Author Topic: Temp Owverworld Module?  (Read 4242 times)

halkun

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2097
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
Temp Owverworld Module?
« on: 2006-06-27 01:06:02 »
As the system is modular, I was thinking of  a "placeholder" for the worldmap. This when when opcodes start getting filled out, we have some basic jumps to other modules.

Here's the kicker.

For ease of coding/placeholding.... Put it in 2D?

The real overworld map is made up of  a 256x256 grid of 3d tiles. As we don't really have a lot of information on the FF7 map format, other than it's "some kind of Biniary Search Tree" <--- (My quote) It might be helpful to make a placeholder map that's 2d for now.

However, I need a good square picture of the world map so we can see of the tiles align correctly.

Good idea? Bad

Should I just go back to messing with the fieldscript? ^_^


sfx1999

  • *
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: Temp Owverworld Module?
« Reply #1 on: 2006-06-28 00:40:14 »
Don't even go that far... just make it text based or output to the debugger.

My idea was to have each module to return a value to a loop with a number for the next module to run. Like this:

Code: [Select]
ActiveModule = MODULE_MAIN;
while(1)
{
  ActiveModule = LoadMod(ActiveModule);
  if ActiveModule = MODULE_QUIT
    break;
}

LoadMod would load the appropriate module that was passed to it, and return the value for the next module. You might want to pass it a pointer for a structure of data to share between the modules.

Akari

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 766
    • View Profile
Re: Temp Owverworld Module?
« Reply #2 on: 2006-06-28 17:16:33 »
Don't even go that far... just make it text based or output to the debugger.

My idea was to have each module to return a value to a loop with a number for the next module to run. Like this:

Code: [Select]
ActiveModule = MODULE_MAIN;
while(1)
{
  ActiveModule = LoadMod(ActiveModule);
  if ActiveModule = MODULE_QUIT
    break;
}

LoadMod would load the appropriate module that was passed to it, and return the value for the next module. You might want to pass it a pointer for a structure of data to share between the modules.

It's already done with
     PartyMenu* module = new PartyMenu();
     MODULEMAN->PushModule(module);
if we need to unload current module we can call
     MODULEMAN->PopTopModule();
or create method that will search module we want to unload.

This is done in module itself, without returning to main loop. ModuleManager handles this things.


Quote
As the system is modular, I was thinking of  a "placeholder" for the worldmap. This when when opcodes start getting filled out, we have some basic jumps to other modules.

Here's the kicker.

For ease of coding/placeholding.... Put it in 2D?

The real overworld map is made up of  a 256x256 grid of 3d tiles. As we don't really have a lot of information on the FF7 map format, other than it's "some kind of Biniary Search Tree" <--- (My quote) It might be helpful to make a placeholder map that's 2d for now.

However, I need a good square picture of the world map so we can see of the tiles align correctly.

Good idea? Bad

Should I just go back to messing with the fieldscript? ^_^

I can add this a bit lates. Placeholders are easy to be done =)

By the way - someone may already start to make all menu. I created example that shows how party menu can be done. It doesn't has all features, but they can be easily added. You can make an announce =)

sfx1999

  • *
  • Posts: 1142
    • View Profile
Re: Temp Owverworld Module?
« Reply #3 on: 2006-07-02 00:18:15 »
I like your method better Akari.