Author Topic: Midgar Remake  (Read 134706 times)

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #25 on: 2010-07-02 05:02:00 »
I'm not familiar with animation work but I was under the impression that in order to render a scene you have to write a script for the camera etc.

Well.. max is very flexible so it could be hard-coded with a script or done in 3D with Animation Keys so dosnt really matter i guess :).

BlitzNCS

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 891
  • Karma: 2
  • Master of nothing in particular
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #26 on: 2010-07-02 12:26:30 »
Since we don't know the exact co-ordinates for each camera position, we'll have to just guess with keyframes and sketchup, unless sketchup isn't needed anymore for some reason.

willis936

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 371
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #27 on: 2010-07-02 18:20:06 »
Hey that guy already has an INCREDIBLE amount done for the next task: making the slums (BIGGGG job) and all of shinra tower.

Tyr

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
  • "To be forgotten is worse than death"
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #28 on: 2010-07-18 09:28:24 »
This would be used for the opening?

willis936

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 371
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #29 on: 2010-07-18 12:29:27 »
Yes it could were he on board.  Has anyone contacted him?  Or has the OP continued work on texturing?

Clodus

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 0
  • Just a lowly fan.
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #30 on: 2010-07-24 09:19:03 »
Hummm, have you considered remaking the fmv's? I think that with your skills you'd be able to atleast go through some type of winding motion from where Aeris is to the point of the bombing mission.

Also, 3 years... Man, that's an INSANE amount of dedication.

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #31 on: 2010-07-24 13:41:24 »
Sorry the lack of updates guys i do regret to inform you that to not expect to many updates due to hardware problems with my pc, Bare in mind i will update asap.

Thanks for the feedback people!
« Last Edit: 2010-07-25 10:54:44 by Stigma/Warren »

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3936
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #32 on: 2010-07-24 17:35:19 »
Sorry the lack of updates guys i do regret to inform you that to not expect to many updates due to hardcare problems with my pc, Bare in mind i will update asap.

Thanks for the feedback people!

Are your models backed up? If not, then copy them onto a USB stick or external hard drive; you wouldn't believe how many people on these forums have lost all of their work because they didn't keep backups and their hard drives failed.

Travis

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 187
  • Karma: 0
  • "I control the world with fear."
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #33 on: 2010-07-25 04:13:53 »
Wow, this looks great!

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #34 on: 2011-07-14 23:13:39 »
Sorry for the bump.

This model has been discontinued, a new one is underway.

Not only cause the .max got corrupt but also the geometry was a mess due to this being made in a program different from 3ds max. I will now be making it 100% purely in 3d Studio Max.

I'll continue posting updates here when avalible.

halkun

  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2111
  • Karma: 20
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #35 on: 2011-07-15 01:03:45 »
This was an acceptable bump

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #36 on: 2011-07-17 11:39:23 »
Well, as promised.

I started on the station so I could just merge the whole thing when I'm done, but it's a start hey?

I agreed to let Spoox handle Midgar however.


Timu Sumisu

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1860
  • Karma: 14
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #37 on: 2011-07-18 22:03:30 »
hasnt spoox already done the station?

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #38 on: 2011-07-18 23:33:20 »
No Midgar is complete without the station in view :P.

But this will merely act as a template for so when I start the station in the long run, I will have something to work off and least the hardest part is done. That thing is rather complicated for me *-*

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #39 on: 2011-07-19 23:14:52 »
Well I'm starting on the Central Complex now, from the very top since it's a pain in the ass to build.


Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #40 on: 2011-07-22 09:09:01 »
Okay, another station shot. Yes I know I work on to many projects at once but ohwell :).



I started a W.I.P Flanking Tower, these are also a pain to make for a very weird reason, because they are actually very weird.

I was to lazy to crop the image so... Sorry about the size.

Hellbringer616

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1915
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #41 on: 2011-07-22 13:13:16 »
two things. Damn, you have a widescreen!
Second. You work quick, Great job by the way

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #42 on: 2011-07-22 15:21:15 »
two things. Damn, you have a widescreen!
Second. You work quick, Great job by the way

Well that's actually 3 monitors, working in 3D with dual or triple monitor is especially great and so much quicker and easier. I really don't think I can go back to a single monitor anymore.

For kicks a picture of my setup.






I've had a sudden burst of inspiration causing me to want to work fast :>.

Hellbringer616

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1915
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #43 on: 2011-07-22 15:31:55 »
Off-topic: I'm guessing Intel has some type of "cool and quiet" because your FSB is only half speed. Why isn't that overclocked? All Sandy Bridge CPU's should be no less than 4.2ghz :P

On-topic: Since you are modeling midgar. What happens when areas of the plate are modeled? Are you going to add them to your model? Or just say "to heck with it!" Since you only really need the midgar plate in two or three scenes.

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #44 on: 2011-07-22 15:52:53 »
Off-topic: I'm guessing Intel has some type of "cool and quiet" because your FSB is only half speed. Why isn't that overclocked? All Sandy Bridge CPU's should be no less than 4.2ghz :P

On-topic: Since you are modeling midgar. What happens when areas of the plate are modeled? Are you going to add them to your model? Or just say "to heck with it!" Since you only really need the midgar plate in two or three scenes.

Well i7 dosen't have an FSB most are unlocked and unbuffered so you can do as you want. And I have a thing against overclocking never liked it :P.

Well I will be making the entire Midgar whether I like it or not, I will also want it for personal use maybe in a portfolio or something but at the moment I have no real lead on that yet sorry. I will let you know asap though!

DarkFang

  • Pirate
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • Karma: 1
  • Ponies! <3
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #45 on: 2011-07-22 22:13:01 »
Totally jealous of your three monitors. You got some good music too. lol

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #46 on: 2011-07-23 05:58:15 »
Totally jealous of your three monitors. You got some good music too. lol

Sounds like you have a good taste in music too!

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #47 on: 2011-07-23 11:26:45 »
Well here it is, the Mako Reactor.

I will try to get in contact with Millenia or someone to texture it for me.

Any offers?


Nightmarish

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 533
  • Karma: 0
  • owari da
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #48 on: 2011-07-23 11:27:54 »
BFMV and BMTH, nice tunes there  :P

Sapphire

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Midgar Remake
« Reply #49 on: 2011-07-24 12:59:34 »