Author Topic: Show Square Enix how to do it...  (Read 3225 times)

Green Shaman

Show Square Enix how to do it...
« on: 2012-10-15 19:02:39 »
Before I start, I want to emphasise that I have read and understand all the rules of this site and nothing that follows is intended to breech them. 

Also, I am not technically minded in any way - I am just an enthusiastic fan.  However, the contributors at Qhimm are excellent and I admire all their contributions to FF7PC

So,

Given that Square Enix has stated that "Final Fantasy VII will not be remade until ... blah, blah, endless excuses, give us more money, blah..." could the contributors here at Qhimm construct a remake between them?

After all, Square Enix has given us 3D maps/environments for most of the locations visited in the original game as part of Crisis Core and Dirge of Cerberus.  Those locations not visited in these games would not be hard for the contributors here to adapt from existing areas/maps.  Some areas, such as Cosmo Canyon, I have already seen remade in 3D, in immaculate detail.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aipqUJ1b2w0

We also have 3D models and motion capture / behaviour loops for all the main characters from CC and DOC, plus NPC's galore from both games to use throughout a remade Final Fantasy VII. 

We could use the battle system from Final Fantasy X, or stick with the battle system from VII or VIII.

FMV's could be used/constructed from CC, DOC and Advent Children, especially since there would no longer be the video length or size restrictions of the original PC game. 

We have the script of the original game and  should be able to keep all of it in play.

I realise that this process would involve ripping no end of material from a lot of copyrighted media, but then I do not propose making the remake public... I propose compiling a remake, play-testing it, and submitting it to Square Enix!