Author Topic: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions  (Read 250842 times)

mickking

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #50 on: 2011-07-26 11:16:50 »
i run all my exe as administrator... but its still the same....

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #51 on: 2011-07-26 11:55:12 »
Hi mickking

We discuss the same issue in a German forum.

Aali's Driver 0.7.11b ist correct installed, correct Registry Keys are generated and Selftest working correct, but the Driver didn't work...

One idea, install V0.7.10b, start the FF7 Config, choose the CustomDriver, start game and just look at the app.log whether the driver works. Post the result here.
« Last Edit: 2011-07-26 12:02:53 by Kompass63 »

mickking

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #52 on: 2011-07-26 15:04:59 »
lol now with aalis V0.7.10b it says "could not find a compatible version of FF7, make sure you have the 1.02 Patch installed!"
with the newest version of allis driver the config says that it WORKS. selftest is successful... but the app.log says a different.... -_-

Aali

  • Moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1194
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #53 on: 2011-07-26 17:24:22 »
Do you have the 1.02 patch installed? Because it looks like you don't. The driver itself cannot tell if you try to use it with the retail version so you will not get any errors about that. The modified FF7Config.exe will try to tell which version you have by looking at FF7.exe but that might not be 100% accurate.

mickking

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #54 on: 2011-07-26 17:56:58 »
yah sure i have the 1.02 Patch installed. Im very very sure about that :-)
But i duno why its still not working o_o

EDIT: Or do u still know another resolution to config the window solution without using the driver? -_-
« Last Edit: 2011-07-26 17:59:53 by mickking »

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #55 on: 2011-07-26 22:29:30 »
the German boy of whom I have told, has the following conditions:

Windows 7 64Bit
NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT, Driverversion ??? (I'll ask him)
German FF7
Aali's Driver 0.7.11b

What are your conditions?

greets Kompass63

mickking

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #56 on: 2011-07-26 23:08:51 »
Windows 7 64 Bit
ATI Radeon HD 5850
German FF7
German FF7 1.02 Patch
Aalis custom driver v.0.7.8.b

Shulishin

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #57 on: 2011-07-27 04:21:11 »
i have a problem with ff7 not starting at all... the app log states "initializing sound" as its latest entry and drops dead there... if i run via f7music it tells me
Code: [Select]
INITIALIZE DD/D3D START

1376014.245 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376014.290 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

DIRECT SOUND ERROR

   ERROR: No sound driver is available for use. in FILE C:\lib\src\sound\dx_snd.cpp LINE 68

1376014.897 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376014.897 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376015.581 |  WARNING: [UXDriver.ApiX.Engine] [email protected]::UXDriver::ApiX::CNvApixEngine::HandleEmptyDescriptors : Empty descriptors..

1376015.583 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376016.577 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376016.610 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376016.623 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376017.004 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376017.005 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376017.068 |  WARNING: [UXDriver.ApiX.Engine] [email protected]::UXDriver::ApiX::CNvApixEngine::HandleEmptyDescriptors : Empty descriptors..

1376017.069 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

1376017.714 |    ERROR: [UXDriver.Utility.DesktopUtil] [email protected]::UXDriver::Utility::DesktopUtil::SetThreadToInputDesktop : Could not set thread desktop: 0xaa.

now i saw in another thread that this meant aali's driver wasn't working (However it appears to be working when i set it up and looks fine but doesn't actually work on loading the game)...

also this part seems to be an issue
Code: [Select]
DIRECT SOUND ERROR

   ERROR: No sound driver is available for use. in FILE C:\lib\src\sound\dx_snd.cpp LINE 68

the 2 system specs above appear to only have one thing in common with each other (plus myself) which is windows 7 64 bit

as i have windows 7 64 bit as well as
nvidia 9800 gt

I've tried multiple Ali's driver version all coming up with the same error

it'd be nice to get some confirmation on whether or not it works on 64 bit then we can at least rule that out

edit: ok i appear to have it working fine now after some sorting and searching elsewhere on the site(however still receive driver error :?)

one little thing is the backgrounds or whatever you want to call them aren't in the new polished graphics like cloud and other characters are...so it looks a bit awkward as if they have been placed there from two different sources if you know what i mean
« Last Edit: 2011-07-27 05:25:49 by Shulishin »

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #58 on: 2011-07-27 10:48:51 »
Hi mickking

Quote
yah sure i have the 1.02 Patch installed. Im very very sure about that


OK, but...please download the Patch from 

this Site

and extract it into your Gamefolder.
After that you have to extract Aali's Driver (0.7.10b or 0.7.11b) into your Gamefolder, be sure to overwrite the "FF7Config.exe" with Aali's one.
Start the "FF7 Konfiguration" and choose 'Custom driver', also have a look at the Sound and MIDI Section and test the Sound.
Start the Game and close the Game (ALT+F4).
Have a look into the APP.LOG for something like 'INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b', this indicates, that the Driver is working.
Report here!

Greets Kompass63
« Last Edit: 2011-07-27 10:59:13 by Kompass63 »

zarlaan

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #59 on: 2011-07-30 07:04:47 »
So glad I've found this forum.  I've gotten FF7 up and running perfectly so far.  However, I can't seem to get rid of the black bar at the bottom of the screen when in field view.  I've been trying for a couple hours now searching around.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mods installed other than Aali's 7.11b, Phoenix Rejuvenation Project, Team Avalanche’s Graphical Overhaul and I'm about to install Menu Overhaul Project M003.

DarkFang

  • Pirate
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • Karma: 1
  • Ponies! <3
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #60 on: 2011-07-30 07:09:20 »
So glad I've found this forum.  I've gotten FF7 up and running perfectly so far.  However, I can't seem to get rid of the black bar at the bottom of the screen when in field view.  I've been trying for a couple hours now searching around.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mods installed other than Aali's 7.11b, Phoenix Rejuvenation Project, Team Avalanche’s Graphical Overhaul and I'm about to install Menu Overhaul Project M003.

It goes away in battle right? This happens to me too, I think it's normal.

zarlaan

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #61 on: 2011-07-30 07:54:38 »
Yes, it goes away during battle and when in the menus.  Only see it when running around in the world so far.

BloodShot

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 691
  • Karma: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #62 on: 2011-07-31 07:47:38 »
Not sure if it's been suggested or not, but could you possibly adapt the driver's ramp emulation/fade ability with FF7music (which is excellent btw) so it can do a fast fade out and in for the transition between each song?

I remember the PSX version having this, where fanfare fades out and the field song fades back in. Is it at all possible to do it though?

Also, very nice work Aali on the driver so far. I had no idea you could do so much with a custom driver before I discovered this one for FF7 :)

Harro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #63 on: 2011-07-31 14:30:04 »
Bonjour  ;D
I tried the driver but unfortunatly I have a problem, the game just crash as I launch it. http://s3.noelshack.com/upload/16333324534197_ff7error.jpg
As you can see I have the french version .Maybe it's the problem no?

here is the APP.LOG content

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 French
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series          3.3.10834 Compatibility Profile Context
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 8192x8192
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 640x480, output resolution 640x480, internal resolution 640x480
INFO: Shader limits: varying 128, vert uniform 16384, frag uniform 16384
INFO: vertex shader compile log:
Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.

INFO: fragment shader compile log:
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.

INFO: main program link log:
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
ERROR: could not read from file C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\ff7input.cfg (0)
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
INITIALIZING MIDI...
selecting device 0:Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth, mid=1, pid=27,
midi data type: GENERAL MIDI
using midi data file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\Data\midi\midi.lgp
midiOutGetVolume returned: ffffffff
MIDI INITIALIZED

I tried different compatibility mode, change the resolution in the .cfg, put it in window mode but it doesn't resolve nothing. I have windows seven 64


thank you

ps: I want it to work because I want to incorporate a background made by me
http://s3.noelshack.com/upload/1928024458272_2.jpg
I hope it's possible  :P

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3606
  • Karma: 32
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #64 on: 2011-07-31 14:51:20 »
I think it may have something to do with your sound. Run the config as administrator and change your midi and sound drivers. Hopefully that helps because that is an amazing looking background.

Harro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #65 on: 2011-07-31 15:30:21 »
but it says that "choosing additional graphics setting in ff7Config will not affect anything while the driver is active"
I tried software render and direct 3d and the game crash directly when I open it.

Each time I trie to play this PC version, it make me crazy  :|

I removed my speaker and now, the game crash but without error message :-o WTF?
« Last Edit: 2011-07-31 15:46:46 by Harro »

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3606
  • Karma: 32
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #66 on: 2011-07-31 18:39:53 »
What did the error message say when the game crashed?

Harro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #67 on: 2011-07-31 20:40:41 »
What did the error message say when the game crashed?

the same windows error http://s3.noelshack.com/upload/16333324534197_ff7error.jpg

gunblade88

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #68 on: 2011-08-01 00:48:36 »
Aali's graphics driver worked great for FF7 (after I figured it all out) but I have acquired a copy of FF8 pc and am having major issues with it. I saw a note where it said that it doesn't work with some newer Nvidia drivers (Mine is the G210M for Vaio) but, as I said, it's fine for FF7.

Anytime I extract the files to the FF8 program folder and try to load the game, it acts as if it is going to load then crashes before the Eidos Interactive animation... I have checked the drivers and they are up to date, I have installed eax through EAX Unified (it says already installed) and everything seems to be alright as far as everything needing done. I've also installed the patch 1.2 for FF8.

Where am I going wrong?

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2209
  • Karma: 33
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #69 on: 2011-08-02 01:13:13 »
Aaaah, another French guy here :P

Well, as of my policy, I might want to add every French-speaking Qhimm members to msn ([email protected]) :P Hmm, I can't think of anything right now that might be the issue. Pretty nice background btw.

Gunblade : Post both your config and APP files.

CGalaxy

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #70 on: 2011-08-02 14:16:15 »
I'm new to the forum, and until a few days ago I hadn't even played a ff game in about 10 years. But I've come upon an old pc copy of ffvii--I'd only played it on ps1--and I stumbled upon this graphics overhaul from aali's driver. This is awesome. I didn't know what to expect performance-wise on my laptop, considering this is NOT a gaming laptop: the graphics card is some junk intel graphics card, the Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD. I'm running the game through Windows 7 64-bit (dual-boot with ubuntu). But it does seem to run pretty well without the shaders on, and adding the remastered music is amazing.

I've had a lot of random graphical glitches, many of them during battles. The biggest concern, though, is the world map. Most of the textures don't come through at all--they're just black. Mountains seem to work okay, but it's not the same for everything else. Not only does this look bad, but it actually makes navigating the world map pretty difficult! The two "sub-maps" you can bring up by hitting start don't really work either. All that shows up from those two maps is the blinking dots indicating your position and the position of your buggy/sub/aircraft. Luckily my memory of this game is still good enough that I can sort of feel my way around the map to find where I need to go.


I should note that when I run ff7config, my setup fails the part about 8-bit textures. I'm not too savvy on this stuff, but I'm guessing that could be part of the problem. But I'm not sure what to do about that. From googling around, the other people that have had issues with 8-bit textures have just said they had problems with the videos, and installing truemotion fixed it for them. I have truemotion installed, and the videos work fine for me, though.

Also, I constantly get messages about glitches while playing, usually stuff about not being able to find a texture or a png file. It happens during battle but also while using the menu, though lots of times I can't even see a glitch occurring. At the very least, is there a way to turn off these messages?


Thanks for any help here.

*Sorry about the images having these huge white borders around them. This is the first time I've uploaded images to a forum from an external site, as opposed to just uploading them directly as attachments, so I'm still figuring it out.
« Last Edit: 2011-08-02 14:20:38 by CGalaxy »

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 11
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #71 on: 2011-08-03 03:50:58 »
To disable error messages, add this line to the bottom of ff7_opengl.cfg:
    disable_popup = on

If you're using the Remix, there are a lot of damaged world textures.
Either restore the bad textures from a vanilla install or use the great mods from Magochocobo and Felix Leonhart.

EDIT:Upon further reading, I've discovered that some of the 'damaged' textures might actually have a pointer embedded in the file to identify which texture in the 'textures' folder to use instead.

-PitBrat
« Last Edit: 2011-08-03 23:00:51 by PitBrat »

CGalaxy

  • Guest
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #72 on: 2011-08-03 13:53:43 »
To disable error messages, add this line to the bottom of ff7_opengl.cfg:
    disable_popup = on

If you're using the Remix, there are a lot of damaged world textures.
Either restore the bad textures from a vanilla install or use the great mods from Magochocobo and Felix Leonhart.

-PitBrat

Okay, thank you for the help. I'll give this a try today.

MrSinister

  • Pirate
  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #73 on: 2011-08-03 22:23:26 »
Quote
Aali's graphics driver worked great for FF7 (after I figured it all out) but I have acquired a copy of FF8 pc and am having major issues with it. I saw a note where it said that it doesn't work with some newer Nvidia drivers (Mine is the G210M for Vaio) but, as I said, it's fine for FF7.
If you don't mind answering, how do you have your Aali driver set up? because i'm having a serious quandary here

Harro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Aali's driver [v 0.7.11b] Help/Bugs/Suggestions
« Reply #74 on: 2011-08-06 03:56:22 »
Finaly it works .... but with an english version. My french version still doesn't work and I can't find the problem. No matter, I will work with this one .
Now I have to learn how to replace background, that's a different story  :-D

Thank you