Author Topic: Makou Reactor text limit  (Read 218 times)

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: 11
  • Check out my work - https://goo.gl/m4NFlm
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Makou Reactor text limit
« on: 2017-09-23 23:13:19 »
So using Makou Reactor i've come across the fact that 255 is the limit to the amount of texts that can be used in a single scene.

Can this be fixed? I REALLY REALLY need it for my project.
To a point where i would have to undo around 2 months worth of work to get around it...

Wish i had checked this sooner

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8822
  • Karma: 252
  • My love is as sharp as a needle in your eye.
    • View Profile
Re: Makou Reactor text limit
« Reply #1 on: 2017-09-23 23:23:40 »
Why do you need that number of texts in one scene?

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: 11
  • Check out my work - https://goo.gl/m4NFlm
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Makou Reactor text limit
« Reply #2 on: 2017-09-23 23:36:28 »
I figured someone would ask.
Ive coded every scene in such a way where every text box has a

"If subtitles bit 5 = on"
Use the subtitle box

"If subtitles bit 5 = off"
Use normal box


So i have twice as many boxes in every scene

Saves me coding the game four separate times..
Plus allows the player to change their options at any save point

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: 11
  • Check out my work - https://goo.gl/m4NFlm
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Makou Reactor text limit
« Reply #3 on: 2017-09-24 04:23:45 »
PLEASE tell me someone can fix this

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Makou Reactor text limit
« Reply #4 on: 2017-09-24 07:18:48 »
The text id reference for text ops in the field script only takes up a single byte, hence the 255 limitation. You'll need to rewrite all of the text opcodes to solve this.

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2138
  • Karma: 129
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Makou Reactor text limit
« Reply #5 on: 2017-09-24 07:50:53 »
You can in theory expand the size with 7H or to be more precisely you can work around it. Make a conditional folder and replace the scene with a duplicated one of it through a check of the game moment. In the duplicated one you can then use again 255 text blocks. Though, the drawback is that you have to handle two files for one scene.

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: 11
  • Check out my work - https://goo.gl/m4NFlm
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Makou Reactor text limit
« Reply #6 on: 2017-09-24 12:42:16 »
I will it kal for sure. If anyone lbkws a way or could help I would appertiate it so damn much. I wanted a demo out this week. I refuse to let something like this take my project down.