Author Topic: [PC] Unofficial bad UV texture patch [powered by DLPB tools]  (Read 46861 times)

blahblahblacksheep

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Other graphics mods are working, character and world map mod, SeeD mod, although the computer/terminal in the classroom at Balamb Garden still has some messy pixelated english characters in the name.. English language version, and didn't mess with the .exe at all until this patch. All other mods are drop in files that I have. One mod not working completely is the battle background mod, in Ifrit battle it had a black ground effect and was sort of flashing at times.. But apparently what FatedCourage said is that I should re-export the images in a photo editor. Which I personally don't know yet about how to do that as I'm new to the mods.. I imagine there's about 7000 images to sift through which seems cumbersome atm.

Yagami Light

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 15
    • View Profile
Yes Maki your auto-patcher didn't work for me on english steam windows 10, though I remember the first version you uploaded worked fine for me. No big deal since you can use the manual patching process.

FatedCourage

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • Karma: 50
  • I'll never regret knowing you.
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
Other graphics mods are working, character and world map mod, SeeD mod, although the computer/terminal in the classroom at Balamb Garden still has some messy pixelated english characters in the name.. English language version, and didn't mess with the .exe at all until this patch. All other mods are drop in files that I have. One mod not working completely is the battle background mod, in Ifrit battle it had a black ground effect and was sort of flashing at times.. But apparently what FatedCourage said is that I should re-export the images in a photo editor. Which I personally don't know yet about how to do that as I'm new to the mods.. I imagine there's about 7000 images to sift through which seems cumbersome atm.

All battle background textures should be in the "ba" folder. But I was just suggesting that. I'd try that out myself, but I don't control that thread. I'm sure once I'm done with mine that any problems left will be very minor. This patch shouldn't be affecting any mods that aren't related to the world map. Because that's all this patch is meant for I believe.

blahblahblacksheep

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Quote from: FatedCourage
All battle background textures should be in the "ba" folder. But I was just suggesting that. I'd try that out myself, but I don't control that thread. I'm sure once I'm done with mine that any problems left will be very minor. This patch shouldn't be affecting any mods that aren't related to the world map. Because that's all this patch is meant for I believe.
I see, that makes sense..

Maki

  • Software hacker
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 528
  • Karma: 101
  • Paranoid
    • View Profile
Delete all EXEs, check file integrity in Steam then apply manual patching. My patcher is custom built and therefore has some bugs still, so it's better to patch manually using tutorial in first post.

Wedjat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hi everyone. Tell me, is it possible in this way to fix UV with Thunder storm spell? This bug for each call Quezacotl GF
« Last Edit: 2016-02-07 09:06:18 by Wedjat »

Ironmad

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Tried this both with the .exe and manually with HextEdit. Still get errors.

With the .exe file I can start the game, press continue and choose save file but then I get a black screen and can see the mouse cursor.

When I've used the HextEdit I just get and error that a .dll file is missing.

Mamba54

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hopefully I can get an answer to this.
I cant find the frickin' backup!  Am I just being stupid?
Im having the same issues as the guy who had it freeze up when trying to leave Balamb Garden.
Im sure you two resovled it but honestly I just wanna get this playthrough going right now and cant be bothered with it.

So my question is.. Where is the backup/how to I uninstall this mod?

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: 129
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
    • Lunatic Pandora
Hey Maki!  I'm trying to make this process extremely simple for a tutorial video that I'm going to create... but I can't seem to find any codes for the other languages??
Do you know the HEXT changes I would need to make for the other languages for the STEAM version? 

I know you made your original patcher and it ended up having some bugs, but I liked your old patcher much better than the current Hext process - especially for people who aren't tech saavy.

Since I have to use the Hext process, I was wondering if you could send me the HEXT changes that I would need to put in for the various different languages?  That way EVERYONE can play with this beautiful mod.

EDIT:
In the meantime, I made a 'patcher' using Hext Tools (HextEdit) for the English version.  It makes this process as simple as:
1.   backup your main FF8_EN.exe (I just copy and .rar it or rename the copy "FF8_EN.exe.bak")
2.   move the original FF8_EN.exe into the 'FF8Steam_UVPatcher' folder
3.   run 'FF8Steam_UVPatcher.exe' AS ADMINISTRATOR
4.   check 'HextEdit.txt' to make sure it was patched (will say 12 items changed if successful)
5.   move the NEWLY PATCHED FF8_EN.exe back into your "/steamapps/common/FINAL FANTASY VIII/" parent folder.
6.   Enjoy the new UV's!!

Here's the file:
FF8 Steam UV Patcher (English)

FULL CREDIT TO MaKi for the UV Fix and DLPB for Hext Tools!
« Last Edit: 2018-08-21 21:59:45 by Mcindus »

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Hi, i'm playing with the fr version, how can i instal it and keep my fr launcher please?

Maki

  • Software hacker
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 528
  • Karma: 101
  • Paranoid
    • View Profile
Hi, i'm playing with the fr version, how can i instal it and keep my fr launcher please?
Hate to say it, but it's not possible with non-english STEAM version yet. I haven't prepared HEXT for multi-lingual versions. I'm so sorry you have to wait so long. I'll make a reminder to do it tomorrow.

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: 129
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
    • Lunatic Pandora
Hate to say it, but it's not possible with non-english STEAM version yet. I haven't prepared HEXT for multi-lingual versions. I'm so sorry you have to wait so long. I'll make a reminder to do it tomorrow.

As soon as you get these hext instructions together, I will create different HextEdit patchers for the different languages, so that people won't have to do too many manual steps!

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Hi, okay no problem, so i wont use it because i play to an hard mod that need the french version only (ff8 reload, a very good mod that's really looks like to the new threat in ff7)
Thx all for your work and your answer

Maki

  • Software hacker
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 528
  • Karma: 101
  • Paranoid
    • View Profile
French steam:
Code: [Select]
15405F = 00
15406A = 00
15407B = 00
154086 = 00
154099 = 00
1540A4 = 00
1540B7 = 00
1540C2 = 00
1540D5 = 00
1640E0 = 00
1540E9 = 00
1540F4 = 00

Italian Steam:
Code: [Select]
1540DF = 00
1540EA = 00
1540FB = 00
154106 = 00
154119 = 00
154124 = 00
154137 = 00
154142 = 00
154155 = 00
154160 = 00
154169 = 00
154174 = 00

German:
Code: [Select]
15415F = 00
15416A = 00
15417B = 00
154186 = 00
154199 = 00
1541A4 = 00
1541B7 = 00
1541C2 = 00
1541D5 = 00
1541E0 = 00
1541E9 = 00
1541F4 = 00

Espanol:
Code: [Select]
15414F = 00
15415A = 00
15416B = 00
154176 = 00
154189 = 00
154194 = 00
1541A7 = 00
1541B2 = 00
1541C5 = 00
1541D0 = 00
1541D9 = 00
1541E4 = 00

Others coming soon
« Last Edit: 2017-12-27 07:41:52 by Maki »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9267
  • Karma: 302
  • For I realized that God's a young man, too.
    • View Profile
If the offsets are all equal, you can simply use one of the above and then add "+" or "-" at the top... like so:

+80

15405F = 00
15406A = 00
15407B = 00
154086 = 00
154099 = 00
1540A4 = 00
1540B7 = 00
1540C2 = 00
1540D5 = 00
1640E0 = 00
1540E9 = 00
1540F4 = 00

Would get you from French to Italian.  But you'd be best doing it from English to whatever.  Assuming offsets are correct.

Also, is

1640E0 = 00

an error?

Maki

  • Software hacker
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 528
  • Karma: 101
  • Paranoid
    • View Profile
If the offsets are all equal, you can simply use one of the above and then add "+" or "-" at the top... like so:

+80

15405F = 00
15406A = 00
15407B = 00
154086 = 00
154099 = 00
1540A4 = 00
1540B7 = 00
1540C2 = 00
1540D5 = 00
1640E0 = 00
1540E9 = 00
1540F4 = 00

Would get you from French to Italian.  But you'd be best doing it from English to whatever.  Assuming offsets are correct.

Also, is

1640E0 = 00

an error?

Yup, my bad. Meant 1540E0. Also adding trick works only for non-english

CirasdeNarm

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
French steam:
Code: [Select]
15405F = 00
15406A = 00
15407B = 00
154086 = 00
154099 = 00
1540A4 = 00
1540B7 = 00
1540C2 = 00
1540D5 = 00
1640E0 = 00
1540E9 = 00
1540F4 = 00

Italian Steam:
Code: [Select]
1540DF = 00
1540EA = 00
1540FB = 00
154106 = 00
154119 = 00
154124 = 00
154137 = 00
154142 = 00
154155 = 00
154160 = 00
154169 = 00
154174 = 00

German:
Code: [Select]
15415F = 00
15416A = 00
15417C = 00
154186 = 00
154199 = 00
1541A4 = 00
1541B7 = 00
1541C2 = 00
1541D5 = 00
1541F0 = 00
1541E9 = 00
1541F4 = 00

Espanol:
Code: [Select]
15414F = 00
15415A = 00
15416B = 00
154176 = 00
154189 = 00
154194 = 00
1541A7 = 00
1541B2 = 00
1541C5 = 00
1541D0 = 00
1541D9 = 00
1541E4 = 00

Others coming soon

Tried the german code, but always get a crash, when i go to the world map. What can i do? Or is that code for the non-steam-version?

Xepros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
i have the same problem with the german code :/

Maki

  • Software hacker
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 528
  • Karma: 101
  • Paranoid
    • View Profile
Third line should be B at the end:

Fixed code:

15415F = 00
15416A = 00
15417B = 00
154186 = 00
154199 = 00
1541A4 = 00
1541B7 = 00
1541C2 = 00
1541D5 = 00
1541F0 = 00
1541E9 = 00
1541F4 = 00

CirasdeNarm

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Thank you for your answer, but unfortunately it still doesn't work. I have no idea, what i am doing wrong.

Maki

  • Software hacker
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 528
  • Karma: 101
  • Paranoid
    • View Profile
What about this?

15415F = 00
15416A = 00
15417B = 00
154186 = 00
154199 = 00
1541A4 = 00
1541B7 = 00
1541C2 = 00
1541D5 = 00
1541E0 = 00
1541E9 = 00
1541F4 = 00

CirasdeNarm

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Yes!

Thank you very much! Now, we have the right one. :)


OSC_Cain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Thanks ! The code works on Fr version.
« Last Edit: 2018-04-29 20:41:55 by OSC_Cain »

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: 129
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
    • Lunatic Pandora
[FF8 Steam] MaKi's Bad UV Easy Patcher v1.1
« Reply #48 on: 2018-08-24 06:28:18 »
Hey Maki!  I've made the 'easy patcher' for all languages using your codes now!

[FF8 Steam] Bad UV PATCHER by MaKi
ALL LANGUAGES AVAILABLE
Easy Patcher v1.1 by MCINDUS


INSTRUCTIONS:
1.   Backup your main FF8_XX.exe [FF8_EN.exe, FF8_DE.exe, etc] (I copy it rename the copy "FF8_XX.exe.bak")
2.   Move your original FF8_XX.exe into the 'FF8Steam_UVPatcher' folder for your language!
3.   Run 'FF8Steam_UVPatcher.exe' AS ADMINISTRATOR
4.   Check 'HextEdit.txt' to make sure it was patched (will say 12 items changed if successful)
5.   Move the NEWLY PATCHED FF8 exe back into your "/steamapps/common/FINAL FANTASY VIII/" parent folder.
6.   Enjoy the new UV's!!
*Make sure to run as administrator!*

DOWNLOAD UV Patcher v1.1

Let me know if you guys have any issues with this!  THANKS!
« Last Edit: 2018-08-28 20:32:17 by Mcindus »

Ashyaksan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hello Mcindus. Global thanks for all your great mods.

Here is the issue I have :
Quote
FF8_UVPatcher_FR.txt ()

Changed: 0
Replaced: 0

Errors(1):
Line 1: "#FF8 BadUV Fix by MaKiPL" not found.

Patcher run as administrator, FF8_FR.exe in the same folder, FF8_UVPatcher_FR.txt in the "HE_in" subfolder, and its 1st line is exactly the one the patcher looks for.. But looks like it can't find it though, and I can't see why.

Hope it will help.
« Last Edit: 2018-08-26 05:44:46 by Ashyaksan »