.2
« Reply #23 on: 2009-07-28 06:07:59 »
This might be a dumb question, but is it possible to force it to use a different surface?  Considering how FF8 likes to have the screen all to itself, it might be trying to attach to a surface that the windows desktop itself is already using and won't release to FF8.....

....or I could be completely off-base.  I'm a sound guy, not a video guy. :cry: