Qhimm.com Forums

Final Fantasy Forums => Scripting and Reverse Engineering => Topic started by: Sega Chief on 2018-06-30 21:38:23

Title: FF8 - Adding New Enemies
Post by: Sega Chief on 2018-06-30 21:38:23
Hi all,

I recently returned to working on an FF8 gameplay mod, and way back one of the things I tried doing was adding a new enemy with its own unique ID. Unfortunately it crashed the game when a formation containing it was loaded.

My only guess is that each enemy has its own unique Scan text entry (and maybe other data that is loaded with specific IDs) and the game couldn't find one for the new ID, causing the crash. Does anyone know how scan stuff is loaded up when a battle starts or is the issue(s) maybe elsewhere?
Title: Re: FF8 - Adding New Enemies
Post by: qotsaninsoadkorn on 2018-07-01 11:59:59
Well this would be great... i was already excited when i realized i could use DOOMTRAIN + CACTILIO + DELING to mix up which enemies appear where... but adding some FF Icons from other games has to be something more then a few people would try out...
Title: Re: FF8 - Adding New Enemies
Post by: JWP on 2018-07-01 12:30:04
It could also be to do with the constant array of files embedded in the exe:
http://wiki.ffrtt.ru/index.php/FF8/Engine_const/BattleFiles (http://wiki.ffrtt.ru/index.php/FF8/Engine_const/BattleFiles)
Title: Re: FF8 - Adding New Enemies
Post by: Sega Chief on 2018-07-03 00:28:57
It could also be to do with the constant array of files embedded in the exe:
http://wiki.ffrtt.ru/index.php/FF8/Engine_const/BattleFiles (http://wiki.ffrtt.ru/index.php/FF8/Engine_const/BattleFiles)

I'll have a root around in there and try adding a new one; thanks for the info.