Author Topic: [FF7PC-98] FF7 AnyCD (2011-01-04)  (Read 22968 times)

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
[FF7PC-98] FF7 AnyCD (2011-01-04)
« on: 2011-03-22 00:33:02 »
Hi Guys, i have made this to allow people to use any of their 3 FF7 gameplay Cd's to play the game without it asking to change CD (also i was given permission by sl1982 before posting this mod but if any other moderator or admin does have a problem with this mod they may delete it)
This is for the PC English 1.02 version of the game and probably wont work on other versions (although i can probably make one for other versions if need be).
http://www.mediafire.com/?30q3mxj9c3hea4x
To use just unzip the file above and put it into your FF7 folder, after doing that run it and it should remove the need for changing CD's (i have only tested saves, i haven't tried at the end of a CD yet so if someone could test that for me it would really help)

NOTE:- you will still need 1 of the 3 game CD's in the drive to run the game (The game still checks the CD on bootup) so i want to make this clear this is NOT A NOCD SINCE YOU STILL NEED THE GAME DISCS TO PLAY
NOTE2:- this loads FF7.exe so if you have renamed your EXE this will still try to load FF7.exe.
Also any feedback is welcome


EDIT1:- Ok here is the DLL version for anyone who dislikes the loader

http://www.mediafire.com/?l8p7yrysrvmbd5u
Extract the DLL to your FF7 folder.
then edit the FF7_opengl.cfg and add the line
load_library = FF7anyCD.dll
Then run the game with any FF7 CD in the drive and hey presto your done.

Also i scanned this with virustotal.com and it came back with 1 virus scanner out of 42 saying this was a virus THIS IS A FALSE POSATIVE, i made this myself and i assure you its not a virus, here is the report from virustotal
http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id=086260499d8de4300a3c4a1327b2f6dfda1d90bd71698a0a1a166646b2474267-1301939656

Also if you use AntiVir Armorvil has explained how to stop AntiVir from detecting this as a virus
http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=11564.msg161103#msg161103
« Last Edit: 2014-07-21 21:54:20 by Covarr »

Terid__K

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 387
  • Karma: -3
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #1 on: 2011-03-22 00:49:05 »
Tried loading a Save from Disc 1 with Disc 2 inserted, works like a charm. Thanks for this, very useful app.

I can't test the disc changing locations as I don't have saves on those parts, unfortunately.

By the way, kranmer, you can manually delete your messages in Aali's topic. They don't need to be moved here.


NFITC1

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2758
  • Karma: 61
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #2 on: 2011-03-22 00:59:32 »
... i want to make this clear this is NOT A NOCD SINCE YOU STILL NEED THE GAME DISCS TO PLAY

Much better. Thank you! ;)
This is very handy, actually. I hate trying to load games and being told I've got the wrong disc in. I don't want to fish them all out again just to continue an old game. :(

I suppose this could also be used to make it a DVD-based game then, correct? Label the DVD "FF7DISC1" or something and copy all the unique files from each of the discs to their appropriate spots and hilarity ensues?

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3913
  • Karma: 116
  • The Great Redarr.
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #3 on: 2011-03-22 02:49:18 »
I will be downloading this as soon as my desktop PC is hooked up again (ain't no downloading on a netbook with no HDD :/). This is exactly what I (and I assume tons of other people) have wanted for quite some time. Combined with the only completely legal nocd solution that I know of, Game Jackal Pro, as well as an exe very similar but not identical to yarLson's (none of the drive renaming, just the launching), I can have this baby running from Steam as transparently and smoothly as if I'd bought it there!

kranmer, you are a hero.
« Last Edit: 2011-03-22 02:56:45 by Covarr »

yarLson

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 705
  • Karma: 30
  • King of the Spoilers
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #4 on: 2011-03-22 09:19:02 »
Hey this is exactly what I wanted original but I don't really have any programming skills. Thank you sir :D

FeliX Leonhart

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #5 on: 2011-03-22 09:25:50 »
This will help a lot)) Thanx ;D

Armorvil

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 621
  • Karma: 0
  • Working on : FFVII Total Grudge
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #6 on: 2011-03-22 10:05:25 »
I can't try the disc switching right now either.

Anyways, awesome program, works like a charm ! I also love the fact that it's compatible with FF7Music, and successfully terminates the FF7.exe processus when you quit the game. :D

Finally, I can say goodbye to Ctrl+Alt+Supp everytime I need to close the game ^^
Pure gold, thank you very much Kranmer :)
« Last Edit: 2011-03-22 10:30:02 by Armorvil »

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #7 on: 2011-03-22 12:01:50 »
After going to sleep last night i was expecting when i got on today there would be a thread full of problems but it appears this is not the case :)

By the way, kranmer, you can manually delete your messages in Aali's topic. They don't need to be moved here.
Thanks, i didn't know users could delete their own posts (we never used to be able to)

I suppose this could also be used to make it a DVD-based game then, correct? Label the DVD "FF7DISC1" or something and copy all the unique files from each of the discs to their appropriate spots and hilarity ensues?
Yeah making a DVD backup would probably be possible with this (i haven't done this but the theory is correct)

kranmer, you are a hero.
Now i am gonna have to go buy a cape and tights and take my glasses off.

Hey this is exactly what I wanted original but I don't really have any programming skills. Thank you sir :D
Well you can still always include this in your release if you want to. (i would have suggested this earlier if i had known that the mods wouldn't have a problem with it)

Anyways, awesome program, works like a charm ! I also love the fact that it's compatible with FF7Music, and successfully terminates the FF7.exe processus when you quit the game. :D

Finally, I can say goodbye to Ctrl+Alt+Supp everytime I need to close the game ^^
Ah so its compatible with FF7Music as well, that's good to know (i thought it would be but i don't use FF7Music so i wasn't sure), also its nice to hear it solved your problem (although I'm not sure how it solved FF7 not closing correctly)

Terid__K

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 387
  • Karma: -3
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #8 on: 2011-03-22 12:06:32 »
also its nice to hear it solved your problem (although I'm not sure how it solved FF7 not closing correctly)

It's probably overriding his ff7.exe running in Windows 98 compatibility mode. That's probably why the process wasn't shutting down to begin with (he must be using Windows XP, and I'm guessing he isn't running the latest version of Covarr's FF7 music installer).


Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3913
  • Karma: 116
  • The Great Redarr.
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #9 on: 2011-03-22 15:00:43 »
also its nice to hear it solved your problem (although I'm not sure how it solved FF7 not closing correctly)

It's probably overriding his ff7.exe running in Windows 98 compatibility mode. That's probably why the process wasn't shutting down to begin with (he must be using Windows XP, and I'm guessing he isn't running the latest version of Covarr's FF7 music installer).
Yes, this was a problem caused by older versions of my installer. I'm not sure how this fixed it though, since compatibility mode is set in the registry.

Armorvil

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 621
  • Karma: 0
  • Working on : FFVII Total Grudge
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #10 on: 2011-03-22 15:34:53 »
It's true that I forgot to set ff7.exe to windows 98 compatibility mode after my reinstallation of the game, but I did it before, and the processus still didn't end...

Anyways, I don't know how either, but I'm glad Kranmer fixed this problem of mine :)

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3913
  • Karma: 116
  • The Great Redarr.
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #11 on: 2011-03-22 17:20:06 »
It's true that I forgot to set ff7.exe to windows 98 compatibility mode after my reinstallation of the game, but I did it before, and the processus still didn't end...

Anyways, I don't know how either, but I'm glad Kranmer fixed this problem of mine :)
if you're on xp, you DON'T want compatibility mode, that is what causes this problem.

edit: kranmer, why is this a patch? Since ff7 1.02 exe is already freely distributed, I don't think you have to worry about distributing a prepatched copy of it.
« Last Edit: 2011-03-22 17:23:16 by Covarr »

Armorvil

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 621
  • Karma: 0
  • Working on : FFVII Total Grudge
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #12 on: 2011-03-22 19:52:18 »
if you're on xp, you DON'T want compatibility mode, that is what causes this problem.

 :o ...I understood it backwards -__- When I got that "info" a while back, I checked FF7.exe's compatibility mode and thought : "nah, I don't have anything to do, oddly enough, it's already set on the right compatibility mode"... ...and I had no idea this problem was caused by a bad compatibility setting (I thought everyone had it). Well, better late than never ! Thanks for clearing that up, Covarr :)
« Last Edit: 2011-03-22 19:56:34 by Armorvil »

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #13 on: 2011-03-22 22:39:13 »
kranmer, why is this a patch? Since ff7 1.02 exe is already freely distributed, I don't think you have to worry about distributing a prepatched copy of it.

Well Covarr the reason i don't distribute the full EXE is because anyone would be able to compare my modified one with the original EXE and see exactly how i did it (with any other mod this is not a problem but for this mod its a huge problem). If just anyone could see what values i have patched they could very easily just adapt it to a NoCd (even a idiot could with just a hex editor change 1 byte to make this a full NoCd) that would work with Aali's Driver, So i tried to make it a little harder with this (it wont stop anyone who is serious but it will stop idiots).
Anyway i am sorry if this is to your disliking but that is the reason for this (also its a Loader and NOT a patch, a patch modifies the file, a loader changes the file while its running, which is usefull since if a patch is used on a EXE there is always a chance it could ruin it since not everybody is using a clean EXE)

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3913
  • Karma: 116
  • The Great Redarr.
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #14 on: 2011-03-22 23:42:22 »
Anyway i am sorry if this is to your disliking but that is the reason for this (also its a Loader and NOT a patch, a patch modifies the file, a loader changes the file while its running, which is usefull since if a patch is used on a EXE there is always a chance it could ruin it since not everybody is using a clean EXE)
Nah, it's not to my disliking at all, I was just wondering. Also, I know the difference, I just hadn't actually gotten a chance to test it yet when I asked, and your first post is kinda vague, so I'd just kind of assumed it was a patcher.

Still, this is a fantastic app you've made here! :D

yarLson

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 705
  • Karma: 30
  • King of the Spoilers
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #15 on: 2011-03-23 03:26:20 »
hey I am having a bit of a problem I was using this with the ff7music batch file and the first couple times it worked like a charm. But everything changed and now for some reason ff7music closes before the game starts. This is what my batch looks like

Code: [Select]
label c: FF7DISC1
start /w FF7Music.exe
ping localhost -n 2 > nul
CD D:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
start /w FF7anyCD.exe"
taskkill /im FF7Music.exe

I am just confused as to why this worked for a while and now ff7music closes before launch every time, sorry if this is kinda a newb question :p

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #16 on: 2011-03-23 13:25:36 »
hey I am having a bit of a problem I was using this with the ff7music batch file and the first couple times it worked like a charm. But everything changed and now for some reason ff7music closes before the game starts. This is what my batch looks like

Code: [Select]
label c: FF7DISC1
start /w FF7Music.exe
ping localhost -n 2 > nul
CD D:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
start /w FF7anyCD.exe"
taskkill /im FF7Music.exe

I am just confused as to why this worked for a while and now ff7music closes before launch every time, sorry if this is kinda a newb question :p

Hi yarLson, well first i wouldn't use the "/w" command with FF7music for a start,
also since FF7anyCD.exe doesn't stay open the /w command is doesn't work right (it only loads FF7.exe so it doesnt stay open but the bat file moves on because ff7anyCD has closed), try using this BAT
Code: [Select]
@ECHO off
label c: FF7DISC1
start FF7Music.exe
ping localhost -n 2 > nul
CD D:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
start /w FF7anyCD.exe
:LOOP
tasklist /FI "IMAGENAME eq ff7.exe" 2>NUL | find /i "ff7.exe" >NUL || GOTO KILLFF7
ping localhost -n 1 > nul
cls
GOTO LOOP
:KILLFF7
taskkill /im FF7Music.exe
it checks to see if FF7.exe is running then repeats every second until FF7 closes (you can change that time by editing the ping), then once FF7 is closed it carries on with the BAT file (which closes FF7music).
Or if you dont like the thought of it looping you could just add the pause command between starting FF7anyCD.exe and taskkill and it would add you to press any button to continue after closing FF7 but i would recommend the above BAT if possible since its more automatic.
« Last Edit: 2011-03-23 13:34:09 by kranmer »

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #17 on: 2011-04-04 17:39:33 »
OK guys i have been thinking about this today and i am thinking about making a v2, instead of making it a Loader i am thinking about making it a DLL file that just needs to be put into the FF7 folder and can be loaded with Aali's Driver using the "load_library" function (so the game can still be run with FF7.exe).
What do you guys think of this or do you prefere the loader ?

FeliX Leonhart

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #18 on: 2011-04-04 17:41:52 »
The DLL of course! =)

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #19 on: 2011-04-04 18:05:36 »
The DLL of course! =)

OK that's good enough for me, just created the DLL, you can get it here
http://www.mediafire.com/?l8p7yrysrvmbd5u
Extract the DLL to your FF7 folder.
then edit the FF7_opengl.cfg and add the line
load_library = FF7anyCD.dll
Then run the game with any FF7 CD in the drive and hey presto your done.

Also i scanned this with virustotal.com and it came back with 1 virus scanner out of 42 saying this was a virus THIS IS A FALSE POSATIVE, i made this myself and i assure you its not a virus, here is the report from virustotal
http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id=086260499d8de4300a3c4a1327b2f6dfda1d90bd71698a0a1a166646b2474267-1301939656

FeliX Leonhart

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #20 on: 2011-04-04 18:12:22 »
Thanx)

Armorvil

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 621
  • Karma: 0
  • Working on : FFVII Total Grudge
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #21 on: 2011-04-04 18:57:28 »
Awesome ^^

Also, for those who like me use Avira Antivir Personal, here is how to configure it so it stops detecting the .dll as a threat (those popups and sounds are incredibly annoying - and it looks like they won't stop until you delete the dll) :

- Right-click on Antivir Guard
- Configure Antivir
- check "expert mode" in the top-left area
- double-click on Guard,
- double click on Search
- select Exceptions
- select the .dll in the 'Files to be excluded by the Guard system' (or something like that)
- press OK.

Please note that my program is in french, so chances are the above options are worded differently (this is just my own translation). It's also a good idea to exclude the file in the "scan" or "scanning" section (do the same as the above, but in step 4, replace "Guard" by "Scan" or "Scanning").
« Last Edit: 2011-04-04 19:04:48 by Armorvil »

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #22 on: 2011-04-04 20:24:17 »
Awesome ^^

Also, for those who like me use Avira Antivir Personal, here is how to configure it so it stops detecting the .dll as a threat (those popups and sounds are incredibly annoying - and it looks like they won't stop until you delete the dll) :

- Right-click on Antivir Guard
- Configure Antivir
- check "expert mode" in the top-left area
- double-click on Guard,
- double click on Search
- select Exceptions
- select the .dll in the 'Files to be excluded by the Guard system' (or something like that)
- press OK.

Please note that my program is in french, so chances are the above options are worded differently (this is just my own translation). It's also a good idea to exclude the file in the "scan" or "scanning" section (do the same as the above, but in step 4, replace "Guard" by "Scan" or "Scanning").
Thanks for that Armorvil, i will edit the first post shortly with this info.

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2209
  • Karma: 33
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #23 on: 2011-04-04 20:59:02 »
Just wondering. Could you combine this DLL with the speedhack DLL because I will try using both...

Kranmer

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] FF7 AnyCD
« Reply #24 on: 2011-04-04 22:28:18 »
Just wondering. Could you combine this DLL with the speedhack DLL because I will try using both...

Well i can't really combine the two DLL's, i did make the FF7anyCD one but i didnt make the speedhack one i just compiled it, also the one i made was in ASM where the speedhack is in Delphi/Pascal so combining them would be very hard (if not impossible for someone like me who isnt good at programming),
But i can still help you :)
download this
http://www.mediafire.com/?7stwae4kahla0n5
extract both the DLL and the FOLDER into your FF7 folder and add this to Aali's Driver (or if you already have a DLL in Aali's driver edit it to this)
load_library = Multi.dll
then both the speedhack.dll and this FF7anycd.DLL in the folder called LOADR
load the game and it should load all DLL files in the LOADR folder (so in the future you can even add more DLL's if you need to :))

NOTE1 :- Also i would like to make it clear, i didnt make this Multi.dll a friend of mine found the source code and compiled it for me then sent me it, so i take 0% credit for this Multi.dll
NOTE2 :- This is also detected as a virus by AntiVir, i have used this before and it is NOT A VIRUS, AntiVir seems to think anything compiled in MASM with the virtualprotect function is a virus (this is only my theory).
http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id=d0310a96db1f9f25873887a9d7961ec428b10585254a1942426476fdc5219e13-1301954997
« Last Edit: 2011-04-04 22:29:58 by kranmer »