Author Topic: Crash.........HELP!  (Read 4712 times)

Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« on: 2001-04-10 06:09:00 »
I posted this on the official eidos board, but i figured you guys might know the answer:

Well, I beat FF9 and came back to FF7 to beat it again. And WOW! I'd freezes in the flashback at Aeris' house right after the Sector VII collapse. It freezes there every time. Any idea whats wrong? Here are my system specs:

Intel Celeron 400MHz
256MB of PC100 SDRAM
Abit Motherboard
Voodoo 3 2000 AGP
Sound Blaster Live! Value
Studio DC10 Plus Motion Capture Card
10/100 Ethernet Adapter
56.6kbps analog modem
21 Inch Monitor (HP A4331D)

Heres what its running:
Windows 98
1024x786 resolution at 16 bit color
Active Desktop is off
510MB of Virtual memory

I just ran a thorough scandisc and a defrag of both of my hard drives. I have the latest drivers as well. Please help!


The Skillster

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2284
  • Karma: 3
  • Loving every Final Fantasy
    • View Profile
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #1 on: 2001-04-10 14:51:00 »
what are your ff7 config settings?

The SaiNt

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #2 on: 2001-04-10 15:27:00 »
I think I encountered that problem before, but I don't remember solution. It could be a problem with your virtual memory limitation, try to let windows manage it. Hope that helps!

Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #3 on: 2001-04-11 02:16:00 »
waoh....saint your probably right, ive been tring to get past the spot with softwar rendering. It crashed every few seconds. Recently I got the guide from pcg that said to change my virtual memory settings. Ill try it. Thanks!

Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #4 on: 2001-04-11 02:24:00 »
Nope, didn't work, software rendering mode crashes after a few seconds. I normally run it with the Direct 3d Hardware Accelleration, and it always crashes in the exact same spot with that. i use 640x480 full screen resolution. I use direct sound for the wavs and Creative S/W synth for midis. Any suggestions?

The Skillster

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2284
  • Karma: 3
  • Loving every Final Fantasy
    • View Profile
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #5 on: 2001-04-11 03:11:00 »
windows 98?
i would reinstall (or clean install ) the srivers for the voodoo

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #6 on: 2001-04-11 16:01:00 »
Try this....It works for the Biglight.avi freeze.

Type Dxdiag in the windows run box, under the Start button.

Go to Sound...and move the Sound acceleration to Basic. It will be the second notch from the left. See if that works, and when you move on to another program/game, put it back to full acceleration.

Then...try reinstalling FF7 (use the big installation). Make sure that the disks are nice and clean. Last resort would be to try softwaremode quaterscreen, to get pass the area and then go back to 3d mode, full screen.

Also disable any anti alaising, if you have it on....or any other extra options that the card has.

[This message has been edited by Threesixty (edited April 11, 2001).]


Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #7 on: 2001-04-11 16:05:00 »
I tired the dxdiag thing, didnt work, ill reinstall the 3dfx drivers.

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #8 on: 2001-04-11 16:24:00 »
oops...looks like we are on at the same time.....I just added some suggestions.

Another thing you can try is go to Add/remove programs....windows setup....multimedia....

make sure you have your windows CD.

and deselect Audio and video Compression, Apply. Reboot and then recheck them, reboot.


**********************

There is one more thing...but it's risky. I think windows will reload them. At least it did on my Win95 machine. But I take no responsiblility if, for some reason, it messes up your mediaplayer or something.

First I download a newer version of mediaplayer...then...
What I did is the same as the above, I deselect audio and video compression and then went to the Multimedia icon in the Control Panel....I went to the Advance Tab....I open the Audio Compression Codes and Video Compression Codes...and I removed all of them that windows would allow me to remove.

I then rebooted...rechecked those Audio and video compression boxes....installed the newest version multiplayer (6.?(can't remember the version), it was a while back) rebooted...and FF7 worked fine.

Most of the stuff I removed manually, in the Advance Tab, magically reappeared.

My problem at the time was lousy framerates during the movies. and only after removing the stuff manualy, the problem went away.

your problem is different, so even the above may not work..... (at the time I was going to reinstall windows...turned out I didn't have to)


Srethron Askvelhtnod

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 965
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.srethron.cjb.net/
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #9 on: 2001-04-11 06:17:00 »
Out of curiousity, wouldn't this be more suited as a Game Tweaking or Tech-Related topic?  :)

Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #10 on: 2001-04-11 08:03:00 »
Nothing is working......

The SaiNt

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #11 on: 2001-04-11 12:24:00 »
How about going into the registry using regedit and removing all traces of your settings in FF7
Then reinstalling FF7 again?

Joey

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1095
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #12 on: 2001-04-11 14:56:00 »
Well, I've said it many times but, Try replacing the CDs. If it still dosen't work, replace the Win98 CD. The Reason: Scratched CD ( you might not be able to see them, but they STILL extist). So, when the game is unable to read the sector, it crashes!(All games are also like that)As for the Win98 CD, well, files might be copied wrongly so, U know......

Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #13 on: 2001-04-11 22:07:00 »
Man, im not gonna pay 15 dollars for replacement cds. My Disc 1 is pretty scratched though........I they the registry thing, but i just cleaned it last week.

Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #14 on: 2001-04-11 22:10:00 »
FF7 caused an exception 10H in module FF7.EXE at 015f:007a5eb3.
Registers:
EAX=00000008 CS=015f EIP=007a5eb3 EFLGS=00210216
EBX=01070000 SS=0167 ESP=01174b6c EBP=01174b84
ECX=00000008 DS=0167 ESI=8195d28a FS=332f
EDX=01171270 ES=0167 EDI=00000000 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
dd 14 24 e8 9d 28 00 00 e8 0d 00 00 00 83 c4 08
Stack dump:
0bdb8e96 37d4d4c3 0067b542 00000000 000a6a62 3f800000 01174cb8 006832f6 01953118 01174bf8 00000000 8195d28a 00000000 00000001 00000001 00000000

any idea what it means?


Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #15 on: 2001-04-11 22:56:00 »
If software mode, quarter screen didn't work......don't know what to say.

Guess you can try the Yamaha driver, and if your using the Yamaha driver, go to the regular driver. and CTR ALt DEL - end program, all programs except Explorer.

It has to be either a bad install or the sound, The flashback isn't a FMV (AVI file). I don't believe that the CD-rom is being accessed at that point of the game. So I'm going to guess either your install disk went bad or a temp file that is stored from Disk 1 to your HD is bad...or it's sound related.


Anonymous

  • Guest
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #16 on: 2001-04-12 02:16:00 »
many people suggested that i should play through the part in software mode, but the game crashes in software mode after a few seconds. any idea whats wrong?

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #17 on: 2001-04-12 16:44:00 »
Has your computer setup changed, since last time you played FF7? If it hasn't....It has to be the disks.

I have no idea what that error thing means.....it says something about FF7.exe. I wonder if that means it's a problem with FF7.exe or if it is another file. The FF7.exe file is about 5.5megs..... anyone know which file contains the flashback? Maybe we/I can just E-mail him an uncorrupt file or something. (unless it's way too big...I'm on a modem.)


ficedula

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2179
  • Karma: 40
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ficedula.co.uk
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #18 on: 2001-04-12 16:47:00 »
Thats a general sort of crash message which basically means "something somewhere went wrong". It can mean
-corrupt data file
-lack of memory
-bug in program
-bad drivers
-anything at all!

Good luck in figuring out what caused it...

To check whether his file's the same as yours you could checksum it, just agree on how you're going to do it.


Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #19 on: 2001-04-12 10:23:00 »
 :D I'm not that commited.

I was hoping that someone would state:
"Yup all the flashbacks are located in the filename:
????moviecam.lgp???? (that one is 2megs)


The Skillster

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2284
  • Karma: 3
  • Loving every Final Fantasy
    • View Profile
Crash.........HELP!
« Reply #20 on: 2001-04-12 17:33:00 »
hmm u didnt try installing ficedula's music patch did u?