Author Topic: porting FF7  (Read 3812 times)

halkun

• Global moderator
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
porting FF7
« on: 2001-03-16 08:12:00 »
Ok, I'm tool lazy to scroll down anymore in the "remaking FF7" thread so I'll start here. I cracked my copy of FF7PC out of storage I started playing it again. whoo-hoo what fun. Like I said in my last post, I'm just working on the status module first. I'll give some tims on the field files though...

Gast can't load all the field backgrounds because the layers are being rendered wrong. There are a few backrounds that I like to call "floaters". As opposed to having a static background with a static overlay (The portion of the pictue that obcures the polygons when the walk "under" it) the foreground and background can "float" to give the appearince of distance in a pan. The "distant" background plane isn't being renderd and the "close" plan is using the wrong tileset. Things are getting messy when in overlay is also included.

I'm almost positive that the fields use byecode. In square's "radical dreamers" there was bytecode "yes/no" code in the actulal text script. This is why when you change the script in some field files it crashes. The "drama" module is tryng to make script calls that are no longer there.

I'm gonna be screwing with the field files hardcore when I'm done with status. I need to start execution of the first filed file and program in the holes.