Author Topic: Need advice on TouphScript?  (Read 299 times)

BahamutSIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Need advice on TouphScript?
« on: 2017-05-02 01:06:13 »
I can dump the files but I can't encode them. I'm using the 1.3.1 version (though it says 1.2.9).

When I try to encode, it seems to get stuck on scene.bin.



What am I missing or doing wrong?

BahamutSIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #1 on: 2017-05-02 01:19:02 »
The inside of my TouphScript folder (after dumping) looks like this:


DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8471
  • Karma: 231
  • This rose will never die This rose will never die
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #2 on: 2017-05-02 14:13:13 »
Did you make sure that scene.bin is in correct place?  Is it writable (not read only)?
Have you checked the log file above? The text document.

BahamutSIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #3 on: 2017-05-02 16:06:57 »
Did you make sure that scene.bin is in correct place?  Is it writable (not read only)?
Have you checked the log file above? The text document.

I am using a hardcore mod scene.bin which I slightly modified with Proud Clod. Just tried a vanilla scene.bin and it encoded it fine. So the issue is the modified scene.bin. But why won't it let me encode it?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8471
  • Karma: 231
  • This rose will never die This rose will never die
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #4 on: 2017-05-02 16:19:03 »
What about the answers to the questions above?>

BahamutSIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #5 on: 2017-05-02 16:29:06 »
Did you make sure that scene.bin is in correct place?

The scene.bin is in a 'battle' folder. It's always there.

Is it writable (not read only)?

Honestly, I have no clue what you mean by 'writable'. But I'm able to read all the dumped files and I'm able to save them.

Have you checked the log file above? The text document.?

It says: Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII

BahamutSIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #6 on: 2017-05-02 19:33:07 »
I think I've found a workaround. I'll use Proud Clod to load in the needed scenes into a vanilla scene.bin. Then I'll edit them with TouphScript and put them back into my modified scene.bin with Proud Clod.

So this issue is somewhat solved.

By the way DLPB, how did you add these materia/item icons in PSX version of retranslation project? Those are quite nice and I would like to add them myself if it's easy.


DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8471
  • Karma: 231
  • This rose will never die This rose will never die
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #7 on: 2017-05-02 21:25:46 »
The PSX version isn't by me; it's by Green_Goblin.  He's probably edited the text font to do it.

As for scene.bin, each file has write permission.  Right click it, select properties, and make sure isn't set to read only.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 8471
  • Karma: 231
  • This rose will never die This rose will never die
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #8 on: 2017-05-03 21:46:46 »
It could also be a bad scene.bin or weirdly encoded one, since you say it's been encoded with something else.  I guess Luksy would need you to upload the scene.bin that won't work.

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on TouphScript?
« Reply #9 on: 2017-05-04 18:33:06 »
Yeah touphscript expects perfect files, iirc Proud Clod can leave garbage data at the end of a file or between sections, it won't affect the game but I guess touphscript is choking rather than throwing an error due to poor programming by....someone.