Author Topic: FFVII w/ bootleg on Windows 7, Error: Won't load new/saved  (Read 7520 times)

Whitstan

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
To start off, I apologize if I have missed a thread that addresses this specific problem but I have not seen it nor have I been able to locate a fix for my problem. Whether it be through idiocy or inability to understand certain computer jargon, I haven't found a solution. I've installed my old platinum collection edition of FF7 on my computer successfully (running compatability mode on XP2 and etc.). I can play the default game fine, but here's my problem: After installing the game and BOOTLEG, and running it, the custom modded intro video runs fine, the custom default window on the "New game/ Load game" screen is fine, but once I select "new game" or once I go to select a saved game, it comes up with the error "Something really bad has happened, etc." The log it saves after the error looks like this:

INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series 4.2.11631 Compatibility Profile Context
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1280x960, output resolution 1280x960, internal resolution 1280x960
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r21874, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: No shaders, codecs with YUV output will be slow.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/flevel.siz (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/MAPLIST (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/hand_1.TEX (LGP) (path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\Data\field)
ERROR: offset error: hand_1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki1.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki2.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki3.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki4.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.tim
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\movies\eidoslogo.avi; h264/aac 1280x960, 25.000000 FPS, duration: 153.685333, frames: 3842
INFO: slow output format from video codec h264; 0
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/ÌO (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: unhandled exception

Can anyone help me work this out? I've been a long-time FF7 fan and have only learned of BOOTLEG and the mods recently and I would love to play it. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the game twice. I've gotten it to run with some of the mods before but I think I was running an older version of BOOTLEG.

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
You have the game installed to the default folder.
For modding, it is extremely important to install the game somewhere else!
Uninstall the game and install it again, this time to (eg) C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII.

Whitstan

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
New to modding FF7, haven't even broken it out in years. This fixed it and now I'm enjoying the game in a brand new light! Thanks Kompass63.

Evenstar59

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hello everyone,

i don't know if i have to post here or create another topic but i'm encountering the same problem as Whistan
(or at least i get the same error message in mu APP)

ERROR: failed to find file flevel/flevel.siz (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/MAPLIST (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/hand_1.TEX (LGP) (path: E:\Games\FINAL FANTASY VII\Data\field)
ERROR: offset error: hand_1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki1.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki2.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki3.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki4.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.tim

i'm playing 2013 version of ff7 released on steam last week (which i heard, is working with bootleg)

oh and can't get the starting menu right, i can hear the noise when i move the cursor and validate a new game, but my screen is just a black and red triangle

 http://hpics.li/759c7de



any help would be appreciated, otherwise, i'll just use my time machine back to 1997




EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2908
  • Karma: 202
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel

oh and can't get the starting menu right, i can hear the noise when i move the cursor and validate a new game, but my screen is just a black and red triangle

 http://hpics.li/759c7de

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13212.msg183582#msg183582

Evenstar59

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Thanks for your answer EQ2Alya,

I updated my drivers to 13.5 beta 2 abd now i'm able to see the start menu bug i still get a black screen when i select new game (or the whoops something went wrong) and my APP says the same error apparently

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series 4.2.12198 Compatibility Profile Context 12.102.3.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Using PBO
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1280x960, output resolution 1280x960, internal resolution 1280x960
INFO: Shader limits: varying 128, vert uniform 1024, frag uniform 1024
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
ERROR: could not open file E:\Games\FINAL FANTASY VII\ff7input.cfg
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/flevel.siz (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/MAPLIST (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/hand_1.TEX (LGP) (path: E:\Games\FINAL FANTASY VII\Data\field)
ERROR: offset error: hand_1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki1.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki2.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki3.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki4.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.tim
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: E:\Games\FINAL FANTASY VII\movies\eidoslogo.avi; indeo5/pcm_s16le 640x480, 30.000000 FPS, duration: 12.933333, frames: 388
INFO: slow output format from video codec indeo5; 6
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/ÌO (LGP) (path: )
« Last Edit: 2013-07-09 15:12:50 by Covarr the Proud Fanboy »

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2381
  • Karma: 149
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Your flevel.lgp is completly broken. Where is the game installed?

Evenstar59

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I installed it in my Steam/Steamapps/Common/Final Fantasy VII folder and then moved it in E:/Games/Final Fantasy VII

Evenstar59

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Yay, i fixed it !

i looked into the data/field folder and i saw that i had a "flevel.lgp" (540ko or so) and a "fflevel.lgp" (140mo or so)
i renamed fflevel to flevel and the original flevel to oldflevel (i didn't want to delete it)

In fact, i think it's because i'm french (wtf?) and i'm using the french version (hence the Fflevel) so the game wasn't looking for the "good file"

(also my FF7.exe was originally named FR_FF7.EXE and i had to rename it to make BFE work)

EDIT: I encountered another error with "camdat0.bin" missing in the first fight, i had to move some file "camdat0 camdat1 camdat2 co scene bin from "data/lang-fr" to data/battle folder to make it work)

and voila =D

Merci beaucoup a tous !
« Last Edit: 2013-07-09 08:55:20 by Evenstar59 »

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2908
  • Karma: 202
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Yay, i fixed it !

i looked into the data/field folder and i saw that i had a "flevel.lgp" (540ko or so) and a "fflevel.lgp" (140mo or so)
i renamed fflevel to flevel and the original flevel to oldflevel (i didn't want to delete it)

In fact, i think it's because i'm french (wtf?) and i'm using the french version (hence the Fflevel) so the game wasn't looking for the "good file"

(also my FF7.exe was originally named FR_FF7.EXE and i had to rename it to make BFE work)

EDIT: I encountered another error with "camdat0.bin" missing in the first fight, i had to move some file "camdat0 camdat1 camdat2 co scene bin from "data/lang-fr" to data/battle folder to make it work)

and voila =D

Merci beaucoup a tous !

For future references, use this before installing Bootleg: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=14047.0

It adds Bootleg support for non-English versions (French, Spanish, German). I haven't edit it into my tutorial yet, sorry.

Template

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 861
  • Karma: 17
  • Life is a series of cats.
    • View Profile
Re: FFVII w/ bootleg on Windows 7, Error: Won't load new/saved
« Reply #10 on: 2013-07-09 11:35:25 »
This is in solved but I'm still pretty confused lol  ::) I guess any of us with the SE store download can test this with the Game Converter after a Spanish German or French install. I'll get around to it but Alyza will probably do it first...