Qhimm.com Forums

Final Fantasy Forums => Tools => Misc. Tools => Topic started by: myst6re on 2014-07-27 16:10:07

Title: [FF7/FF8/Squaresoft Games] texture conversion - Vincent Tim (1.1)
Post by: myst6re on 2014-07-27 16:10:07
So like qt-lzs (http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15325.0), I publish my own tool to work with tim and tex formats.

Download on SourceForge (https://sourceforge.net/projects/vincenttim)
Contribute on GitHub (https://github.com/myst6re/vincent-tim)

The main purpose of this command-line tool is to export and reimport a texture image to be able to modify this texture with an image editor.
But it is also possible to convert tim <=> tex, and to search and extract tim files from a file.
Title: Re: [FF7/FF8/Squaresoft Games] texture conversion - Vincent Tim (1.0)
Post by: Mcindus on 2014-07-27 20:52:17
So like qt-lzs (http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15325.0), I publish my own tool to work with tim and tex formats.

Download on SourceForge (https://sourceforge.net/projects/vincenttim)
Contribute on GitHub (https://github.com/myst6re/vincent-tim)

The main purpose of this command-line tool is to export and reimport a texture image to be able to modify this texture with an image editor.
But it is also possible to convert tim <=> tex, and to search and extract tim files from a file.

This is the tool I wish I had for the past year... lol  AMAZING.
If I'm going to extract a .tim or .tex from the .exe and try to re-insert it, am I going to have problems because the .exe wants to be exactly the same size?  I'm a nub and can barely wrap my head around command line, so forgive me if I sound ignorant.
Title: Re: [FF7/FF8/Squaresoft Games] texture conversion - Vincent Tim (1.0)
Post by: myst6re on 2014-07-27 21:28:21
If I'm going to extract a .tim or .tex from the .exe and try to re-insert it, am I going to have problems because the .exe wants to be exactly the same size?  I'm a nub and can barely wrap my head around command line, so forgive me if I sound ignorant.

You will probably have some problems if you insert larger data in an executable.

Sorry, but it seems that Vincent Tim 1.0 doesn't work correctly, here are the list of known bugs:

It will be fixed soon.
Title: Re: [FF7/FF8/Squaresoft Games] texture conversion - Vincent Tim (1.0)
Post by: myst6re on 2014-07-29 22:22:15
So I have a beta version for the 1.1: Vincent Tim 1.1b
Now export/modify/import a tex file should work correctly.

A 8-bit PNG must remain a 8-bit PNG, with the same indexes, it does not work otherwise. It is possible to edit the palette by editing the *.palette.png file.

This is a beta, all ideas and suggestions are welcome :)
Title: Re: [FF7/FF8/Squaresoft Games] texture conversion - Vincent Tim (1.1)
Post by: myst6re on 2014-07-31 21:09:11
Version 1.1 released!
https://sourceforge.net/projects/vincenttim/files/Version%201.1/
Title: Re: [FF7/FF8/Squaresoft Games] texture conversion - Vincent Tim (1.1)
Post by: LeonhartGR on 2014-08-03 15:58:37
Please make a gui version when you have time. I'm having difficulty working with command line. Thanks!
Title: Re: [FF7/FF8/Squaresoft Games] texture conversion - Vincent Tim (1.1)
Post by: Roden on 2014-10-25 01:14:57
Please make a gui version when you have time. I'm having difficulty working with command line. Thanks!
Seconded.. Yeah, it doesn't really work for me... Does anyone know how to use it? It converts the tim into PNGs well enough, but when I try to get the png back into the tim. All I can get out of it is "QImage::pixelIndex: Not applicable for 32-bpp images (no palette)" even though the palette is right there and I provided the argument..

C:\ff7\tim\font\a>tim --if png --of tim -p 0 --input-path-palette ff7.tim.palette.png ff7.tim.0.png test

All I want to do is insert a new tim for windows.bin - is there an easy tool out there for this?