Qhimm.com Forums

Final Fantasy Forums => Tools => FF7 Tools => Topic started by: satsuki on 2019-05-07 19:43:42

Title: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2019-05-07 19:43:42
Hello.
Here's a very simple speedhack for ff7 generated with cheatengine.
It'll works as long as your ff7 exe is named ff7.exe (all languages version will works)

You need to launch this small exe after ff7

the use is realy basic:
-F11 = enable / desable speed hack / slow down
-F10 = Set Slowdown (x0.75,x0.50,x0.25 then go back to x0.75)
-F12 = Set speedhack (from 2x to 32x then go back to 2x)

(http://wowsatsuki.free.fr/ff7spd2.png)

http://wowsatsuki.free.fr/FF7.Spdhck.v2.7z
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: themanchino on 2019-06-02 04:35:57
Hey, this sounds great, but it's not working for me, I don't know why. My exe is called ffvii_en.exe and I don't know how to change it, can you help me please? I'm running the steam version of the game.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: satsuki on 2019-06-02 09:57:37
it'll work only if your ff7 exe is named ff7.exe
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: LeOsTyLe on 2019-06-13 20:04:16
Amazing tool. And the music dont speed up like in the Super Nintendo Emulators, well done. Good for rushing through the story and farming weak monsters.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: unab0mb on 2020-01-04 17:08:35
Satsuki, what an awesome tool! I sent you a DM in Discord with a couple of questions. Looks like you are on the forums more than the Discord. Awaiting your reply and thank you.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: AndyPandy on 2020-01-21 17:35:38
Hi, No matter what I do to add this application to the exceptions list, my antivirus (bit defender) keeps on blocking it from running. is this really a virus?
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: satsuki on 2020-01-22 06:15:30
Not a virus but it's using opengl hack  to works (cheatengine), so some antivirus detect it as a virus
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: magitek on 2020-01-29 17:42:29
It won't work on the steam version? I tried to rename ff7_en.exe to ff7.exe and it gives me errors. Even if I don't rename, it won't run without the launcher.

Is there a way to modify it to work on ff7_en.exe? Or at least releasing this as a cheat table to use on CE. If using vsync will it be limited to 60fps? Thanks!
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: NFITC1 on 2020-01-29 17:51:26
What is this doing? Reducing the cycle-waiting time between frame redraws or actually optimizing some of the graphic function calls?
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: satsuki on 2020-01-29 18:56:57
@magitek
It's working on steam version last time i tested it (as long as the exe is named ff7.exe), do you launch the speedhack as admin ?
If the vsync is used, it's limited to 60 fps.
If you want you can do it with cheatengine out of box, just use the speedhack feature of CE
here's my CE script for this tool :
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CheatTable CheatEngineTableVersion="28">
  <CheatEntries/>
  <UserdefinedSymbols/>
  <LuaScript>strings_add(getAutoAttachList(), "ff7.exe");
  lastSpeed = 2;
  lastspdhack = 1;
 
function togglesh()
  if lastSpeed == 64 then
    lastSpeed = 2;
  else
lastSpeed = lastSpeed + lastSpeed;
  end
  speedhack_setSpeed(lastSpeed);
  lastspdhack = 0;
  sleep(100);
end
 
function disblesph()
  if lastspdhack == 0 then
speedhack_setSpeed(1);
    lastspdhack = 1;
    sleep(100);
  else
speedhack_setSpeed(lastSpeed);
    lastspdhack = 0;
    sleep(100);
  end
end
  createHotkey("disblesph",VK_F11);
  createHotkey("togglesh",VK_F12);
</LuaScript>
</CheatTable>

@NFITC1
It's just using cheatengine speedhack feature ^^ (with keyboard shortcuts)
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: magitek on 2020-01-29 20:09:43
Thanks a lot for the script!

I couldn't even use your program, because if I rename the ff7_en.exe to ff7.exe, the game won't launch.

The problem is that without vsync, there's screen tearing all over here and with vsync on there won't be a speed difference if using the 60fps battle mod.

I don't know how some trainers do it with other games, maybe using a frameskip option.

Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: Mijin on 2020-03-08 14:35:29
I wish there was some way to get this to recognize controller buttons. I tried remapping a button to F11 through JoyToKey, but it won't recognize any input while the game's running. I stream the game through my phone, so I'm out of luck. I wonder if I could find some way to make a clickable on-screen button for this.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: Rashaken on 2020-03-10 21:57:29
Starting getting a virus error when using this mod, not getting any warnings from my antivirus but, it wont launch while this mod is active. Went down the mod list launching, this is the only mod that popped the error.


15:53:17|ERROR|SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLauncher|System.IO.IOException: Operation did not complete successfully because the file contains a virus or potentially unwanted software.

   at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
   at System.IO.FileStream.Init(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Int32 rights, Boolean useRights, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES secAttrs, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy, Boolean useLongPath, Boolean checkHost)
   at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy, Boolean useLongPath, Boolean checkHost)
   at System.IO.File.InternalReadAllBytes(String path, Boolean checkHost)
   at _7thWrapperLib.RuntimeMod.GetLoadPrograms()
   at SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLauncher.LaunchProgramsForMod(RuntimeMod mod)
   at SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLauncher.LaunchGame(Boolean varDump, Boolean debug, Boolean launchWithNoMods)

Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-11 06:53:39
It's a 7h error, report it to 7h forum.
This hack use cheatengine witch does code injection so most of antivirus state it as a virus but its a false positive, just add it to the av exception
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: Rashaken on 2020-03-12 01:47:04
my antivirus isnt the one showing it as an issue, its the mod itself. I've been using it for awhile and it only started giving me this error yesterday. I've also use CE to speedhack the game (since your mod is showing this issue) and im not having the issue with CE itself.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-12 06:42:31
So report it to 7h support
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: unab0mb on 2020-03-12 07:03:59
This isn't a 7H problem either. The system is blocking the execution of the speed hack. 7H is just attempting to launch it, but problem is on the system. For whatever reason, it thinks it's a virus or potentially unwanted program. You would have to add it to your exceptions list in your antivirus.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: Chrysalis on 2020-03-12 08:43:56
satsuki is it possible to implement slowdown as well as speedup since it uses CE stuff?
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-12 11:22:03
Yes bu why ?
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: genesis063 on 2020-03-13 06:50:12
Not sure if anyone else experiences this but I get a crash when talking to people.  Probably need to turn it off when I talk to people.  I am using the 7h version FYI.

Edit: So good news the mods is not to blame thankfully just need to pinpoint which one it is.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: Chrysalis on 2020-03-13 08:02:02
just to help in some debugging, I can do it via cheat engine, but a hotkey would be easier.  But no biggie if cant be implemented.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-13 12:28:21
@genesis063
No crash on talking, can you try the genuine exe ?

@Chrysalis
Ok, i'll do this asap (in some hours after my works)
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: zeldagirl on 2020-03-13 14:02:42
Where can I find this ? Great work.. Kisses
Title: Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
Post by: unab0mb on 2020-03-13 18:42:38
@genesis063
No crash on talking, can you try the genuine exe ?
The "7h version" is your genuine exe. It is not modified in any way. It's only put in an iro that 7h opens on game launch. The likely cause of dialog issues would be other mods, not the speed hack.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-13 19:22:43
V2 up in first post, added slowdown with F10 (0.75x,0.5x,0.25x then 0.75 again)
The F11 to enable/diasble seedhack keep the last used hack speed (slowdown or speedup) so if you put a slowdown of 0.5 for exemple, F11 will toogle between 0.5x and 1x
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Flash0429 on 2020-03-13 22:34:56
V2 up in first post, added slowdown with F10 (0.75x,0.5x,0.25x then 0.75 again)
The F11 to enable/diasble seedhack keep the last used hack speed (slowdown or speedup) so if you put a slowdown of 0.5 for exemple, F11 will toogle between 0.5x and 1x

will this auto update in the catalog or should we do it manually
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-13 23:07:05
You need to wait it's been updated ^^'
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Nachika on 2020-03-17 15:28:31
hi I would like to use this mod together with the Italian translation of the game which requires the exe to be called ff7_bc, is it possible to make a version of your mod that works?
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-17 17:14:24
you can do it yourself with cheatengine and the code source here : http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=18851.msg271396#msg271396
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Flash0429 on 2020-03-17 18:43:10
is it possible to have to mod show you what setting you have it like a small text in the corner something similar to the Borderless FF7 Mod that says what its set to in the top left corner? i always forget where iu have it set and can never get it back to 2x lol
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: unab0mb on 2020-03-20 06:03:31
FYI 7H catalog updated to include version 2 of speed hack on Mods of the Round.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: mikeofthedesert on 2020-03-22 15:43:21
I do have a weird problem, it seems.

I DID change FF7_en to FF7.exe and the speedhack DOES work.
But...

Only to 2x at most and not in battles.
It seems to not be able to go higher, in any way.

(Edit: it was the Vsync!)
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: mikeofthedesert on 2020-03-27 14:12:39
Sadly it doesn't work anymore: if I start FF7 with speedhack enabled it crashes.

(http://u.cubeupload.com/Mike_of_the_Desert/Cattura.jpg)
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-27 16:44:50
be sure to add it to your antivirus exception or it can be blocked/deleted
otherwise, ask 7h support ^^
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Xathyr on 2020-03-27 17:01:06
Hi, thank you a lot for your work, also, i was wondering, is there any way to replace the keybinds? I have F12 set to take a Steam screenshot, and since i have 7th Heaven embeded it's kinda annoying to have to either replace the Steam Keybind or just turn screenshots off.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2020-03-27 18:28:36
to edit them juste make your own version with cheatengine, the source code is in page 1, here : http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=18851.msg271396#msg271396
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Flash0429 on 2020-03-27 21:47:25
something i did notice when lowering the speed you have to press twice for each change the first press freezes everything second press sets the next value only does it when lowering speed
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Xathyr on 2020-03-28 13:25:09
Sadly it doesn't work anymore: if I start FF7 with speedhack enabled it crashes.

Spoiler: show
(http://u.cubeupload.com/Mike_of_the_Desert/Cattura.jpg)



I've also started getting the same error and i'm not using any antivirus, this has to be some recent Windows 10 update, has anyone managed to allow this hack to run?
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Flash0429 on 2020-03-28 15:36:45

I've also started getting the same error and i'm not using any antivirus, this has to be some recent Windows 10 update, has anyone managed to allow this hack to run?

works fine for me ive never gotten that error from speed hack only issues ive had with speed hack is what ive posted previously but even that isnt that serious... hope you can figure it out
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Xathyr on 2020-03-28 16:30:54
Ok, I just figured out, it's Windows Defender real time protection after a recent uptade as i though, and since i restart my PC once per week or so haven't noticed till now, it's a false positive, to fix it you just have to manually add 7th Heaven folder as an exclusion and that's it.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: GP Mike on 2020-04-03 06:40:44
Newbie here. I'm having similar errors as others have reported when I try to launch. I added the 7th Heaven Folder to my exclusions in Windows Defender, but that didn't do the trick.

This is the message I got on my most recent attempt, after excluding the folder:

Operation did not complete successfully because the file contains a virus or potentially unwanted software at System.Diagnostics.Porcess.StartWithCreateProcess.......at SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLauncher.LaunchProgramsForMod (RuntimeMod mod) at SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLuancher.LaunchGame (Boolean varDump, Boolean debug, Boolean launchWithNoMods) 

I understand the game file needs to be called FF7.exe. But in my folder I'm seeing what appear to be two separate .exe files. One is FF7.exe (dated 1998, 5700kb) and the other is ff7_en.exe (dated 2015, 6200kb). Should there be two separate files and, if not, should I remove one of these? 

Troubleshooting aside, just wanted to say thanks for giving this mod to the community. I'm excited to get it up and running.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: kilyan on 2020-04-30 05:22:37
would be possible  instead of multiplier speed to have speed based on fps? for me is too slow or too fast, can't find a proper setting
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: OatBran on 2020-04-30 05:50:46
would be possible  instead of multiplier speed to have speed based on fps? for me is too slow or too fast, can't find a proper setting

you can edit the script to change the values that are applied to the speed multiplier. It accepts decimal values so you can fine tune it to your liking once and then just toggle it on and off of that particular setting.

For example, I didnt like the options he provided either so I modified it to allow a 2x multiplier normally, but if I want to turbo through something, battles or story section after a game crash (which I am up to 73 crashes this playthrough! Hoping to get to 100 before the end lol)

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CheatTable CheatEngineTableVersion="29">
  <CheatEntries/>
  <UserdefinedSymbols/>
  <LuaScript>strings_add(getAutoAttachList(), "ff7.exe");
  mySpeed = 2;
  turboSpeed = 6;
  defaultSpeed = 1;
 
function togglesh()
  speedhack_setSpeed(mySpeed);
  sleep(100);
end
 
function disblesph()
speedhack_setSpeed(defaultSpeed);
    sleep(100);
end

function superturbo()
  speedhack_setSpeed(turboSpeed);
    sleep(100);
end

  createHotkey("superturbo",VK_F9);
  createHotkey("disblesph",VK_F11);
  createHotkey("togglesh",VK_F12);
</LuaScript>
</CheatTable>

Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: Raust64 on 2020-05-01 16:15:55
So I finally managed to get the pop-up that shows you how to use the speed hack but when I press my F11 key and press F12 or F10 nothing happens in game. Am I missing something here?
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2020-05-02 08:44:55
If you use ffnx driver, the speedhack isn't currently working with it
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: zoratu on 2020-05-03 00:20:27
If you use ffnx driver, the speedhack isn't currently working with it

The speedhack works with the canary build of FFNx, at least for me.
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: satsuki on 2020-05-03 08:52:12
yes we done some tests with TrueOdin and he found a way to restore back the speedhack
Title: Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
Post by: spectre_bruno on 2020-05-13 01:27:50
Sadly it doesn't work anymore: if I start FF7 with speedhack enabled it crashes.


It's happening to me too. This hack is awesome, when it works, somebody can help me to figure it out why this is happening?
I turn off my Windows Defender (only protection that i have), and tryed to include 7th heaven in permissions. All other mods are working, just this one, one of the most important isn't. Can somebody help me with this please?

Thank for your work Satsuki!

(https://i.ibb.co/Tr3RZVS/7th-heaven-speed-hack-error.jpg)