Author Topic: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions  (Read 580873 times)

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #275 on: 2011-12-19 00:20:52 »
That still doesn't explain why most people myself included have no issues with dep?

Aali

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #276 on: 2011-12-19 08:02:27 »
Most people dont have DEP enabled for regular applications.

Some people dont even have DEP capable hardware.

halored

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #277 on: 2011-12-23 13:58:04 »
How can i fix that?


Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF8 1.2 US English (Nvidia)
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce 9800 GT/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW! 3.3.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 8192x8192
INFO: Number of texture units: 4
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1280x1024, output resolution 1280x960, internal resolution 1280x960
INFO: Shader limits: varying 60, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 2048
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZING SOUND...
  initializing direct sound
  EAXDirectSoundCreate
  creating primary buffer
  initializing audio data
  OK
  initializing streaming
SOUND INITIALIZED
DIRECT MUSIC - Enumerating Ports...
PORT 0: Microsoft MIDI Mapper [Emulated]
GUID={0xb42d3801,0xd13e,0x4245,0xb8,0xf4,0x46,0xdd,0xa8,0x9e,0x59,0x15}
PORT 1: Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth [Emulated]
GUID={0xa2e01ca,0x8272,0x409a,0xb8,0x5a,0xa9,0x17,0xe6,0x23,0xa0,0xdd}
PORT 2: Microsoft Synthesizer
GUID={0x58c2b4d0,0x46e7,0x11d1,0x89,0xac,0x0,0xa0,0xc9,0x5,0x41,0x29}
Creating Port1...
    Microsoft Synthesizer
  Port1 supports XG data
Cannot open Movie File: F:\Program Files\Eidos Interactive\Square Soft, Inc\FINAL FANTASY VIII\Publish.pak
ERROR: COULD NOT OPEN FILE c:\ff8\data\eng\menu\sysfnt.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE c:\ff8\data\eng\menu\sysfnt.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE c:\ff8\data\eng\menu\sysfnt.tim
ERROR: unhandled exception

The game crash after that : "Oops!Something very bad happened wrote crash.dmp to FF8 install dir. Please prove a copy of it along with app.log when reporting this error."

config:

# ff7_opengl-0.7.10b config file



## USER OPTIONS ##
## If you just want to play the game, these are the only options you'll want to change.

# set the window size (or fullscreen resolution) of FF8
# 0 means use original resolution (whatever ff7.exe provides)
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 1280   
window_size_y = 1024
preserve_aspect = yes
fullscreen = yes

# mod directory
# subdirectroy of mods/ where textures will be loaded from
# does not affect the old external textures feature, those should still go in textures/
mod_path = none

# check your driver settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = yes

# allow FF8 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
linear_filter = off



## ENHANCEMENTS ##
## All the little extras that weren't part of the original game, default options include only trivial bug fixes.

# post-processing shader, used to apply fullscreen effects
post_source = shaders/bloom2.post
enable_postprocessing = no



## ADVANCED OPTIONS ##
## Don't fiddle with these unless you know what you're doing.

# use shaders, if available and supported
# turn shaders off to use the OpenGL 1.1 backend
use_shaders = yes

# prevent glitches due to rounding errors by rendering in the nearest (larger, if supported)
# multiple of the original resolution and up/down-scaling
prevent_rounding_errors = yes

# enable alpha blending for textures without an existing blending effect
fancy_transparency = on

# display frames per second counter in upper right corner
show_fps = no

# display some real-time debug information
show_stats = no

# store external textures in a compressed cache for increased performance
# compression is not lossless, some artifacts may appear when this option is in use
# texture cache does NOT update automatically if the source image changes, however, deleting anything from the cache
# will cause that file to be recreated from the source
compress_textures = yes

# use pixel buffer objects to speed up texture loading
# will probably crash horribly on ATI cards but should work for NVIDIA users
use_pbo = no



## MODDER OPTIONS ##
## These options are mostly useful to modders and should not be enabled during normal play.

# show every failed attempt at loading a .png texture
show_missing_textures = no

App and crash.dmp here http://www.4shared.com/rar/ICvz8E5F/crash_FF8_Aalis_driver.html?
« Last Edit: 2011-12-23 14:16:18 by halored »

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2163
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #278 on: 2011-12-23 19:44:38 »
What happened exactly?

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #279 on: 2011-12-23 20:00:44 »
What happened exactly?

My guess is a crash on start up, can't play the opening cinematic, Nor can it open the menu textures

halored

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #280 on: 2011-12-23 21:01:31 »
What happened exactly?
EDIT: Ok sorry, my fault i have installed the eng 1.2patch and i have the italian edition. Like and idiot.
Now the game start i put into ff8_opengl my resolution :1280x1024 but nothing happen.  Don't know why.
« Last Edit: 2011-12-24 12:37:39 by halored »

tysonrss

  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #281 on: 2011-12-27 02:46:30 »
Hi there you wonderful people! Like the forum. I have a problem here. I got the retail patch, Aali's latest version, PRP and Team Avalacnhe's mods/patches installed. Everything works fine, except that when I enabled fullscreen for the opengl cfg, I get an error when it loads and it reverts to the original resolution, 680x480 or something similar. I don't have compatibility mode checked. And another thing, the battle swirl doesn't show in the game although I can hear the sound. Can someone assist me?

config file
Code: [Select]
# ff7_opengl-0.7.10b config file



## USER OPTIONS ##
## If you just want to play the game, these are the only options you'll want to change.

# set the window size (or fullscreen resolution) of FF7
# 0 means use original resolution (whatever ff7.exe provides)
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 1600
window_size_y = 900
preserve_aspect = yes
fullscreen = no

# mod directory
# subdirectroy of mods/ where textures will be loaded from
# does not affect the old external textures feature, those should still go in textures/
mod_path = none

# check your driver settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = no

# limit snowboard, coaster and highway minigames to refresh rate / 2, i.e. 30fps for a 60hz display mode
# vsync must be enabled and working for this to have any effect
minigame_framelimiter = on

# same thing, but for the battle swirl
battleswirl_framelimiter = on

# allow FF7 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
linear_filter = off

# plugin used to play music, the FF7Music plugin MUST be enabled for FF7Music to work.
# If no music plugin is loaded the game will play MIDI as usual but FF7Music will NOT work.
#music_plugin = plugins/ff7music.fgp

# YUV fast path shader
yuv_source = shaders/yuv.frag

## ENHANCEMENTS ##
## All the little extras that weren't part of the original game, default options include only trivial bug fixes.

# make all dialog boxes transparent, same effect as the transparent dialog boxes YAMP patch
transparent_dialogs = off

# allow max hp/mp to go over 9999, same effect as the YAMP patch by dziugo
break_9999limit = no

# include armor in magic defense calculation
mdef_fix = yes

# expand battle viewport to cover entire screen and make the battle menu transparent
new_battle_interface = on

# post-processing shader, used to apply fullscreen effects
post_source = shaders/bloom2.post
enable_postprocessing = no



## ADVANCED OPTIONS ##
## Don't fiddle with these unless you know what you're doing.

# use shaders, if available and supported
# turn shaders off to use the OpenGL 1.1 backend
use_shaders = yes

# prevent glitches due to rounding errors by rendering in the nearest (larger, if supported)
# multiple of the original resolution and up/down-scaling
prevent_rounding_errors = yes

# enable alpha blending for textures without an existing blending effect
fancy_transparency = on

# display frames per second counter in upper right corner
show_fps = no

# display some real-time debug information
show_stats = no

# store external textures in a compressed cache for increased performance
# compression is not lossless, some artifacts may appear when this option is in use
# texture cache does NOT update automatically if the source image changes, however, deleting anything from the cache
# will cause that file to be recreated from the source
compress_textures = yes

# use pixel buffer objects to speed up texture loading
# will probably crash horribly on ATI cards but should work for NVIDIA users
use_pbo = yes

# replace FF7's default framelimiter timer source
use_new_timer = yes

# use a more stable (but less accurate) timer to control FF7's framelimiter
# this option has no effect unless the use_new_timer option is on
use_stable_timer = no

# plugin used to play movies, FFMpeg is the only choice for now
movie_plugin = plugins/ffmpeg_movies.fgp



## MODDER OPTIONS ##
## These options are mostly useful to modders and should not be enabled during normal play.

# read files directly instead of using LGP archives
# for example; if FF7 is looking for aaab.rsd in char.lgp, this option will make it open direct/char/aaab.rsd first,
# if this file doesn't exist it will look for the original in the LGP archive
direct_mode = off

# show every failed attempt at loading a .png texture
show_missing_textures = no

APP Log
Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce4 MX Integrated GPU/AGP/SSE/3DNOW! 1.5.1
INFO: No OpenGL 2.0 support detected, shaders won't be available
INFO: PBO not supported
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: NPOT textures not supported
INFO: Max texture size: 2048x2048
INFO: Number of texture units: 2
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1600x900, output resolution 1200x900, internal resolution 640x480
INFO: No NPOT texture support
ERROR: init_indirect failed, scaling and postprocessing will be disabled
INFO: internal resolution clamped to 1200x900
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: No shaders, codecs with YUV output will be slow.
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
INITIALIZING MIDI...
selecting device 0:Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth, mid=1, pid=102,
midi data type: GENERAL MIDI
using midi data file: c:\Final Fantasy 7 PC Version\Data\midi\midi.lgp
midiOutGetVolume returned: ffffffff
MIDI INITIALIZED
set music volume: 127
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
set music volume: 127
MIDI set master volume: 100
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: D:\FF7\Movies\eidoslogo.avi; truemotion2/pcm_u8 320x240, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.133333, frames: 152
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
MIDI set volume trans: 127->0; step=60
MIDI stop - OK
MIDI stop - OK
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
MIDI play: 6
reading midi file: MAKORO.mid
current volume: 127
MIDI is playing SUCCESSFULLY!!!
Field Quit
Entering MAIN
MIDI play: 7
reading midi file: BAT.mid
current volume: 127
MIDI is playing SUCCESSFULLY!!!
Exiting MAIN
Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
ERROR: NPOT textures not suppported, will not be able to load unknown
ERROR: NPOT textures not suppported, will not be able to load unknown
ERROR: NPOT textures not suppported, will not be able to load unknown
ERROR: NPOT textures not suppported, will not be able to load unknown
ERROR: GL_INVALID_VALUE
Swirl sound_effect1
stop_sound
End of Swirl sound_effect1
Entering FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Scene# 322
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE
WM_CLOSE
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_QUIT
[BATTLE] endof battle.
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_QUIT
Field Quit
MIDI stop - OK
resetting MIDI driver volume - OK
UNINITIALIZE DD
END UNINITIALIZE DD

Kemlin

  • *
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #282 on: 2011-12-27 07:27:38 »
Off the top of my head, you're having problems because your video card is old, and integrated. There may be nothing that can be done besides obtaining a better video card.

tysonrss

  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #283 on: 2011-12-27 07:43:11 »
I doubt that's the case, this is an old game and everything else is fine. It could be just that my opengl is old.

Aali

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #284 on: 2011-12-27 11:50:42 »
Your card is a bit too old to do scaling properly. On that card you will only be able to use resolutions that are an even multiple of 640x480 (after aspect correction), such as 1280x960 or 1280x1024.

tysonrss

  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #285 on: 2011-12-27 17:31:27 »
Well I used 1280x1024 and I get the swirl and fullscreen, all is well. However, on the overworld, there is a black bar on the bottom and disapears when I open the menu and go into battle....

Anyway, thanks again! No red errors have shown!

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #286 on: 2011-12-27 18:06:03 »
Think that black bar is supposed to be there, either for aspect ratio correction. Or it was in the original game.

tydt

  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #287 on: 2011-12-29 19:06:02 »
I noticed a glitch: "texture conversion error" every time I summoned KOR, anyone know a solution to this?

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2163
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #288 on: 2011-12-30 01:25:11 »
Which mod are you using? Otherwise this error is harmless.

tydt

  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #289 on: 2011-12-30 02:13:35 »
I'm using the 0.7.10b, it may be harmless, but I rather not have my comp. stalls for a sec or two every time i summoned KOR.

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2163
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #290 on: 2011-12-30 02:27:03 »
I mean, which mod, not driver.

tydt

  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #291 on: 2011-12-30 02:55:37 »
My bad, I used phoenix rejuvenation, graphic overhaul, OST mastered and FMV restoration installer as well

Richie

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #292 on: 2012-01-03 18:33:45 »
After some uninstalling and reinstalling, changing settings etc. I have come to the conclusion that the current Aali's openGL driver is not compatible with my laptop GFX card or its drivers. I have managed to get the full bootlogger FF7 install working on my desktop and is running beautifully :mrgreen:  However on my laptop, there is a constant epileptic-warning flickering/flashing throughout the entire game (FMV's, Menus and main game) it is entirely unplayable. My GFX card on my laptop is the Radeon X1250 Mobility running current drivers, it's an old card I know, but should be able to handle the game, with the patches. I have done a raw install, with just the game (and 1.2) , and it works, however upon adding aali's driver the flickering occurs, I have also dug out FF8 and I also get the same problem.

My question is, has anyone else seen this problem of constant flickering/flashing, which a similar card or does anyone know of a workaround for this situation?

*EDIT* I have resolved this issue, it seems there was an issue with the graphics driver, the one that its provided from AMD currently has all sorts of issues with OpenGL, using the legacy Catalyst drivers (10.2 in my case) resolved this. P.S. For the hell of it, I'm using Windows 8 dev preview and the game is working fine.
« Last Edit: 2012-01-06 06:28:32 by Richie »

gugutz

  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #293 on: 2012-01-03 18:53:40 »
How do i do if i wanna use more than 1 mod.
Can i add more modpath lines to ff7opengl.cfg?

I want to use Felix Leonharts Battle Scene enhancements and the Facepalmer field enhacements, and both use the modpath function to work.
How to i get around that?
Thanks in advance. :>

dkma841

  • *
  • Posts: 1225
  • delete
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #294 on: 2012-01-03 21:15:14 »
You can put all mods in one mod folder no need to add more modpath lines, and make sure you keep the folders that came with the mod and place them all in one (the one you set your modpath

gugutz

  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #295 on: 2012-01-04 13:01:54 »
Just to see if i get it, so lets say i want to use the Facepalmer mod and the battle enhancement mod.

I set my modpath to "mods", and just put "fields" folder that comes with facepalmer, and the battle folder from felix inside the mods folder?
Its just that? Aalis driver loads automatically anything thats in the mods folder?

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2163
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #296 on: 2012-01-04 13:03:09 »
No. You would have to make another folder called mods inside of the mods folder (or whatever you named it in the cfg) and then put the files in that.

gugutz

  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #297 on: 2012-01-04 13:39:17 »
Thank you bro.

So if i leave it on the cfg file as "none", i can just put the "fields" and "battle" folders inside the default mods folder that comes with Aalis driver, not needing to create extra folders for the mods, right?

gugutz

  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #298 on: 2012-01-04 13:56:44 »
Nvm, m8. I tested with none and wasnt working. I guess you do need to create a subdirectory inside the main mods directory for them to work.

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #299 on: 2012-01-04 15:06:46 »
You have to have a folder specified in the .cfg file (in this case, Mods)

Inside the Mod's folder, you need to have sub directories "Battle" "Field" "Menu" Ect ect ect.

Basically, Say you install the Team Avalanche mods, and want to use the enhanced fields mod.

Copy all of the Facepalmer files into the Team Avalanche folder , and done. (if the mod path is set to the Team Avalanche folder)