Qhimm.com Forums

Final Fantasy Forums => Gameplay Modding => Topic started by: Tsunamix on 2017-03-05 08:20:03

Title: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: Tsunamix on 2017-03-05 08:20:03
How do i go about changing the starting buttons?
For example DLPB's Reunion has a switch O and X option.

I guess it's through hex editing anyway.
Does anyone have the codes for each of the buttons?

Along with this can I make it so a different colour other than the standard blue is the default menu colour?/

Then i guess while i'm on the topic, Is it possible to only have them switched on certain screens?
The Main menu screen being my main one..

Would also be nice to bring back the soft reset option. I think i could possibly achieve this by attaching the game over script to a combination. Unsure how to do that but any advice is also great.

Much appreciated
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: Kaldarasha on 2017-03-05 09:13:32
Dan has already implemented the soft reset.
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: Tsunamix on 2017-03-05 12:18:05
Oh that's good then. Someone requested it for echo-s so if its part of the reunion it will be compatible.
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: DLPB on 2017-03-05 13:54:12
Nope.  Not through hex editing.  Just through changing the text itself.  There is already a way to swap buttons - the config menu.
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: Tsunamix on 2017-03-05 13:58:04
Okay. I'll explain a little more. Is there a way I can swap the up and down arrows keys with left and right bit only for the main menu screen.

So it is possible to make the colour scheme different?
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: DLPB on 2017-03-05 14:53:15
It is, but that would take editing assembly - for both answers. Why do you want to do that?  The colour is a choice of the user, and I am not sure why you want to reverse arrows?
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: Tsunamix on 2017-03-05 15:28:30
Okay. The reverse arrows are because I know how to make completely custom main menus. I can move the text anywhere. So I wanna be able to have new game and continue beside each other rather than above and below just so I can have a nice range of releases. Problem is it must only be for that screen.

The colours will remain completely users choice. I'm not locking it. Reason for this one being is I have to make the tutorials into videos to be able to voice them. The screen I have right now is losing its color capability so I recorded the video using a black and grey background so I wanna make the default the same colour.

Sure I can get someone else to do it on a normal screen but at the same time I wanna learn as much as I can too.

Here's one of my custom menus at the start of this video
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bTUW5YUxo4
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: DLPB on 2017-03-05 16:07:23
You'll need to recode it in asm to do that. Definitely.  I have my hands full with tons of stuff though.
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: Tsunamix on 2017-03-05 22:45:55
I'm unsure what asm is. I tries google its like Opcode's? I have no idea.
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: DLPB on 2017-03-05 22:49:46
Assembly. x86 assembly. Hex editing.
Title: Re: Changing the default buttons and colour scheme
Post by: Tsunamix on 2017-03-05 23:28:57
Now why do I keep forgetting that ...